We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Superb ....... as always”
Review of No 9 Church St

No 9 Church St
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $70
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located between the commercial centre and the heart of Stratford upon Avon’s “Old Town”, No9. Church St. is a grade II listed building dating back over 400 years.Renovated and refurbished to make the most of its original features and character the building is now home to Stratford’s latest addition to its vibrant and diverse restaurant scene.No.9 Church St. is the brain child of Wayne Thomson and Dan Robinson, friends and colleagues for the last 10 years and with over 30 years of culinary experience between them. Their aim is to make No.9 Church St. a town centre restaurant with a neighbourhood feel...serving seasonal British food with a contemporary twist in a relaxed environment with informal yet professional staff, the wine list will feature some fantastic Artisan wines at sensible prices.A unique feature of the restaurant will be Upstairs at No9. A private dining room offering bespoke, tailored menus and a dedicated Butler service to parties of up to 10 people, although larger parties can be catered for in the main restaurant by prior booking.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Superb ....... as always”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

No 9 offered a great choice on their Father's Day menu today. It was difficult to choose as everything sounded so tempting. The starter of crab and king prawn linguine with ginger and spring onion was outstanding and we would happily enjoy this as a main. The main course of herb crusted hake was much enjoyed as was the chicken breast with griddled summer vegetables and pesto new potatoes. The traditional roast of beef was as good as usual. Lovely flavours with every bite. My daughter's chocolate pudding with the rocky road leading to the ice cream also received huge praise and all the dishes we had today were presented beautifully on the plate. Such imaginative food. It is a real pleasure to visit No 9. See you again soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    143
    37
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delightful restaurant with friendly staff and excellent food.”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was a return visit for two of our party of four and the surroundings and food did not disappoint. Substantial portions and good prices. We were there for a leisurely lunch and it was a perfect setting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rsarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Outstanding meal!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

On our most recent visit to Stratford-upon-Avon my husband and I decided to try No 9, so glad we did. First, the building is beautiful, lovely atmosphere. Our service was excellent, our waitress was very friendly and made great recommendations. The meals we had were incredible, from starter to main to dessert. Presentation was wonderful and the flavours, amazing! We would happily go back again next time we're in town!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“Reliable pre-theatre dining”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stratford-upon-Avon is not a culinary hotspot and as regulars at the RST over many years we have rarely come across anywhere serving good food at reasonable prices before and after shows. A recent meal at No 9 Church Street suggests that we may have identified a reliable restaurant for future occasions.

Situated barely 10 minutes walk from the RST, among the more photogenic buildings of the town centre, No 9 has a small bar on the ground floor (which we didn't try) and a slightly larger dining room on the first floor split into separate sections. The room we were in was light and airy but not especially distinctive and my wife thought it might not be sufficiently comfortable were we to be planning a more leisurely evening.

Service is very pleasant and willing; the restaurant is accustomed to its early diners needing to be out in good time for 7.15 starts at the RST and timings ensure this is comfortably achieved. The pre-theatre menu at £13/£17.50 for 2 or 3 courses represents exceptional value as does the list of wines, most priced under £25 and many available by small or large glass.

I started with fish cakes which came as 3 small balls with a bulgur wheat casing which gave them quite a springy consistency. With a few salad leaves and an accompanying oily salsa of cucumber and spring onion they were a promising beginning. My wife's skewer of chicken was a generous portion as was the accompanying peanut sauce, sufficient tasty too for her to lick the plate clean.

Her main course, a bavette steak served medium-rare with tomatoes and good, home-made chips (definitely not French fries, these) was another hearty plateful. While I enjoyed my fried sea-bass fillet, it was not as generous a portion as the accompanying pepper and tomato stew and with hindsight I should also have ordered some potatoes to mop up this and the dabs of Romesco sauce on the plate.

For both of us the dessert was the highlight of the meal. We both opted for the baked egg custard wth rhubarb which was a simple dish but both delicious and refreshing.

A total bill of £50, including tip, was an excellent price for 2 3-course meals and my wife's large glass of sparkling Italian wine and a smaller one of Tempranillo. We will certainly return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaDolceVita27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing food, we will be back,”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were made to feel very welcome and all the staff were extremely friendly. The food was truly amazing and very good value, we will definitely be going back, remember to leave room for a pudding which was like a piece of heaven on a plate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No 9 Church St also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to No 9 Church St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing