We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating Birthdays with Will at the Q”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Stratford, A QHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Mason, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Celebrating Birthdays with Will at the Q”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Stratford Q in Stratford-upon-Avon was the perfect choice for a post-business trip with my wife to celebrate her birthday, and it just happened to coincide with the birthday of some local guy named William Shakespeare from a few centuries ago. Before checking in, I had wondered if we had made the best choice (larger, more modern hotel establishment vs. a quaint several-hundred-year-old inn or B&B or guesthouse, which were numerous in this area). The warm greeting at the front desk helped put me a bit at ease, then finding an upgrade to a nicer room made me look pretty good in my wife's eyes: quiet end room, plush robes for lounging about, a mini-fridge to keep the sparkling wine cold and store some excellent cheeses procured from the local Paxton and Whitfield cheesemonger a few blocks away. A heated mirror in the bathroom so she could take steamy showers and still see to brush out her hair while I shaved, etc. certainly were the kind of nice modern touches that make for fond memories in place of a perhaps quaint timber-framed ancient country cottage with sloping creaking floors and door frames that Will would have easily walked under but would have had my 1.85 m frame feeling like a hunchback (reference previous night's stay in Ledbury at the Talbot Hotel.....).
We found the location excellent, an easy stroll to catch a Royal Shakespeare Theatre production and dinner at any number of nice restaurants, a day trip over to Warwick Castle, and walking distance to many of the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust tourism sites, not to mention the Saturday birthday parade festivities. Very reasonable daily charge for a spacious secured carpark and an excellent breakfast, with an attentive staff and cook. Reaonably priced, and beautiful grounds provided a buffer from the busy intersection at which the Stratford is located. All in all, I was very impressed, probably my favorite of the 5 diverse lodgings we experienced during our 8-night UK tour. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fortitudine_Vincimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Fortitudine_Vincimus

Thank you for your fantatsic review. I am delighted to read The Stratford was your favorite hotel on your UK trip. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    727
    137
    32
    25
See reviews for
228
1,231
40
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Third time at this hotel with the Breakaway Club, and still keeping the standards high. Very efficient and welcoming at Reception,very spacious and comfortable room (after we turned down the first offer of one on the Ground Floor), excellent standard of cuisine in the restaurant (one or two items not available, but good substitutes offered), and good selection at breakfast (Note to Chef - widen your choice of yogurts and make sure the hash browns aren't soggy!).
Gold Star to duty manager Matthew S who, after we mentioned our disappointment at the unavailability of Wandering Bear Merlot (our favourite), scoured the town to try to find one! No luck, but great service!
We love the Stratford - we'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayaddictUK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
HolidayaddictUK15

Thank you for your loyalty, I am delighted that you keep returning and the team look after you well. Unfortunately Wandering Bear is out of stock with the supplier, they anticipate it to be about a 2 month wait for it, so hopefully we will have it back in for your next visit. Thank you for your kind comments about Matt, I know he will appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you again soon.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is the fifth Q hotel we've stayed in and they all provide excellent service and great food.
I joined their 'breakaway' club which gives a 50% discount 4 times a year.
Any one who enjoys weekends in this country, staying in a fine hotel with good food should join.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Brian D

Thank you for your recommendation of the Breakaway Club. I am delighted you enjoyed your break at The Stratford.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for a two night get away in the feature room. The room was perfect, the bed was so comfy, and we slept so well because it was so peaceful where are room was. The staff were great, and on arrival showed us a map of the area and pointed out nice places to eat. Breakfast was also nice, we didnt eat in the restaurant only because we've had bad experiences in other hotel restaurants local to the area. Would definetly stay here again and wouldnt hesitate to recommend to anyone else.
Only minor issues were the pillows are far too soft, and the tv only has 1-5, ss news and itv2 which didnt work, would've been nice to have more channels. We did look into renting a movie but we checked the price of a random film (love actually) and it was £10.50. Definetly need more channels. Other than that 10/10

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Browneyedgirl3107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Browneyedgirl3107

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the feature room at The Stratford - they are fab rooms. Thanks for your feedback too.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Went on a special offer 2 night DBB for 2 to this hotel. Really pleased with our stay. From the outset we were made to feel welcome by all the staff in every area, they could not have been more pleasant. We were give vouchers for an offer for discounted bar drinks and the offer of unlimited movies free of charge was totally unexpected, although most welcome. The room was spacious, very nicely decorated and very clean and comfortable.We ate in the restaurant both nights and the food was excellent. Similarly at breakfast the choice and quality was good.The area was nice and although the weather not too pleasant, we still enjoyed our stay. Would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJPWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
JJPWindsor

I am delighted that the team looked after you well and you enjoyed your stay. Fantastic comments about your dining experience, thank you.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gomersal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Enjoyed a weekend stay at this very comfortable hotel. Very good service and pleasant surroundings. The direct charge for car parking is I feel a bit of a turn off and I feel it would be better to incorporate this into the daily rate as I would expect car parking to be part of the facilities provided

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Justin W

Thank you for your feedback with regards to the parking charge. We do ensure that this is monitored locally to ensure we remain competitive in the area.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We got two rooms....one for the kids and one for us. The rooms are well appointed with a very comfortable bed, nice linens, luxurious towels, amenities, coffee/tea with kettle, and beautifully decorated. If you are looking for comfort, value, and a vacation-feel, this is the best hotel. From the moment we walked in with our luggage, we were greeted with a smile, warmth, and great information including a map of the city. We parked our car around back at £5 per day because it's a 2 minute walk to the main street of the city....perfect location. We visited the bar/lounge in the evening and had a lovely bartender who had a great sense of humor. We had very comfortable seating because there are little private coves around the lounge. Several customers were in the middle watching a sporting event and it didn't infringe on our conversation in the least. We enjoyed a fabulous breakfast the next morning in the main restaurant, which was crowded with people. We had excellent service in spite of being so busy. We ordered custom cappuccinos and they delivered them quickly. The food was hot, fresh, and tasty. It was an excellent start to our morning. I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay again...quiet rooms, the right temperature in the rooms, nice bathrooms, etc.

Room Tip: We meandered down the halls to our room. Our room was very quiet and we were next to the stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Ksagirl

Fantastic review thank you! Sp pleased that you had a great breakaway and were able to relax and enjoy the hotel, having some family time.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#12 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,870 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,080 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Property: The Stratford, A QHotel
Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don't just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford, A QHotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing