We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel was lovely...definately will be back...nothing to much trouble...the room was large and spacious...we had an executive facing the theatre which we had requested....we were allowed to keep the car in the carpark until we were ready to leave stratford which was excellent as it was Bank Holiday monday and there was a vintage car rally on around the town...

Room Tip: we had one facing the theatre...as I wasnt sure what you would see facing the river as there were a...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasper59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Jasper59,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay.

I am very pleased to read that you found our hotel to be comfortable and of a high standard with excellent team members. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,336)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,670 - 1,676 of 2,336 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

This would have to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.
Overpriced, the room as very average for the costs, the fridge did not work and
they could not fix it.
The bar downstairs did not have much in the way of varieties, so was very disappointed thinking that this was an Internatioanl Hotel.
The only highlight was a staff member, who tidied up in the breakfast area, who was so kind to the visitors and so helpful- He was the one thing that made out stay bearable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joannechris0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Joannechris0,

Thank you for reviewing your stay.

I am disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to restore your faith in Holiday Inn Stratford upon Avon and would appreciate it if you would email me on gm.histratford@qmh-hotels.com quoting your name, room number and date of stay. I am pleased, however, to read that a particular team member stood out and they reflected the service you will receive with us.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here in a quick bank holiday break with my partner and the location is superb . Parking is easy and plentiful and only a £5 a stay. Cheap for Stratford. Hotel bar stayed open until 1:30am as it was busy even though its stated hours were 22:30. Staff very very helpful and couldn't do enough. Overall at £64 for a king size bedded room I don't think you could getter better value for money in Stratford. Don't forget to try the hotels lovely terrace overlooking the river.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sifowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Sifowles,

Thank you for reviewing your stay.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We booked a room for 2 adults and our 2 children for one night so that we could have a weekend break in Stratford. The hotel was very pleasant, clean, and the staff were very helpful throughout. The location is great as it's very near the town centre and the RSC theatre - we wre able to check into the hotel early before going to a matinee at the theatre. We didn't eat our evening meal in the hotel - we walked to a restaurant (lots within easy walking distance) - but we had breakfast which was very good - standard fare but lots of it, and they cooked me some poached eggs on request, no problem at all. The swimming pool is fine, very warm, if a bit small, and there is a small jacuzzi, sauna, and steam room all at no additional cost. Parking cost £5 for the whole weekend which wasn't bad as I think parking is at a premium in Stratford. All in all we'd definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Howard F,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found that we were the perfect base for exploring Stratford. I am happy that you found no issues with breakfast and enjoyed everything you experienced in our hotel. I hope to welcome you in the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

On arrival at the hotel we found our room was not ready despite the 3pm guarantee, having to sit around waiting was not ideal having travelled a considerable distance. When we eventually were allocated a room we had to get the bedding changed as it was heavily stained, our friends also had to do the same as the duvet had fragments of hair over it. In the communal areas of the hotel a large bridge tournament was beginning which meant a lot of activity setting up all conference rooms, not particularly relaxing!!!

Staff were pleasant and dealt with any issues promptly.
Would not return!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comcare25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Comcare25,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I am very sorry to read that you had an issue with your room but I’m happy our team members were pleasant and efficient in solving the problem. We regularly have larger events in the hotel due to the fact that although we are in a leisure destination, we also have large conference and event areas. The Midlands is usually a popular destination for conferences for national companies and associations. We feel that we can combine both types of guests well and my team is well prepared to deal with this. What is not acceptable is to find rooms which are not totally ready for arriving guests, whether this is for the arrival time or for the cleanliness in the room.

I would like to reiterate my sincere apologies for this. It is not our usual standard and I do hope that my reassurances will not deter your from visiting us in the future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We booked last minute having stayed here a few years ago and know that location is great for everything in Stratford. However..... This is rated as a four star hotel but feels a long way from that. Our room had a distinctly fusty smell on arrival and there was evidence of mould patches on the external walls ( we arrived too late to be bothered to ask to move but have mentioned to reception ) The furniture in the communal areas is tired and very dirty. Wifi is only available if you pay for it which i think is now a bit outdated. Most hotels offer free for a limited period or in a certain areas of the hotel.

Breakfast was ok but again nothing special

I'm afraid it wouldn't be my first choice next time. For the same price you can get better value for money. This could be such a good hotel having stayed at other holiday inns but it is time for a refresh.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Vinestock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Vinestock,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I am sorry to read that your stay was rather lacklustre and not to the quality that you would have hoped it to have been. We have a large refurbishment programme in place for 2013 which includes all the public areas.

Our main ballroom has already been completed and we are awaiting commencement in the Food and Beverage areas as well as the arrival areas of the hotel. This will be completed by the end of this year. With respect to the WiFi, IHG Hotels have embraced these comments and from July 2013 the higher tiers of our Priority Club Loyalty Programme will receive free WiFi in all the IHG properties all over the world. From January 2014, all tiers of the Loyalty programme will receive free WiFi in any of our hotels whether you are resident or whether you are just visiting. It is simple to enrol in one of our hotels and you will be able to enjoy the free WiFi as soon as you enrol.

With respect to your other comments, I can assure you that this is not the standard we usually deliver and I would like to offer you my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you experienced. I hope that my reassurances will not deter you from visiting us in the future

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night 27/4/13 . room good size . bed king size very comfy . Overlooking river , Breakfast brilliant , will stay again soon .Near to all of shakespears attractions , did not use pool but heard from other staying ok .

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enderbyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Enderbyfox,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay.

I am very pleased to read that you will be staying again soon after enjoying your first visit. I’m happy everything was to your liking and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,801 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,527 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,764 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $88 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing