We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Family Occasion” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Family Occasion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Came here for a family lunch - my partners 80th birthday not long ago. On arrival we were impressed by the greeting area and the decor of the hotel, coffee & drinks on arrival or us were brilliant after a long car journey. We had hired a private function room for the lunch which the staff let us decorate as we wished on arrival. we were seated and everything was well organised. In terms of the service everything ran well, the staff very professional, however the food i would say overall could of been better. The wait for food was not long & the starters were fantastic - both mine and my partners which i tried some of his soup! The main was nice, but nothing special but it was well presented. However for the deserts - all of them i would say a complete disaster. They sounded unapealing, the looked even more so, and I could only manage a few mouthfuls. Shame to end a lovely meal on a downer but everything else was fab! We stayed afterwards for endless photos and a nice family catch up. Overall a nice day but i cant be certain that I would come to this hotel again due to the food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissViki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments, I am very happy to note that you had such a lovely family celebration with us, I would like to offer apologies for any disappointment with the desserts, and I hope that this issue did not detract too much from the enjoyment of your family get together.
Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    723
    528
    284
    149
See reviews for
355
1,281
36
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

I have just returned from a weekend stay at Alveston Manor. This an attractive hotel in an excellent position, a few minutes walk into the centre of Stratford.
Very impressed with the beautiful interior and gardens (though not extensive). My partner took advantage of the spa treatments which were very good. Decent size bedrooms with queen size beds.
Ate there Saturday evening and the food was to a good standard. The mushroom soup (of the day) I ordered turned out to be butternut squash. Didn't seem to matter, especially when waiter brought champagne to make up for it. Cooked breakfast was a little on the small side but of a good standard.
All the staff were very friendly and efficient. Wanted ice to be taken up to the room for 6.30, and it arrived on the dot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rugbyfan998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel and on balance were disappointed with our experience. The hotel is lovely from the outside, and has good facilities (nice bar, spa with a good sized pool).

The room was nice, although nothing particularly special - a fairly standard hotel room with nothing exceptional to make it memorable.

The biggest disappointment was the service. On a quiet Saturday afternoon we waited 10 minutes in the bar and still hadn't been served. We had to go to the bar to put in an order at which point the barman told us that he'd come over and take our order!

At breakfast, the staff were ok but not especially friendly. On the first morning we were given one of the smallest tables in the room, even though the place was mostly empty, and not really welcomed with a smile.

The staff at breakfast couldn't seem to cope with the idea that we wanted our toast to come hot at the same time as the cooked breakfast. On two mornings we had to ask two or three times to get toast which ultimately arrived 5-10 minutes after the hot food. The cold buffet choice at breakfast was small by comparison to other places that we have visited which are of a similar rating and price band.

We paid over £100 per night for this stay and given the way that Macdonald hotels present Alveston Manor we expected better on various fronts. The central location in Stratford and the lovely external appearance are the only things that make this hotel attractive, given our experience there. We won't be returning and unfortunately can't recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RS10675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you very much for posting your feedback. I would like to offer my sincere apolgoies for any shortfall in our service during your stay, please be assured that we strive to deliver an excellent standard of customer care and I am sorry that we did not achieve this during your visit. I hope that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back at sometime in the future, so that we can show what we can achieve. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

The hotel so they say have just had a 400k refit where has the money gone I stayed last night and I will never stay again some of the staff are great but some are rude and are not interested I stay in hotels all over the world and this is the worst if you are looking for a hotel they are lots of other in the area

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is quite a striking low-rise hotel standing in its own grounds on the south side of the main bridge into the centre of town. My wife and I stayed there for a weekend in early May 2014.

The hotel reception gave us a warm welcome and were ready with the car park tokens which are a source of concern when first arriving. Do not fret its all free to hotel guests!

The hotel itself is quite extensive and has clearly been extended from time to time during its existence. The general ambience is of modern old world charm (if that is not a contradiction in terms!). Nice garden to sit in if the weather is good but you could face a longish walk to your room if you get one of the "outlying" areas. The disadvantage of this is distance and a frequency of smallish flights of stair as you walk around the ground floor. The advantage is that you are unlikely to be disturbed once you get to your room. Take your pick but not the best of hotels for the disabled I think. Our room was very good and the bathroom, although good, was not lavish. I would say between 3 1/2 and 4 star standard and another room that I saw was almost identical. No complaints here.

The evening meal at the hotel was very good but I was not impressed by the breakfast. I prefer buffet style for everything in the morning as I'm only half awake. Cereals etc are on that basis but the cooked breakfast has to be ordered and was presented in too over-fussy a manner for my taste. Avoid the scrambled egg...........mine was not good.

The Bar area was comfortable and the service good as it was from all of the staff that we encountered. There is a spa at the hotel; we didn't use it but friends of ours did and said that it was fine.

For the money that you are likely to pay, this hotel is a good choice if you are looking to be in the Centre of Stratford. It is also opposite the other Macdonald's Hotel in Stratford which houses the St Pierre Bistro. Very informal, good food and bar......well worth a visit. You have to walk over the bridge to get into town but, quite frankly, that is the bit that will probably stick in your memory after you have gone.....it's a beautiful spot on a sunny day. Enjoy.

Room Tip: We were in 116..................that was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ygor705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Stayed overnight in this hotel as it was a company "do"; and having spent the night there I would not choose to stay again.

Initial impression of the outside of the hotel is very good, set in beautiful gardens in the centre of Stratford. Don't be fooled by the professional photos of the rooms though, there must only be a handful of rooms as pictured. The majority of the rooms are in added on blocks which look as if they were built in the 60's, complete with metal window frames that didn't fit! More about the rooms later.

When checking in we did not find the reception staff welcoming, nor particularly friendly or helpful. Not a good first impression.

We eventually found our room after walking through a maze of corridors and up a few flights of stairs - no-one had mentioned the stairs at reception, nor were we offered any help with our bags. The majority of rooms are on low-ceilinged, poorly lit corridors, all of the carpets are well past their sell by date and should be replaced.

The room itself, when we eventually got there, was just grubby. Again, the carpets need replacing - lots of marks, the net curtains appeared to be smeared with dried-in make-up. The furniture and fittings all worn and chipped. The bathroom could have been cleaner.
The metal framed windows in the room were poorly fitting so there was quite a draught whistling through and conversations outside in the car park could be heard quite clearly.......new windows required.

The price of drinks in the bar is ridiculous - £4.00 for a small glass of coke??

The quality of food at dinner was pretty poor, sirloin steak over cooked to death, no-one was asked how they'd like it cooked? Sent mine back but it wasn't much better on its return.

Breakfast was just about ok, although we couldn't believe the coffee was out of large thermos type flasks, fresh coffee should be a must in the type of hotel the Alveston is trying to sell itself as.

In conclusion, it's just as well the whole trip was paid for by the company because I personally wouldn't have paid for such low standards throughout. Needs major refurbishment!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you eyr much for taking the time to post your feedback. I am sorry that you did not feel welcomed to the hotel.
The majority of our rooms are in the modern wing, we have an ongoing maintenance plan in place to ensure that rooms are well presented and clean, I am sorry we did no meet this standard for your stay.
We have recent invested considerably in the refurbishment of the public areas of the hotel and hope that this will continue in the forseeable future.
May I offer sincere apologies for any shortfall in our standards and service during your visit, all guest comments are discussed at our weekly meeting, and taken on board.
Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel is in a fantastic location for visiting Stratford and the Cotswolds. The staff are all very friendly and the rooms are reasonably well appointed - bed very comfortable. We had a jolly good breakfast every morning but only ate in the restaurant one evening as there are ample places to eat a short walk away. The food was good quality although we did think it a tad on the pricey side.

Overall, it was a good place to stay, we enjoyed it and would definitely return next time we visit the Cotswolds

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona54, General Manager at Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your positive comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back should you visit the area again. Sam Aziz, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
4.0 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing