We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We only spent one night at this hotel and were a bit concerned after reading some disappointing reviews. However, we were pleasantly surprised. We were greeted by friendly and helpful reception staff and the entrance was modern, clean, light and airy with a lovely seating area. Our room overlooked the air conditioning units on the roof, and the river beyond that. With the window open, you could hear machinery but it wasn't loud enough to bother us. The bed was comfy and clean as were all areas that we saw. The shower had a slight leak on it which we reported when we checked out. In no way did it effect the quality of the shower. The breakfast buffet was served in a large dining area overlooking some nicely kept lawns and the river. Selections could be made from cereals, fresh fruits and yoghurts, cheese, ham and tomatoes, breads, danish pastries and choco pain. Of course, there was also a hot buffet of traditional English breakfast foods. My only complaint here was that the over enthusiastic waiter had taken my juice and coffee from the table while I was at the buffet. No problem though, I just got another. I did get woken at some point in the night by the sound of children using the corridor above us as a race track. This obviously isn't the fault of the hotel but the parents who maybe should respect other guests. When we checked out we were told the parking had been free and it was so convenient to be right besides the river, in the centre of town and not have to worry about car parks. We'd certainly go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river at the back, which is away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Deborah P,

Thank you for your review.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your liking. I’m delighted that your room was comfortable and you found our team members to be friendly and professional at all times. I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    923
    401
    116
    56
See reviews for
406
958
50
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stay here regularly on our annual visit to Stratford on Avon. We used to stay at the Shakespeare Hotel but that one priced itself out of our range. In fact we prefer the Holiday Inn. Not only is it less fussy and pretentious, it is easy to find when one is driving in to Stratford, it is easy to park there (sometimes parking is free and sometimes it costs £5 for a 24 hour period). The rooms are comfortable, the price reasonable (especially if one books ahead to get the advance purchase rate). It is a few minutes walk to the theatres. The breakfasts are excellent. The lobby area and public spaces are pleasant, with a good view of the river from the lounge and restaurant. I can't fault the Holiday Inn in Stratford. It is not 5 star luxury but it is a good, comfortable place to stay and will remain our first choice for future trips to this city

Room Tip: I don't think there is much to choose between the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Barbara707_12,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am very pleased to read that as a returning customer you continue to enjoy your stays with us and always find our hotel comfortable and of good value. I hope to welcome you back soon for another relaxing break in Stratford.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in September. This hotel is in the middle of Stratford very close to the RSC and there is a big car park. The rooms are good and everything worked. The breakfast is a good buffet with a big selection. The public rooms have had a big makeover and are very smart and modern.

The bar is smart, if a bit sterile, the selection of drinks isn't very good and they're expensive.

It is a big hotel and gives the impression of a shopping mall, with no shops. The staff were very good.

A downside is that we couldn't get a Vodafone signal anywhere in or near the building and hotel internet is £5 a day.

We didn't use the pool or the gym although it looked good enough.

Turn left outside the hotel and there is a riverside path into the countryside. If you cross the road you go into the marina and on to the RSC. There are a lot of restaurants in that area. Beyond the RSC is a church containing Shakespeare's grave. If you don't go through the marina you go left on an old tram bridge that is now a footbridge leading to a park that runs along the river, at the end is another footbridge across the river leading to the church mentioned above and return to the RSC and town.

We recommend this hotel, its location is excellent and its quality is good. It isn't cheap especially during the week but we think it's value for money is probably about right..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete3080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Pete3080,

Thank you for taking the time to review your break with us.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything from our team members to our location to be excellent. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is situated very close to the centre of Stratford upon Avon near to the tourist information centre. We stayed for a long weekend and we were very impressed with the friendly helpful staff who were polite and very efficient. The hotel is quite large and our room was at least 100 metres from the lift ( and it was not the furthest away) so if you have trouble walking do ask for a room near the lift when you book. The outdoor space has just been refurbished with split level docking and comfortable seating where staff will serve you with drinks and food. The food is ok but not haute cuisine, there is a carvery with a selection of meats and well cooked vegetables as well as a selection of dishes such as steak, burgers and pizza made to order. The wine list is not extensive and expensive.
Our big criticism was the room keys! In a 4 night stay we had 9 keys and each time we could not get in we were faced with the long walk as the phones on the corridor always seemed to be engaged. If you want to park your car and explore Stratford upon Avon this hotel will give you a comfortable bed and a good breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for one near the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Kathryn C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I am pleased to read that your stay with us was very comfortable and you found everything to be to your liking. I’m sorry to read of your trouble with room keys and I hope your comfortable room made up for that. I hope to welcome you back the next time you decide to explore Stratford.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stay in this hotel a lot on business and on the whole i am satisfied with it , as it is in the middle of Stratford upon Avon and walking distance (10 Mins ) to town as well as Shakespare theatre and the boat basin .I have never used the gym so cannot comment but pool is very small .The rooms have had a slight upgrade with a flat screen television ,but furniture has not been upgraded at all and looking very worn .They have spent a lot of money on reception (lot of white marble tiles) / bar area (looks like trendy london bar ) and a sort of library meeting area (which is a bit strange ) , the restaurant has also had a total make over .On one night as it was raining i decided to use the restaurant , what a let down .Firstly it was a buffet only with small area for starters /Sweets and two chefs on duty to carve the meat ,but the price was very steep £25.00 for one , which for a family would be extortionate .The staff although polite were hovering all the time and i felt that i couldnt be get out of restaurant quick enough, will not visit it again unless they start offering a proper menu .The bar prices also seemed to have been raised in line with decoration £4.30 for a pint of lager was very steep .So a lot of money spent but not much improvement in hotel above the ground floor ,pity as they could have done a lot with the money

Room Tip: Book ahead and get good rate for Bed and breakfast , go out for dinner a lot of restaurants within 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmar2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Pmar2UK,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to read that you enjoy your time with us and find everything in our hotel to your liking. I am sorry to read that you were uncomfortable in our restaurant; I will be sure to discuss your review with our team members to ensure that this does not occur again. We have a full a la carte available since the relaunch of the new restaurant and I am sorry that this was not offered to you on the night. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proud to be British
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend and were very pleased we did. It was a wonderful experience, from booking in to checking out. The staff were great, polite, friendly, helpful, professional and this with major alterations taking place. The alterations (on the ground floor) did not seem to interfere with the normal running of the hotel and we were not disturbed by noise or any other aspect of the renovation. Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable the food was of a good quality and reasonably priced, (although I personally would prefer the eggs at breakfast to be cooked to order as they congeal quickly under the heat) and it is in an excellent location just minutes from the centre of Stratford-on-Avon. I look forward to visiting again in the near future and if the new look is anything like as good as the description shown, I am sure I will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longhair9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear LongHair9,

Thank you for your review.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to your liking. I hope to welcome you back soon for another relaxing stay with us.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed here with my wife for an Anniversary getaway 22/8/13 to 24/8/13; I actually booked the 2 night stay weeks before through Booking.com.
On arrival there were major ground floor renovations being carried out with quite a bit of noise so a quiet relaxing time it wasn't..( to be fair, there was nowhere on the Booking.com website stating this, and I did not actually view the Holiday Inn website); also, the ladies changing facilities for the gym/pool were interrupted so my wife could not change into swimwear down at the pool so we did not use it at all or any of the gym facilities.
This aside, (and the works are now finished I believe),the room was good ..we had a king room , spacious and clean; the bathroom was slightly small.
Breakfast was plentiful and varied ranging from Continental to Full English, with a coffee machine supplying different types of coffee;I would say the food was of a very good standard.
This Hotel is in a great location, just a couple of minutes walk to the centre of Stratford-upon-Avon.
The Staff were friendly.On airing my concerns about not being informed of the building works,we were given a complimentary 2 night stay which I thought was excellent of the Management.
Overall, clean, good breakfast,friendly staff and great location at a reasonable price.I would have stayed again even if I had not have been given a complimentary stay.From the works that were being carried out I would assume the Hotel has now improved since our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnLisaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear JohnLisaD,

Thank you for your review.

I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your liking. I’m sorry you were not aware of our refurbishment and I hope it didn’t impair your stay too much. I hope to welcome you back in the future so you can see the improvements we have made.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,754 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,872 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,433 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing