We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay in a superb, stunning hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A lovely stay in a superb, stunning hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

A lovely romantic surprise break! Arrival was beautiful coming up from the main road through the middle of the golf course.
The spa was defiantly a highlight, included in the price of the room, we had the use of the gym (we didn't use), the swimming pool, sauna, steam room, outdoor mini pool which was boiling hot. The spa treatments were lovely, would recommended the body wrap, however slightly pricey but there was promotions throughout February.
The standard of food was exceptional and the staff were very friendly, all though slightly understaffed on valentines evening.
Not far (£6 cab ride) from Stratford if you wanted to go into town.
The room were comfy and roomy, beautiful romantic time away!

Room Tip: standard rooms were excellent, all with mac pc's and most had views of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footballfan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    462
    217
    107
    60
See reviews for
321
834
23
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Old English hotel set in beautiful gardens with golf range, fabulous top notch spa with pool (treatments a little pricey but excellent), delicious restaurant, driving distance to historical Stratford- perfect recipe for a mini break.
Actually appears to be cheaper booking direct with hotel- we did the spa break (spa, dinner, bed and breakfast) which wasn't cheap but good value.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the recently refurbished rooms- some haven't been done up yet, but we just asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnieCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welgf, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Thank you Connie - Glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the newly refurbished rooms, we are nearing completion of the whole hotel so worth a return visit !
I was surprised to see the total score of 3 when all of the other scores were at 4 and 5 - was this correct ?
Thank you for your kind comments
Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I booked this hotel for a family birthday lunch. The member of staff (Louise) with whom I spoke initially was so much more helpful than staff I spoke with at other hotels. The room we were allocated (the Oak Room) was top notch and the occasion was managed impeccably (thanks to Ben). The food was of the highest quality and presented beautifully and the children were well catered for. Although the hotel was full, breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of well cooked food; supplies were speedily replenished and any requests met by the professional and smiling staff. The spa is the best of any hotel I have stayed in
The hotel is not perfect; the rooms are of variable quality but a programme of refurbishment should address many of the weaknesses
The reason I have given the hotel 5 stars is because we had a very good time there. The staff were invariably smiling and willing and the management quick to admit when they were at fault and make appropriate reparations. We are returning for a further stay next month, which tells you something!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tembani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

I was attending a fiftieth birthday celebration so did not choose the hotel on this occasion. However for a large hotel the quality of service and the attitude of the staff was exemplary. The Spa is one of the best I have been to, maybe even the best. I was not playing golf but the course looked well-tended. Great views. I could not fault it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel as part of a coach party, and were in for a very pleasant suprise, the tour was a mystery tour, and ended up at this hotel. The organisation of this hotel was fantastic, from checking in to departure. We had been on coach tours before, stayig at decent hotels and found our selves being second class citizens being part of a coach party.
At the Menzies Welcombe this was far from the truth,we were goiven a fantastic room, with a lovely view. My wife is disabled with walking difficulties, we were allocated a ground floor room as soon as they found out she was disabled. The staff were very attentive, and helpful.
The Evening meal was very good, and next morning the breakfast was a very good choice.
We are planning to return to this hotel independently as it was a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fellte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Really enjoyed our overnight experince at the Welcombe Hotel. Staff were all friendly and the food was tasty and filling.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrism89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as part of a hen do pampering overnight stay.

Good points:
Staff were very friendly and helpful
Food was fantastic and the service was great. We had our own private dining room, which was perfect for us. Everyone enjoyed their meals and we thought it was good value at £30, considering the quality.
The spa was relaxing and the treatments were fantastic. I had my first ever facial and can't wait for my next!
The grounds are beautiful, a lovely setting for the hotel


Poor points:
Our rooms were tired looking and needing a few touch ups (we were impressed with the apple tv though!)
The wine menu was limited in the bar
The spa cafe was ridiculous. We tried to order lunch, don't bother! It took 45 minutes to arrive and we were the only ones to have ordered (a panini at that). It was clear the kitchen was not within the spa and had to be transported from the main hotel. Half the girls cancelled their orders after 45mins as had a train to catch!

Overall
I would probably return to the hotel if I could get a deal, as I enjoyed my stay overall. The private dining rooms are perfect if you would like to have a more personal meal. I noted my comments on the room customer service form and had a response from the manager regarding my points on the tired room, which was nice to have been acknowledged.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toby-lynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
6.3 mi away
Ettington Park Hotel
Ettington Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alderminster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
3.9 mi away
Billesley Manor Hotel
Billesley Manor Hotel
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe

Property: Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Address: Warwick Road, Stratford-upon-Avon MK45 1AE, England (Formerly Menzies Welcombe Hotel & Golf Course)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#6 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country House Luxury Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Welcombe Hotel And Golf Course
Menzies Welcombe Hotel Course
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing