We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friendly, fun venue for a great hen do”

Review of The Ling Lodges

A view of the separate Wet Room and Changing Rooms.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view of the separate Wet Room and Changing Rooms.
Front view of The Lodges, totally private seating area, huge Patio and BBQ, and large Gardens.. The Ling Lodges on the left, the Indoor Pool through the Patio doors on the right...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
75 reviews
A view of the separate Wet Room and Changing Rooms.
Front view of The Lodges, totally private seating area, huge Patio and BBQ, and large Gardens..
The Ling Lodges on the left, the Indoor Pool through the Patio doors on the right...
The Dining and kitchen area with large extending Table to seat 10.
A comfortable place to sit, put your feet up and watch the large Flatscreen Telly
Beautifully furnished throughout....another sitting area to relax, read, watch TV..
A gorgeous Bedroom - this with a lovely clean modern en suite off complete with power shower.
Another of the three Bedrooms. This Room a Family Room with two single Beds and bunk beds also.
Another of the three stylish Bedrooms with en suite Bathroom and countryside views.
The Lodges are nestled in beautiful country Gardens.
Beautifully tended Gardens....
and  perhaps relax with a good Book and a Glass of wine.
Local wildlife pop in and out!
Large Private Gardens so space to relax...walk...perhaps a game of Football or Frisbee..
Fabulous Holiday Sunsets right outside your Bedroom windows.
Book a Limo and take your group to Dinner in style....
or all stay in and cook Dinner at The Lodge.
Some lovely local places to visit.
You are bound to see the Deer roaming too....
The Lodges are just through the arch on the right.
Just over the garden fence....our neighbours!
Some of our amazing local wildlife...
If you don't fancy eating out have a swim and a BBQ...
After a BBQ the night before perhaps a day out Shopping in Stratford or Bicester.
Lots of wonderful Shops to choose from!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Faye C
1 review
“Friendly, fun venue for a great hen do”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

It was surprisingly tricky to find a place for a hen do given that so many places don't accept them and the rest seem to be wildly overpriced. The Ling Lodges ended up being the perfect place to stay, great value and with welcoming owners who made the whole process of booking and staying with them as smooth as possible. Exclusive use of the pool is such a bonus particularly as we were unlucky with the weather. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to large groups (hen or otherwise), who are looking for accommodation with a bit extra.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to do a Review. We are delighted that you all had such a good time and many previous Guests have also commented that when our great British weather becomes unpleasant the Heated Indoor Swimming Pool can often save the day!
Kindest David & Jan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KGPrice10...
1 review
“Peaceful and picturesque getaway.”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay for my Dad's 60th Birthday earlier this week. Jan and David were very friendly and welcoming. Ling Lodge was clean and homely. We had great fun using the swimming pool, grounds and BBQ. Would love to stay again in the future!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
We are delighted that you all had such a wonderful time. We know from our own Holidays that a swim followed by a BBQ with friends and Family makes a fantastic combination! We look forward to your return visit.
Kindest
David & Jan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyohwhi
Tahiti, French Polynesia
1 review
“Lovely Weekend”
Reviewed August 1, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

A lovely 2 night stay for a friend's hen weekend. The house was well kept and was perfect for our group, the pool was great for an afternoon dip. Jan and David were just a text away if we needed anything. Thank you for having us.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to do a Review. We are delighted to hear that you all had such a wonderful time. Everyone loves the Pool!
Kindest
David & Jan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenJ787
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic weekend at the Ling Lodges!”
Reviewed July 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed for two nights and had a really lovely time, the Lodges had everything we needed for our stay. We loved the space we had and the pool is great, surroundings are lovely too, really couldn't have asked for anything better.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 22, 2016
Thank you very much for your kind Review. We are always happy to hear that our Guests have had a wonderful stay here at the Lodge. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit.
Kindest
David & Jan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
Thank you for your Review. We are delighted that you all had such a great time here at The Lodge. Many Families and groups of friends make return visits to stay here because they didn't have enough time on their first stay to see all that Straford & the Cotswolds have to offer.
We are delighted that everyone loved the Swimming Pool so much too.
Kindest
David & Jan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fran W
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic property and pool area, difficult communications with owner"”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in Ling Lodges for a Hen Do and overall we had a great stay. The property is perfect for a small-medium sized group and the pool was a fantastic facility to have for the weekend. The property was very clean and everything was in good condition too, with great facilities (except that the wifi doesn't work). It would have been nice to have towels included, but no huge inconvenience. Location is great - just 15 minutes drive to Stratford and nestled in some beautiful countryside with fields of horses and sheep surrounding the property. We fit 10 in very comfortably, and the entertaining space / dining areas were a good size for the group.

The Ling Lodge sits next door to the owners house, and has it's own patio outside with a large table where we enjoyed drinks and snacks. The garden areas seen on photos 10-14 are the owner's areas / directly in front of their house, and didn't feel like part of the Ling Lodge grounds, and we weren't comfortable using them for this reason. However, the owner was kind enough to open the gate that runs between the patio and grass (as seen in photo 2) so that we could use the garden for an afternoon tea which we really appreciated.

We had a great stay, and really enjoyed the property - which we told the owner after leaving. However, unfortunately I would not book here again due to being made to feel very uncomfortable via e mail exchanges from the owner before arrival. We had tried to arrange slightly earlier check in times, and slightly later check out times (those provided are check in after 5pm and check out by 10am), however it became apparent that due to the owners living in another town and arrangements of cleaners, this would not be possible without a sizeable fee. We were a little surprised by the reasons behind this inflexibility, as most places I've ever stayed are usually pretty flexible when it comes to check in / out however I understand that this is the right of the owner, especially for private properties.

What we were taken aback by, was the unpleasant tone and attitude that we received via e mail from the owner when trying to make these arrangements. During a few e mail exchanges, we were made to feel as if we were hugely inconveniencing them, and that we were being unreasonable in asking for anything outside of what was on the website. I fully appreciate the owner's right to refuse additional requests, but as a customer, I do not expect to receive such an unpleasant tone via e mail, which for us, took away from the enjoyment of the few days running up to our stay. Based on a couple of previous owner responses to reviews with similar feedback, I expect that I will receive a similar response to this review. However, I would hope that it is received as some feedback that if taken on board, could make a perfect property somewhere that I would return to and recommend to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2016
Thank you for your Review. We are delighted that you all enjoyed the Property so much and that you all had such a fantastic time here. We are always delighted to hear when people consider the Property to be clean, in good condition and with great facilities and it makes all of our efforts worthwhile.
We were sorry that on this occasion we were unable to accommodate your Group leaving later but as I explained to you we had a commitment that Sunday lunch time that we simply could not miss otherwise Jan and I would have been delighted to let you stay a little later later.
Kindest
David & Jan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lo_JEngla...
England, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous weekend retreat”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stayed at the Lodge for a weekend with a group of friends for a girly weekend away. David and Jan left us a welcome food package which was a lovely surprise and showed us around on check-in. They then gave us privacy for the weekend to enjoy the facilities at our leisure. Excellent location with views of fields including the sheep and horses close by. Swimming pool was a bonus for us and some of the group enjoyed a game of volleyball in the pool with the inflatables provided. The accommodation is well appointed and very clean on arrival. As we were eating in the lodge for some of our meals I was concerned there might not be enough dinnerware and pots and pans but there was plenty of everything - even some cleaning products! A really great weekend in a perfect setting and not too far from Stratford centre. The only negative point I can say is the check out time of 10am is too early as we would have loved to stay longer and use the pool a bit more on the Sunday morning! But I guess that just means we need to stay longer next time... Thank you for a lovely weekend.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 23, 2016
Thank you very much indeed for your lovely Review. We are delighted that you all had such a great time and enjoyed yourselves so much. We are so very lucky that our Lodge is in such a fantastic location and many of our Guests comment that they really don't want to leave and go Home! We look forward to your planned return visit. Have a fabulous Summer.
Kindest
David & Jan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing