We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to spend our wedding anniversary” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great place to spend our wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had our wedding reception here a few years ago and have also celebrated a number of happy family events. The setting is beautiful and the money spent on the refurbishment programme is clearly evident. The room (133) is now a stunning four-poster in the original part of the building overlooking the gardens. It's decorated in a classic design but with modern comforts such a large flat screen TV, pod-style coffee machine and Apple Mac in the small study area adjacent to the bedroom. The bedroom and the bathroom were spotlessly clean with The White Company toiletries a real treat.
The spa was great as were the treatments.
The food in the restaurant was excellent but the service was 4 out of 5.
Overall a lovely stay and we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you want to push the boat out then you can't beat the four-poster bedrooms overlooking the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    926
    451
    215
    106
    59
See reviews for
315
807
22
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
625 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I went here for a works event and it was a great experience from the start. The entrance is lovely justo ff the main road. There are lots of seating areas. The staff service is excellent and so was the food. My only criticism is that some of the hotel interior is dark.

The Health centre/Spa is very modern, light and airy with a large communal area and swimming and leisure pools.

Car parking is ok.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stumpy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night break which included breakfast on each morning and dinner on one night. First thing you come across is how immaculate the grounds are kept as well as the picturesque golf course. The hotel is a beautiful country house which is also immaculate with great views. Our room was an executive double in the main house which I would recommend over the standards which I believe are in the new wing. The room was spotless and the decor very tasteful. Good quality throughout and a 27" iMac which is the tv, computer, radio and DVD player in one. Pretty impressive. The only negative was the shower which didn't have much pressure. We walked into Stratford both days along the river which only takes about 20 mins and is a very pleasant walk. Stratford is a charming place with plenty of historic ineterest, shops, restaurants and bars, so all bases covered. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant on our last night and it was superb. All three courses were absolutely delicious and the service was first class. Breafast is also served in the restaurant and provided the largest selection of choices we'd ever come across. Every taste was covered and you just helped yourself. We didn't need to worry about lunch after having the breakfasts! We had a lovely time and would recommend this hotel to anyone and are looking forward to coming back some time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cleslie2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharonkitty72
Level Contributor
195 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a special offer via Secret Escapes. Had an amazing time, the hotel and the settings/gardens are absolutely stunning. Staff were very friendly and attentive. The evening meal was OK , not spectatular but made up for by the quality and the selection of food available at the breakfast buffet the next day.
Paid a visit to the spa, which was hugely enjoyable and not too crowded. Same could be said of the entire hotel which while being fully booked and having weddings going on didnt seem to be packed out.
Really enjoyed it, a special trip and would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonkitty72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed at this lovely hotel, with a group of people, on an organised weekend coach break.
Absolutely fantastic!
We were warmly welcomed, The room was very clean & comfortable. The food very good (Wine rather pricey at £8.00 per glass! - but we are used to Northern prices! ;)
A huge choice for breakfast, from fruit smoothies to traditional full english. Buffet style.
Lovely grounds & views from the dining room.
Efficient , friendly staff.
We paid an all-in-one price for the weekend, including travel, so I couldnt comment on the Hotel price individually.
There was a wedding taking place while we were there, and it looked stunning, what a venue for a special day.
I would recommend this hotel.
(my only grumble would be the noisy shower/plumbing. We were woken by next-doors shower at 6.30 am, also very little sound-proofing in our room)
Otherwise all good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlimmaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

A really nice business and romantic venue, with great dinner and a superb setting.

It is very close to Stratford, being a five minute taxi ride to the centre.

Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

I have stayed twice now, both times on business, in rooms that are well equipped, but not overly luxurious.
However, it makes up for this with it's delightful communal areas, very nice and helpful staff and lovely dining room for breakfast and evening meal.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nicoslindos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel was absolutely amazing, the staff was very helpful and friendly. The room we stayed in was amazing and very comfortable. The leisure facilities were excellent, the outside spa was truly the best expericence I have ever had of a outside pool. The Gardens were beautiful to look at during our stay also the golf course was gorgeous. The breakfast in the morning had a very good variety to choose from and it was very nice. The Hotel is a 5 minute drive into Stratford Upon Avon Town and a 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
3.9 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon MK45 1AE, England (Formerly Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Luxury Hotel with spa and golf resort set in fantastic grounds with Italian Gardens and views over the Welcombe Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Welcombe Hotel And Golf Course
Menzies Welcombe Hotel Course
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing