We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebration Sunday Lunch - Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of No 9 Church St

No 9 Church St
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $69
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located between the commercial centre and the heart of Stratford upon Avon’s “Old Town”, No9. Church St. is a grade II listed building dating back over 400 years.Renovated and refurbished to make the most of its original features and character the building is now home to Stratford’s latest addition to its vibrant and diverse restaurant scene.No.9 Church St. is the brain child of Wayne Thomson and Dan Robinson, friends and colleagues for the last 10 years and with over 30 years of culinary experience between them. Their aim is to make No.9 Church St. a town centre restaurant with a neighbourhood feel...serving seasonal British food with a contemporary twist in a relaxed environment with informal yet professional staff, the wine list will feature some fantastic Artisan wines at sensible prices.A unique feature of the restaurant will be Upstairs at No9. A private dining room offering bespoke, tailored menus and a dedicated Butler service to parties of up to 10 people, although larger parties can be catered for in the main restaurant by prior booking.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Celebration Sunday Lunch - Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Was recommended to No 9 Church Street by family member. I knew it was going to be good from the moment I made the booking with really helpful guy who explained the menu and knew all about the local parking. We went for a birthday celebration and the moment we sat down the birthday girl was given a complimentary glass of something sparkling which I thought was a really nice gesture. The food was good and although the menu wasn't huge there was a good variety. We all had difficulty choosing. The Sunday roast - beef - was delicious with excellent Yorkshires.. The staff were both charming and attentive and the surroundings lovely. Not overdone or pretentious - just right. Bread and two flavours of butter were a nice touch too. Would definitely go back and recommend to anyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    138
    36
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Probably the best restaurant in Stratford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Having eaten here a couple of times we chose No.9 for a family celebration. When we booked for nine we were offered their private room at no extra charge. A lovely room on its own on the top floor with a large round table perfect for our group so that everyone could chat easily to everyone else and we didn't feel we were disturbing other diners.

The food was, as always, excellent. A much higher standard than a good gastro pub for much the same kind of price. Service was attentive but unobtrusive so that we managed to spin the meal out for the whole evening

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“10-4-9 !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

A most agreeable evening at No:9 with family in their private room. High standards of food, wine and service were matched by the fine ambience of the sympathetically restored old building that is No.9!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chicafri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food - great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've eaten here a few times now and each time was very good. It’s a little more expensive than other places to eat out but I've never been disappointed.

Definitely recommend this place for a nice treat, rather than a quick bit to eat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa38_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Consistently good food & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We are regular customers, having started dining here just after the restaurant opened. We eat out a lot and No 9 is our favourite restaurant in the Stratford area. We dined here three times between December and mid February and the meals and service were consistently good. We've also dined in the private room which is great for a large group. If anything our only slightly adverse comment would be that we'd like to see more changes between the monthly menus as we would eat here even more often. I am somewhat bemused by the review stating the restaurant manager - whose name is Matt not Mark - was arrogant as we have always found him extremely helpful and friendly as are all the staff. On our last visit we overheard the waitress trying to be as helpful as possible to a diner with specific dietary requirements even saying after offering a number of alternatives "tell us what you want/can eat and I'll see if we can make it" which isn't a typical response in many restaurants. We would not hesitate to recommend No 9.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FHR97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No 9 Church St also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to No 9 Church St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing