We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, shame about the hot water”
Review of The Arden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Arden Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at the Arden for 2 nights (27-29th Sep). The hotel is in a superb location (opposite the RSC) and the staff are very efficient. We stayed in the Monkey Puzzle room which was beautifully furnished and really well equipped. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the Friday and the food was made to a great standard and the staff were excellent. Both mornings the breakfasts were of a high standard.
Unfortunately on the Saturday afternoon we found that we had no hot water. A call to reception and a staff member was with us immediately. The water came out hot but reverted back to being lukewarm. We were unable to shower later that night due to the water being cold. Again we had the same problem on the Sunday morning and the water was freezing.
The Monkey Puzzle room is situated above the restaurant which on the Saturday was being used as a function room for a wedding. The disco didn't finish until midnight so we couldn't go to sleep until then. We then got woken up by the staff putting the room back together for breakfast the next morning. It was clear that we were not members of the wedding party so why we were given a room directly above it is beyond me.
We mentioned again the water on checkout and the receptionist took £50 off our bill without any argument. A kind gesture but I would have rather have been able to shower!
All in all, a nice hotel in a great location let down by faulty plumbing. Also, if you book a room, it would be worth checking with them to see if there is a function on and request a room at the rear.

Room Tip: Get one as far away from the restaurant if there is a function on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Motorhead13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Located straight across the road from the RSC this is the ideal place to stay for those attending the theatre. Free parking and wi-fi are included with the former particularly welcome in this regulated town. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The bathroom has both walk-in shower bad large bath with excellent amenities. Coffee/tea/chocolate making facilities are in the room together with fresh milk in the fridge. Breakfasts are buffet style with hot dishes brought to the table by attentive staff.

Reception staff are welcoming and professional. We will return for the 2014 season

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SueKot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

My Wife and I stayed here for a night post wedding day. All I can say is WOW!!! What an amazing Hotel. Staff were extremely friendly, food was fab, room was lovely. The whole experience was a joy. We can not reccomend the Hotel and staff highly enough. AMAZING!! We look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devilshaircut007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful long weekend at the Arden Hotel, Stratford upon Avon. We were met on arrival by Paul who welcomed us, unloaded the car and took the luggage to our room, he also checked us in, so it was all very quick and efficient. We booked a wheelchair accessible room with a wonderful wet room, this was ideal for my husband, the only down side to the room was the bed, although really comfortable, it was very low, this makes it difficult for anyone with leg problems to get in and out of bed without being lifted.

We ate in the restaurant on our first night, the food, although not very big portions, was very good and the prices were very reasonable. The food would have benefited from being a little bit hotter. The breakfast was good with the usual help yourself to cereal, fruit, yogurts, pastries etc.and then they bring you your freshly cooked breakfast with as much toast, coffee, fruit juice as you can manage.

The staff were all very friendly and made us feel most welcome.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable, as was the rest of the hotel.

There was free coffee/tea for residents to help themselves to in the lounge.

The car park is big and free. These days when everyone seems to charge for parking it was a real bonus.

I would definately stay there again and have no reservation about recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PussUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed at the Arden for our first wedding anniversary on 1st September for one night. Upon arrival we were immediately impressed by the friendly, and genuinely cheerful, receptionist. We were shown to our room, on the ground floor; whilst this did not have a view of anything other than the car park, this was of no concern to us and we thought the room was lovely. The king-size bed was wonderful, the room a fantastic size and the bathroom surprisingly huge, with probably the largest bathtub I’ve ever seen! The tea/coffee tray was much appreciated, even more so the fresh milk in the mini-fridge. An additional, and very nice, added touch was an anniversary card left for us by the hotel staff – we felt that this was very thoughtful.
We didn’t eat at the hotel’s own restaurant as, once we had settled in, we opted to spend the remainder of the day exploring Stratford and its rich history. We did however enjoy the breakfast the following morning, which had options to suit any tastes – we were given plentiful slices of toast to start with and I opted for the full English as my ‘main’ breakfast, whilst my wife opted for an omelette – definitely no complaints in this area; the full English breakfast was delicious, although I will (reluctantly) admit that, as someone with a large appetite, I did find the portion slightly small and not quite sufficient to tide me over until lunchtime as many I have had in the past have been.
We both slept well in the very comfortable bed, and almost overslept courtesy of the wonderful bed and peaceful room. I only had one, very small, issue with the room – the door into the room was very difficult - the key/lock was quite uncooperative and it took several attempts to gain entry to the room – it was a little embarrassing standing in the corridor fighting with the door!
The staff continued to be very accommodating even after we had technically departed, allowing us to leave our car in their free car park for a few extra hours, saving us the tedium of driving around the busy town centre searching for a parking space.
All-in-all, a lovely stay and a memorable first anniversary – we hope to return soon and certainly wouldn’t consider looking at anywhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurandy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here because we had RSC tickets and didn't fancy the drive home.Free parking was an excellent bonus. The room was good.All of the female reception staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming.The tall man hovering in the reception area was less so. Good standard bathrooms, Orla Kiely toiletries and bathrobes. One of the bath towels was past its best and there was some dust on curtains but generally the rooms were very clean. We had a good breakfast and found the waiting staff to be courteous and efficient. Excellent pillows and good beds meant that we slept well. We were very pleased to have tea and coffee facilities in the room and fresh milk in the fridge (why don't ALL hotels do this?). We will definitely stay again when we next visit Stratford.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BertieFisher13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Arden could not be better located - right opposite the RSC Theatre, with lovely rooms, all with individual names, and car parking just behind the hotel. We went to 'As you Like it' at the RSC and our room was so close we went back there for interval drinks! That having been said, the service was (with one exception - a breakfast waitress either through inexperience or otherwise was a little obtrusive and insisted on taking our order even though I was in the middle of speaking to my husband) very good. When we checked out on the Sunday I was welcome to remain in the members' lounge and read the Sunday papers while waiting for my husband. The rooms had desk fans - but no air conditioning - we had the fan on in the night so that was fine. Beds v comfortable and fridge had free small bottles of water and milk. It is, however, expensive, and we would have appreciated having a loyalty scheme so that we can be lured to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BGCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,911 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#8 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,038 reviews
1.5 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arden Hotel

Address: 44 Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#3 Business Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
#4 Family Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $120 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Arden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Stratford-upon-Avon, directly opposite the world-renowned Royal Shakespeare Company Theatres, the Arden Hotel has undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment to create an elegant and sophisticated 45-bedroom boutique-style hotel. The transformed Arden Hotel opened its doors in July 2010, and is fast becoming the flagship destination in the redeveloped World Class Stratford, enticing Shakespeare aficionados and theatre-goers from all over the globe.The luxuriously renovated Arden boasts the chic new Waterside Brasserie, a stylish Champagne Bar and spacious suites with beautiful views over the River Avon, providing an inspirational backdrop for your trip, whether for business or pleasure.Set in glorious Warwickshire, the Arden Hotel with its large car park is an ideal base for exploring some of England’s most famous and picturesque countryside, including the charming villages of the Cotswolds, the bountiful Vale of Evesham and the ancient market town of Warwick with its awe-inspiring castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Arden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arden Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing