We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three nights DB&B 24th march in room 69 in the old coach house.

The room was well equipped and clean with and Wi-Fi had good reception. It was not the largest of rooms but was adequate and well set out however if you are over 6ft there is one low beam in the room which was not a problem for us. The beds where comfortable and there was little noise from other residents during the night.

Public areas are well kept in the main, but in places will need a little attention to carpets which are heavily in a couple of areas. As we stayed in some of the coldest weather of the winter the bar area was cold near the windows, however as this is a listed building there is not much that could be done about this. It would be nice to return in the summer and take advantage of the grounds and the patio area. As already been said it is close to the town centre but far enough away to be quiet.

Evening meals where excellent and the menu changed slightly each day (something other Macdonald hotels should consider). As one of us is on a gluten free diet this and we had forgot to inform the hotel in advance. They were very accommodating and gluten free bread and toast offered every time we sat down for a meal, they were also happy to adapt many of the items menu to accommodate this. The only thing we found was the quality breakfasts varied each day and to be fair was not as good as the breakfasts at other Macdonald hotels we have stayed at.

We have stayed at over twenty hotels in the group and this one did not disappoint apart from the breakfast. The staff we encountered where all cheerful and friendly with a warm welcome in the bar and restaurant each time we entered. We would apply recommend this hotel and hope to visit it again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,919 - 1,925 of 2,476 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

Having previously stayed in the sister hotel The Swan's Nest across the road and had a very positive experience there, I was keen to stay at Alveston Manor with its picturesque frontage. I can quite believe the tale that the first ever performance of Midsummer Night's Dream was performed in the grounds! We stayed in the main Tudor building (there is a modern wing at the back of the hotel) in an executive suite with a lounge (some have an extra bedroom instead of a lounge) Room 16 which was extremely spacious and ideal for our purposes (with a toddler in tow). There was a sofa bed in the lounge so it would have been suitable for 2 adults and 2 children. The hotel is very family friendly. Large TVs in both rooms. Decor was in keeping with the period. Thoroughly enjoyed the AA rosette awarded restaurant. Toddler dined for free! AND that was 3 courses! Restaurant staff were lovely. Great choices for breakfast too. The spa/ gym facilities looked great. Made good use of the pool which was open from 6.30am to late and was lovely and warm with a steam room and sauna. Lounge and bar areas in the hotel have lots of original period features (heavy decorated wooden doors and wood panelled walls, low archways, windows and decorative fire places) which give bags of character. I would imagine it to be a great venue for a wedding. There was a parking charge of £5 but that's a flat rate for however long you stay and though we checked out of the hotel at 10.30am they were quite happy for us to leave the car until we were ready to leave Stratford at 2.30pm. Brilliant location, easy access to the town centre and river boat trips, sightseeing bus and Butterfly Farm on the doorstep.

Room Tip: A room in the main building for character Executive suites are huge, good for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We enjoyed a special offer through the hotels website. We had asked for a quiet room and got just that. The bed was extremely comfortable. The food is delicious and the restaurant plays relaxing music. The spa is excellent and we did treat ourselves to a massage. The location of the hotel is excellent and you can easily walk around Stratford within minutes from the hotel doorstep. The only slightly disapointing things with the hotel which prevented me giving it an excellent rating are that our room was very dusty. The lamps and table tops we covered in dust. You also have to pay for parking, although this is only £5 per stay and not a daily charge. We dealt with Simon on the main reception. He is a very polite and helpful young man who appears to enjoy his job. All staff who we encountered around the hotel were very polite and friendly. Interestingly, this came across the least in the spa area, which I believe is often found in other hotels from other reviews which I have read.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet rom near to the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthandNick09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I chose this hotel for the great location, and this aspect lived up to my expectations. It's just a 5 min walk to almost everything in Stratford. However, other hotels, the Premier Inn for example, are just as close, if not closer.

The rooms are very standard hotel rooms, which appear to have had a recent lick of paint. The lounge is lovely, with open fires and tutor features. The main body of rooms are in a modernish wing, surrounded by the car park. The staff were friendly.

The only real gripe I have, is the noises corridors. Especially in the morning, there is an almost constant pounding of feet and chatter. The bed was also quite hard. These two things make me glad I was only staying one night. Fr a comfortable long stay, go somewhere else. For a short stay, though, this is just fine.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THD_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

After a working week in one of the popular chain lodge accommodations I was ready for this.

Arrived after dark in foul windy wet weather and despite the Stratford central road layout found the hotel pretty easily.Spacious car parking,which must be a clampers dream in the world of shoppers and day trippers - sadly not well lit and in such poor weather not well signed.No matter ever onward to the reception which was in all honesty a bit frosty.Maybe the receptionist in charge of the warm welcome had experienced a long tough day, but then so had I.

Everything went well thereafter - ok a long walk to the room but most pleasant public areas and in good nick too for an old established Stratford institution.Nothing institutionalised about the room however,not the biggest but at the "special price" and for one night only perfectly acceptable.Jolly good porter to help with luggage too.

Big fluffy towels ,quality linens and bathroom bottles and bubbles and temperature just right.The television was different to any other I had come across, but then all hotel tv's differ and it takes an age and five minute free view to suss the job out.Why? is it a Japanese focus group behind the irritating difficulty?

Any way good nights rest and early start and even when the rain continued to persist down the hotel grounds and gardens looked cared for and quite lovely.On reflection I reckon the £25 to £30 extra to stay in a place like this versus a dumbed down barely civilised budget job was worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshireluddite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spent 2 nights as guest of a conference, the Hotel was first class and catered for all our needs.
Spa facilities where an added bonus, and the town a very short walk across the bridge.
Food excellent and hot in spite of 100 conference members, breakfast was good and unhurried.
Many thanks to the Hotel staff for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: If disabled ask for a room nearer to the Hotel Dining rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights 21-23 March. Staff at this hotel are so friendly and helpful, really enjoyed our break. Our room was spotless. Stayed on a Dinner and Bed and Breakfast basis, food was absolutely delicious. Used the spa which did not disappoint. The pool is very big for a hotel pool. The only downside I would say it that there are areas of the hotel that are a bit "tired" and probably need a bit of re-decoration, but overall a very enjoyable stay. The weather was cold and so didn't get out and about much although have visited Stratford before. We will certainly go back and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room which was ideal, rooms on the ground floor have more people passing by
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
1.2 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,069 reviews
4 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel
#16 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel

Address: Clopton Bridge, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 7HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#10 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $120 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel is one of the finest ---4-star hotels in Warwickshire, offering great luxury accommodation in one of the most beautiful and historic parts of England. Set in the very heart of Shakespeare Country, and in close proximity to beautiful Cotswold villages, the historic Alveston Manor Hotel is set in its own grounds just 5 minutes walk from all the cultural attractions of Stratford-upon-Avon. With luxurious bedrooms and a Vital Health Club & Spa this is the perfect destination for those looking for a relaxing or romantic break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England
Alveston Manor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing