We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulously friendly, beautifully boutique.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Townhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fabulously friendly, beautifully boutique.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We were visiting Stratford to see a play (of course) and made it a two day break. The hotel is perfectly sited for visitors as it sits diagonally across from the archeological dig that is Shakespeare's house and walking distance to both the RSC and Swan theatre's. The hotel provides visitors with everything that is needed to make the stay enjoyable. We were in Room 3. It is full of character and clever use of space means that there is both a bath and a separate shower cubicle. The bed was huge and very comfortable and hard to leave in the mornings. Although there are many places to eat in Stratford, especially by the riverfront, we chose to eat at the hotel. Everything we ate was delicious and a great deal of care had obviously been taken in preparation and service. The staff in all areas of the hotel were lovely and clearly well trained. Not only did they possess knowledge about the history of the building but had knowledge of the local area. They are a credit to the owners.
I would advise anyone who is thinking of visiting Stratford upon Avon to stay here. We are planning to return in the very near future, if they have any rooms left!

Room Tip: If you can, book room 3!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    95
    42
    18
    8
See reviews for
48
315
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We had read the reviews before we travelled but even so it cannot be emphasised enough that this has to be "the" place to stay when you visit Stratford upon Avon.
The room had the wow factor, the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive.
Breakfast was delicious, Dinner was even better.
The visit was sandwiched between a pair of much higher priced (and star rated) hotels and we could perhaps advise that their owners make a visit to see how it can be done.

Room Tip: Room 3, Fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We arrived at 5.15pm without a reservation and luckily they had a free table, I would strongly recommend booking in advance. The restaurant is beautifully designed, the staff were friendly, the ambiance started off slow and relaxing to buzzing and vibrant by the time we had finished our meal.

The menu was similar to a menu you would find in a traditional pub but with a modern twist to it. I'm one of these people that is fussy when it comes to food, my partner would vouch me on that! So when I read through the menu what a relief it was that there were a lot of food on there that I wanted to try.

I fancied something that was quintessential British comfort food and so I had the Steak, Guinness & mushroom pie, mash, crushed peas, gravy and My partner had an 8oz ribeye steak, chips, tomato, mushroom, garlic butter and fyi the chips are not your average chips (taste them and you'll see why) they were amazing, I ended up polishing them off and they weren't even mine!

We enjoyed the meal so much and even though we were stuffed we couldn't resist the dessert.

Crème brûlée, shortbread, strawberries. It was so divine that i'm salivating just from the memory of it.

Photos of the meal on my blog www.luxehuter.co.uk

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButterflyDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Having stayed 3 nights in room 2, we agree with all the positive comments in previous reviews, so won't repeat them here. One especially good point not mentioned by others. We managed to leave an electric toothbrush behind in our room. Ali, the ever cheerful receptionist, phoned us on the day we left for home to let us know. It arrived in the post the following day! We couldn't believe it!
The only criticism is that it would be helpful to have more space for placing things in both the bedroom and the bathroom. The silver bedside units look very decadent, but are not very practical. There's no hook on the bathroom door, or nearby, and very little space for putting toiletries.
But otherwise, our stay could not have been more enjoyable!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quieter. We had to open the small window in the room (2) and bathroom to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityBoy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay at this very special, decadent and luxurious hotel. When we arrived, we received a warm welcome from Ali who advised us to leave our bags, park our car (a short stroll away) and come back in time for "Champagne Happy Hour" between 5pm and 6pm. Well, our weekend began there!!! What a superb idea. After Ali had shown us to our room (number 12) we knew this hotel was something special. The superb decor and beautiful plum carpets on the way to our room was impressive but when the door to number 12 opened - Gorgeous!!! Huge bed with crisp, clean bedding, real feather pillows and duvet. Ipod dock, hairdryer, straighteners, iron and board, tea and coffee making facilities (real milk), decanter of port and the bathroom was beautiful. Large double shower and claw bath with nice toiletries. Clothes unpacked we meandered to the bar for the Champagne Happy Hour which had a real "buzz" about it, a great atmosphere and lively. We had a table booked for dinner and I had a starter from the specials board and a main from the menu choices. Absolutely delicious. We had a nice bottle of wine to accompany, the service was excellent (thanks Henrietta), very reasonable in price and a very enjoyable evening indeed topped off with drinks in the library. Breakfast was delicious with the staff (Ryan)really personable and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. Saturday night was spent watching Macbeth and then again a quiet couple of drinks upon our return in the Library. The live music on a Sunday night (Mat's birthday) was fabulous with again a very good atmosphere in the bar. All in all an excellent weekend, excellent hotel and we wish Rachel and her team every future success. Without doubt hope to stay with you again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caravanners12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Overall, it's hard to choose between 3 and 4 stars. The Church Street Town House is definitely better than average, certainly in terms of the impact of the decor and a lot of thought that has clearly gone into the whole look of the place. However, in practice, there were a few things that really need to be addressed. We've summed up our thoughts below with the kinds of things we always look out for when booking a place - hope you find it useful! Although we were impressed with the overall decadent look and feel of the place, some of our experiences meant that we'd probably look for somewhere else to stay next time we're in Stratford.

GOOD THINGS:
- stunning and impressive decor - definitely the whole place has a very opulent feel
- cosy and stylish bars
- lovely little extras - port and shortbread; tealights round the bath and lovely toiletries (when they arrived!)
- an excellent location
- great breakfast
- SOME friendly and helpful staff

TO IMPROVE:
- no-one on reception when we arrived, and generally the feeling that there wasn't enough staff
- room 2 is very noisy at night - there is the constant sound of a banging door on the floor below as people go in and out which really disturbed our sleep!
- they had forgotten to put toiletries in our bathroom and we had to go to reception to ask for them
- the bath in room 2's bathroom (which is very spacious and stylish) drained itself - some problem with the plug which meant baths were taken on a timer!!
- confusion with the keys - they gave us both by mistake so then they couldn't clean the room on the first day
- on the second day, the cleaners left a bin bag full of the rubbish from the room bins in our room
- only one vegetarian option on the menu. Although one friendly member of staff said that the dishes could be made to be vegetarian, others weren't so accommodating when I was ordering my adapted versions! I don't eat meat or fish and it was hard to adapt dishes to suit my requirements.
- no bathrobes! At this price level, and at a 'boutique' place, I hoped to be provided with these.
- some profanities could be heard coming from the kitchen at breakfast time!

Room Tip: Room 2 is decorated beautifully; amazing bathroom, but is rather dark and noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucydeGaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickleton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at the hotel just for 1 night for our wedding anniversary. As soon as you arrive the staff are so friendly and welcoming- they can't do enough for you!
The hotel is beautifully decorated and clean & tidy.
The room we stayed in (10) was huge!!! Lots of space to relax in. The bed was very spacey and so comfortable.
In the room we had a complimentary decanter of port and homemade chocolates and shortbreads which was a really nice touch and made the stay feel even more special.
All the little extras that some hotel miss have not been missed here!
I recommend eating at the hotel the food was gorgeous and the breakfast the next day was really good also.
I great hotel we had a fab time, i would really recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fashionbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#17 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Arden Hotel
The Arden Hotel
#2 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 986 reviews
1.6 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: 16 Church Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Townhouse 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished boutique hotel is housed in a 400 year old listed building in the heart of Stratford upon Avon. Located opposite Shakespeare's school, among the ancient half-timbered buildings the town is famous for and only 2 minute's walk to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre. This is THE place for a pre-theatre supper - local pianists play at 5.30pm daily and the atmosphere is great. The 12 funky en-suite bedrooms vary in size, cost and view. Try for a room at the front of the building for the perfect view. Great food is served all day, through till 10pm in this buzzy neighbourhood bistro with Afternoon Tea a particular favorite. Champagne Happy Hour is every Friday at 5pm and the bar is packed with a great, upmarket local crowd. The staff make the place and nothing is too much trouble. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street Townhouse Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Townhouse Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing