We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, clean, modern, central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Stratford, A QHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had our yearly company event in Stratford and stayed in this lovely hotel. The help in the weeks before this weekend was absolutely great, we could pre choose the wine and dinner options for our guests. A arrival all was perfectly prepared and there were no problems at all at check in. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the Henley Suite and the table was set lovely and the service perfect. The food was delicious and all dietary requirement for some of our guests were perfect! Some of us had the slow cooked beef and it was so nice and the Yorkshire pudding was the biggest we had ever seen!!!!
The hotel rooms were big, modern and very clean. There was enough parking for all our cars at the private hotel parking. The hotel is just a few minutes from the town centre . We booked a Guided Town walk which was absolutely recommendable and the High Tea at Patisserie Hobsons was delicious! Thumbs up for this lovely hotel and thank you very much for the good care! We will be back ! Perhaps for the Shakespeare festival in summer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyFamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

SurreyFamily_12

I am delighted your event went well and you were able to relax and enjoy your stay . We look forward to welcoming you back!!

Annie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,398 - 1,404 of 2,173 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here on the 22 Dec, originally booked a superior room. We were given an upgrade free of charge by a lovely receptionist.
The star room was large, very well furnished and with little extras of which we really enjoyed.
It's only a few minutes walk into the centre of Stratford where all the shops and bars are, ideal if you want to leave car behind and not worry about what you can drink.
The bed and pillows were to die for and unusually I slept very well and as we were in a quiet part of the hotel.
The breakfast was buffet and very enjoyable with a large variety of items to suit all tastes.
The only negative point is that we were charged £5 to park which I think is wrong when you have paid to stay overnight. However on the basis we got a free upgrade then I wasn't going to moan about it.
Overall definitely worth the money they charge, as it's a luxurious hotel, friendly and attentive and great service from the staff in a great location. Would definitely go again!

Room Tip: If you can afford to pay a little extra or if you are celebrating then definitely book a 'star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Emma F

Thank you for your review, I will ensure the team are made aware of your kind comments. We do apply a small charge for car parking which we do ensure is competitive when measured against local facilities. I look forward to welcoming you back!

Annie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here over the weekend in January 2013. There were 12 of us and we had 4 rooms.
We all stayed in Q Star rooms which were lovely, i dont think they are any different to usual apart from you get upgraded bed linen, robes, upgraded toiletries, a newspaper in the morning and free wine and drinks in the mini fridge which was lovely to have for the small price of upgrading.
The double rooms were spacious and clean, and the bathroom was lovely, We had 2 of these rooms.
The others had family rooms. The only thing i can say really is that they dont seem to have rooms for familys, just a sofa that they put somewhere in the room and pull out which did take up alot of the room and they werent very comfortable atall, The kids didnt seem to have a problem though.
We had breakfast also included which was a buffet breakfast, all you can eat. It was lovely, there was a full range of foods suitable for everyone. The only thing i can say about breakfast was that the hot foods were under a heat lamp therefor the eggs were overcooked and dry and the hashbrowns were hard as they must have kept cooking under the lamp, The easy solution would just be to put a cover over to stop them drying out. The porridge also had its good and bad days, one day it was delicious and the other we couldnt eat it.

Please dont be put off by the small things, ive stayed in many hotels and this is by far one of my favourites and the fantastic aspects of the hotel completely overide the small issues and they are really easily resolved. There is also a lovely bar in the hotel too where you can relax before or after going out.

Overall this was a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ADX92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

ADX92

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time here and particularly the fab bedrooms. Thank you for your feedback with regards to breakfast.

Kind regards
Annie Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I arrived 2 hours early on Friday for a one night bed & breakfast break . We expected to just check that we could leave the car in the car park until checking in time, but found that our room was in fact ready! Check in was very friendly, welcoming and efficient.

Our room, on the second floor was very nice, warm, clean & comfortable and we appreciated having a fridge & bottles of water in the room.

Breakfast was a lovely relaxing affair with plenty of choice on offer and friendly, attentive staff. We were allowed to leave our car in the car park whilst we went into town to do some more shopping before returning home.

We had a lovely break which represented excellent value for money and look forward to next weekend when we will be staying at their sister hotel, the Stratford Manor for a two night break on our breakaway club membership offer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthamptonRicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

NorthamptonRicho

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Stratford and you were able to check in early. Thank you for your kind feedback I will ensure the team are made aware. Enjoy your time at Stratford Manor and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Annie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

A relatively small, but very comfortable central hotel. Rooms quiet and modern design with plenty of space. Thoughtful food menus and food very well presented - nothing seemed too much trouble to please. Staff very helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Brian W

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and the food. We will be launching our spring menu at the end of February and do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to try it.

Annie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed in a feature double which proved to be spacious and comfortable, with two good armchairs and a superb king bed.
The bathroom was nicely designed and was complemented with Pecksniff toiletries (good stuff)
The staff were all friendly and cheerful and this gives one a lift!
There was a good spread at breakfast and we enjoyed perfect custom-built omelettes.
This place represents good quality and excellent value for money so we'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hungry_Horace_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Hungry_Horacesurrey

I am delighted that you enjoyed the feature rooms. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Annie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here between xmas and new year with the missus as a getaway during the horrible weather.

Overall we were impressed with the hotel, the staff were friendly and the hotel was clean and tidy.

Our room was very nice (standard double) and we thought the general finish of the hotel was up to a good standard. We did find our air-con has a mind of its own in our room, going from very hot to very cold with no interference from us. It was also quite loud at night, but not enough to really be annoying.

The breakfast was awesome, good choice from full English to continental.

Just be aware there is a £5 parking a night, we knew this before we went so wasn't too bothered. Also they let us carry on using the car park even though we had checked out the hotel on our last day, so yes you have to pay but make the most of it if you are not in a rush to leave!

I think we would probably stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheStratford, General Manager at The Stratford, A QHotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Alex H

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Stratford and do hope we will see you again soon.

Annie Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,997 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,177 reviews
3.4 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stratford, A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stratford, A QHotel

Address: Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $98 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stratford, A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and sophisticated, this delightful hotel is the epitome of good taste. And we don't just mean our heavenly restaurant, Quills. Following our £7 million refurbishment, the décor is oh so contemporary and absolutely gorgeous. The extravagant rooms take you to a place beyond comfort. Centrally located, a stroll away from great shopping, theatres and attractions, and 2 minutes from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Stratford, A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stratford, a q Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Stratford, A QHotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
Stratford a Qhotel Upon Avon
Stratford Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing