We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant and helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I had the recent pleasure to book in here. The staff were very helpful and the rooms were adequate for our stay.
The food was outstanding at the function and very reasonably priced.
Its position for the town is excellent and is a short walk from the banks of the river. An excellent base for visiting.
The only slight downside was the car park carries an extra charge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Peter S,

Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts on your stay for us.

I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to be impressive.

I’m glad you found our food to be outstanding and our team members very helpful. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit Stratford.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    857
    380
    110
    50
See reviews for
377
859
47
410
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I booked this hotel well in advance and got a wonderful deal for three nights inbetween Christmas and New year.

When we arrived there had been some flooding of the car park, so we had to park the car quite further back from the hotel.

The hotel had recently refurbished public areas and there was a lot of space for guests to relax during their stay.

The bedrooms were very basic for a holiday Inn and in need of refurbishment which I am sure everyone is aware of. The bed was nice, big, and comfortable, but the duvet and pillows had seen better days.

Only a small thing, but we had a facecloth on arrival, but for the next two days, we were never left one, also I was surprised the room was never hoovered during our stay, however it did not upset our stay.

We enjoyed our breakfast each morning only two gripes, the staff in the restaurant did not seem at all happy, we always had to say good morning to them first, also the idea of pouring a cup of tea from a pot at the table when seated was a bad idea, as it was often warm and stewed.

There was a older gentleman in housekeeping that always seemed to be cheerful and working hard, prehaps his cheerful manner will rub off on other members of staff.

However, we did enjoy our stay and would return to the hotel if we were able to recieve a good deal again.

Room Tip: the kingsize rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear HappyPortsmouth,

Thank you for commenting on your time with us.

I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to find a brilliant deal with our hotel. I am pleased to inform you that our hotel will indeed be going through a thorough update within the next few years. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here with two adults and two teenagers and found our room to be spacious and clean. the hotel is looking a little drab in the rooms however, the restaurant and common areas were fine. The kids enjoyed the free wifi down in the lobby area. The hotel's location is fantastic, right on the river Avon. The garden area is a highlight of the hotel as it is a very pretty spot to stop for a drink.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Rebecca C,

Thank you for leaving feedback on your stay.

I’m pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be fantastic. I’m glad you were able to enjoy a drink in our garden area – is it a lovely place to relax. I hope to welcome you all back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked a night using club points and as a Platinum member we were upgraded to an executive room which was very comfortable. All the staff were very helpful and made our stay a pleasure. It definitely pays to visit places off season to enjoy really good hospitality. The food was very good, the pool was warm (although the changing area was cold!!) and we had a very relaxing stay in the heart of Stratford.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pickyfromYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear PickyfromYorkshire,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write a review of your stay.

I’m very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay across the board and found our location to be perfect for your needs. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Having stayed at what is currently the Holiday Inn, Stratford on Avon, over many years and through a variety of incarnations, I can say without doubt that it has reached an umprecedented low point and I will never stay here again until the management, whoever they are, at least replace the filthy carpets in the guest rooms, restore some of the basic conveniences such as mini-bars and room safes, light the rooms adequately and stop charging an outrageous £5 per hour for Wi-fi access which must be used in one fell swoop and cannot be segmented through a 24-hour stay.

The feeling that every service is being reduced to meet some financial goal is reinforced by the fact that, at the busiest time on a weekend morning, only one of the two breakfast stations was open, tended by one harrassed server, and that guests were standing on line at the buffet awaiting renewal not just of eggs and baked beans but even of bread rolls (and the latter were not renewed at all a full 40 minutes before the breakfast period finished). The cheeses were pre-portioned and plastic wrapped, used dishes stayed on tables until the few dining room staff noticed them.

To add to these insults, use of the ATM to withdraw some cash carries a basic charge of £1.99 whatever the sum withdrawn. I do have praise for the hard-working and pleasant staff. But a four-star designation for this dump is ridiculous. Two would be quite adequate. [Don't ask about the pillows – ugh!]

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gdavidp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear gdavidp,

Thank you for reviewing your stay.

I’m sorry to read that you were disappointed by your stay.
We have a variety of packages for WiFi access ranging from 1 hour to 48 hours and the longer the duration the more economical it becomes.

Should you require the use of a safe or mini bar rather than the option of an upgrade to an executive room is possible (although subject to availability as providing these in a standard room is not a Holiday Inn brand standard); we will put a fridge in your room if requested and we would be very happy to provide this free of charge.

I am very sorry to read that you found the breakfast operation less than satisfactory and we have noted your comments. We do not tend to get negative comments regarding our breakfast operation as many reviews highlight, but we have not got it right on this occasion.

I am pleased to read however that our team members impressed you.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Having stayed in Stratford last year at the same time, I was aware of what Stratford had to offer. I decided to try a different hotel. I chose to pay extra for an executive room, as it was my husband's birthday. I was glad I had, as the extras that were in this room made a big difference to the enjoyment of the weekend. The bed was extra large, which gave more room to spread ourselves. There was a collection in the bathroom of items we might find useful, such as a sewing kit. I found the lit magnified mirror useful, as was the showerhead at the side of the bath. ( There was also a shower for a stand up shower ). I was impressed by the helpfullness of the staff. When items were requested from the reception staff, they were brought up promptly, and the blanket brought was very nice and cosy. ( I had the start of a winter cold ). When we arrived for breakfast on the first morning, we found the dining room to be very busy, but we were soon found a seat, and we noticed how efficiently the tables were cleared and the food replenished. It was close to the town, only five minutes and we were there. Also the river, boats, swans and theatre were close by.
My only disappointment was the view. I had hoped to have a view of the river, but I could only see it in the distance. Dean, the member of staff who took our luggage to the room for us, helpfully took us and showed us a room with a slightly better view, but the room was not so good.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are worth the money, but maybe only for special occassions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieWorcesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear MaggieWorcesterUK,

Thank you for reviewing your time with us.

I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and impressed by the efficiency of our team members. I am pleased our location was everything you were looking for but I’m sorry you weren’t able to experience our stunning views. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I had an image of 'travel lodge' style accommodation but was very much mistaken. We were staying here with another couple to mainly use as a base to shop and eat/drink out and it exceeded my expectations The hotel was modern and welcoming, the lobby and bar has lots of comfortable seating areas where we spent a few hours nibbling and drinking before and after our night out. The staff were all friendly and very helpful when we couldn't use our room key (our fault!).
Our bedroom was a 'standard' but was very spacious, comfortable and modern and actually better than some Hiltons i've stayed in recently. No view but we weren't bothered by it.
The location is fantastic with a 2 min walk to the shops and resturaunts in town. The outdoor area looked nice, gardens near the river and we are thinking of going back in spring/summer. We didn't get chance to use the leisure facilities but they all looked in good condition.
Breakfast was buffet, unhurried and with plenty of choice even when we arrived 10 mins before it closed.
Car parking free too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shazbatzannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear shazbatzannie,

Thank you for writing feedback about your stay.

I’m very pleased to read that you were impressed by our hotel and found it to be comfortable and our team members friendly. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast with us and found our location to be perfect for your needs. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel the next time you have a shopping spree!

Kind regards,

Miguel Abellan van Kan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#15 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
0.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon

Property: Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Address: Bridgefoot, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6YR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the River Avon and set in beautiful landscaped gardens, the Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon is the perfect location for discovering the delights of Shakespeare's birthplace, while other local attractions and historical sites are within walking distance. The hotel is within easy reach of J15 off the M40 and 20 miles from Birmingham Airport and the NEC and only a short drive from the amazing Warwick Castle. All 259 refurbished bedrooms have air-conditioning, wireless internet access and tea and coffee making facilities. Car parking is available at the hotel with over 300 spaces on site. Renowned as an excellent meeting and conference venue and with the impressively modernised Ballroom with adjoining exhibition areas Holiday Inn Stratford-upon-Avon can host events for up to 550 delegates. To dine in style, the Terrace Lounge and Bar and the Riverside Restaurant offer excellent food to suit all tastes. Or to really unwind and recuperate, the leisure club is available for all guests to use with a wide range of first class facilities including a fully equipped gymnasium, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool. Discover Stratford-upon-Avon and visit the many nearby places of interest including the National Exhibition Centre, The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Warwickshire and the Heritage Motor Centre. The Hotel, in compliance with UK smoking regulations, is completley non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stratford-Upon-Avon Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Holiday Inn
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing