We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice relaxing break, better than Rome!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Stratford, A QHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing break, better than Rome!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from a lovely relaxing break away after our terrible trip to Rome it was the total opposite.
We loved the hotel and it is in a great central location for the town, the staff at the hotel were lovely and have to say Desmond was a great help nothing was too much and always made sure you had everything you need, very polite and profesional. My partner had already phoned the night before arriving with it saying there was a charge for the parking on the website we wanted to know how secure the car park was etc needless to say we didn't actually get charged for the parking after checking the bill when leaving. If I was to pick on something then it would be that the reception staff didn't inform us how you left the car park as it is barriered and need a piece of paper with a barcode on to scan which is about 5 metres before the barrier. The room was lovely we had been kindly upgraded to a superior room (300) it was very comfortable but the heating seemed to have a mind of its own and would go up and also turn back on by itself it seemed to like 23'c, it was a bit noisy on the Friday night but presumed it was from the nightclub on the corner of the street that seems to of had seen better days and is a "lovely" pink coloured building. Yes the tv had less channels than free view but to be honest we weren't there to watch television so we weren't too bothered. Breakfast was very nice all fresh, the evening meal in the restaurant on the other hand was nice but far too expensive for what it was. All in all we loved our break away and are sure to return and use the Q hotels again. If you want a nice meal we would recommend the Oppossition.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gemma and mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Gemma and MarkL

I am delighted you had a great day and enjoyed your break away. Thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,104
    704
    130
    29
    23
See reviews for
219
1,188
39
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

wow what a place, stopped here for my birthday in January, from a first class greeting at
reception to our room and what a room absolutely fabulous ,huge comfy bed and I totally adored the lush bathroom, breakfast and dinner on both nights was good ,all staff excellent
from bar to dining at breakfast and dinner, hotel has lots of parking ,also its only a 5 min walk to the town,all in all this hotel is a great place for a romantic or shopping break, will be back.

Room Tip: upgrade it is so worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Sheanian

Fantastic review thank you! The bathrooms are fab aren't they - glad you liked them! I look forward to welcoming you back.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip and was pleased with all aspects of the hotel. The room was spacious and modern and the bed comfy. Nice bathroom, good shower and plenty towels.
Ate at the hotel too and the food was very good, the biscuits, cakes & fruit smoothies served during coffee breaks of the meeting were first class.

All in all, a great place to stay, no complaints at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetoholiday2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
lovetoholiday2007

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and the food. I do hope you are able to visit on a leisure break soon.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed for a business meeting, check in was efficient, and room was very clean, tidy, and well decorated.

We dined at the hotel the evening of the stay and the food was very impressive.

There was plenty of on sight parking.

May look at return on leisure basis in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLK82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
BLK82

I am delighted that you enjoyed the food and look forward to welcoming you back on a leisure basis.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel on arriving was welcoming, booking in was quick and efficent. The room was cosy, clean and tasteful. The staff at the hotel were helpful and pleasent. The breakfast was fresh and there was a decent selection. The only reason i didn't award an 'excellent' was down to the fact that air con unit in our room made a persistent noise that kept my husband awake!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Caroline C

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay thank you for your review and feedback about the A/C.

kind regards
Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glos
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

First class hotel from the moment we checked in to the time we checked out.Room tastefully decorated ,spotlessly clean (Room 307) Breakfast service was very good ,food tasty and hot.Ideally situated within walking distance of town.Would recommend and would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyandandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
TonyandAndrea

I am pleased that you enjoyed your special occasion and thank you for the fantastic review. We do look forward to seeing you again soon.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have stayed in many hotels in Stratford all with their own appeal. This is definitely one to add to our list and offers reasonable priced quality accommodation. Placed within 200 yds of the centre, the bedroom was spotless and comfortable. The staff were attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Richard W

I am delighted that the team looked after you. I am pleased you have now found us and hope you will choose The Stratford again on your next visit.

Annie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Property: The Stratford, A QHotel
Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don't just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford, A QHotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing