We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Stratford, A QHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2 night stay”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have just arrived home after a 2 night stay at this lovely hotel. The room was perfect, very large and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was excellent, a large selection to suit all tastes. All the staff were friendly and polite. Just a 5 minute walk from the town and all its amenities. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Julie H

Fab review thank you! See you on your next visit.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,115
    711
    133
    29
    25
See reviews for
222
1,201
40
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Having stayed in this hotel before and having had a good experience I decided to book for a second stay on line. Not remembering its name but knowing it was a Q hotel I made my booking. On arrival I found that I had booked into the Stratford Manor which is out of town. We expressly wanted to be able to walk to the theatre so this did not suit us at all. Whilst we were accommodated in the Stratford quite politely, it did take a couple of phone calls and we were told we were lucky to gain the last double. We were also asked to pay £10 more which I did feel slightly peeved about. Am I being unreasonable? Surely Q hotels should spell out the distinction between these 2 hotel on their direct booking web site more clearly and honour the price we originally booked the room for.

That saying the rooms are comfortable and well presented.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Ruth J

Thank you for your feedback. We do detail on our web sites the difference in both location and hotel style, being in the town centre the rooms do differ in price. I am sorry that this wasn't made clear that the time. I do hope that you were able to enjoy your visit despite the initial situation.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Very impressed
Initially slightly disappointed in that we'd booked by internet and asked (by internet) for a walk-in shower (wife has walking difficulties); 6 days later received a very apologetic call from the hotel - all such rooms had been requested and allocated, and they'd only just received our request from the intermediary agent - they'd had the bath side measured, 22 inches, had a step available and detachable seat, etc - we said we'd manage
But room was very good, and staff were extremely efficient and friendly
Hotel warns that late weekend breakfasts can get very busy - it was, but the staff on duty were "spot on" in terms of attentiveness and professionalism, and the breakfast range was excellent
Other hotels can learn from this one!

Room Tip: We had room 222, son and daughter-in-law had 214 - both good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomwx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
tomwx

I am delighted that the team cared for your needs and you were able to enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for your review.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Five of us travelled to Stratford for a weekend and found the hotel to be excellent. I had stayed there 5 years ago and it was just as good as it was then. All of the staff that we met were very friendly, more than you normally get at larger hotels. The whole hotel was comfortable, breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and good fresh food and quick service even though the dining room was full. The rooms and beds were very comfortable. The location was perfect as it took 5 minutes to walk to the heart of town but it was quiet so there was no disturbances at night. We would all definitely stay there again if visiting the area and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We needed three rooms for our trip and all of them were of a similar style and quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Maureen W

Thanks for your review, look forward to seeing you next trip!

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed one night at the Stratford Q Hotel prior to a charity cycle ride. The hotel is very central- an easy walk to the many attractions of Stratford and the rooms are large and comfortable. It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for. The main reason for writing this review is to compliment the staff at the hotel for going the extra mile for their customers. When the front desk staff discovered that we would be leaving early for the ride, they immediately offered to arrange for packed breakfasts as the hotel breakfast on Sundays doesn't commence until 7:30. Not only that- when we came to pick up our breakfasts at 7am we discovered that the kitchen staff had set things up early for us so that we could "fuel up" properly. The icing on the cake was that the member of restaurant staff setting up breakfast even gave us £5 from his own pocket towards our ride sponsorship ! Really good to find a larger hotel that cares about its customers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueinsmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
blueinsmoke

Fantastic review thank you! I am delighted we were able to set you up well for the day ahead and the team showed genuine interest and care.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in early September 2013. Hotel is in an excellent town centre location, about 5 minutes away from Shakepeare's House and 10 minutes from the Royal Shakespeare Theatre.

The hotel reminded me of the Cambridge Doubletree by Hilton with the rooms and breakfast being very similar. However, I preferred the fresher decor of The Stratford. Our room was on the second floor; a cosy but decent size with high quality furnishings and decorations. I particularly liked the curtains and bed linen. The bed was, I believe, a king size with a medium-firm mattress. The bathroom was similar with bath, basin and toilet; only comments would be: a) heated towel rack did not appear to be working; b) the plughole probably needed de-hairing as it was very slow to drain! Everywhere was clean. Lots of storage space. A/C, hairdryer, fridge (with complimentary water), safe and ironing board also present.

The breakfast was certainly a highlight. Buffet style with a large selection of: cooked items, cold meats, fruit, cereal etc... You could also get some dishes to order e.g. omelettes. Particular mention to the variety of danish pastries, which were amazing! There seemed to be a rather long queue at the toaster, so I wonder if a second one would be appreciated.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It was also pleasant to find out parking was free when we checked out; not sure that should have happened but I am thankful to the hotel in any case!

In all an excellent stay and I would very likely choose to pick a Q Hotel again in the future as finances allow. Not full marks mainly down to the value of money element; £130/night just seems too much for what was offered. However, I guess in Stratford, like in my home town of Cambridge, hotels can get away with charging that much,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tillyhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
tilyhorn

Delighted to read that you enjoyed your breakfast experience and our locaiton. Keep a look out on the web for the great deals we have through the autumn.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in August and it was great. The hotel itself is set in lovely grounds, clean, modern and two minutes walk from town. The breakfast was brilliant, great selection and the staff couldn't do enough for you. The bar area in nice and comfortable and the staff at the bar and on reception were again pleasant and helpful. If I were to complain about something it would be the lumpy quilt on the bed (no amount of shaking would sort it out!) - but this has not impact on the great stay we had. Would stay here again without a second thought!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Mamsutz

Great review thank you! Quilt is being replaced!

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Property: The Stratford, A QHotel
Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don't just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford, A QHotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing