We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Arden Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$91
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The White Swan Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ettington Park Hotel(Alderminster)
$119
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Billesley Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
$177
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Macdonald Alveston Manor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$176
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stratford Limes Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stratford, A QHotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$109
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe(Stratford-upon-Avon)
$124
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$85
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
$133
$67
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,233)
Filter reviews
1,233 results
Traveler rating
824
307
78
20
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
824
307
78
20
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivermonkey puzzlechampagne bardirectly opposite the rscwaterside brasseriemaster roomcar parkrsc theatrelovely hotelpre theatreturn down servicefresh milk in the fridgeperfect locationhuge bathroomroyal shakespeare companysuperior roomwalk in shower
Filter
Updating list...
784 - 789 of 1,233 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went for a pre theatre meal at the Arden Hotel and were delighted with the tasty meal and the decor and the excellent service we received from the staff, they were both welcoming and attentive, the quality of the food was excellent and the food was presented well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife, daughter and I recently stayed at the Arden in Stratford-upon-Avon. I had high hopes for the hotel after reading favorable reviews, and I was not disappointed. The hotel is located directly across from the Royal Shakespeare Theatre, and only a short walk to the center of town. It is also only a short driving distance to the
Cotswalds. Our room was quite spacious and offered all of the touches one expects to find at a luxurious hotel. The room charge included a full sumptuous breakfast that was one of the best we had in our 17 day trek through England. And the concierge was extremely helpful in booking tours to nearby attractions as well as assisting us with our laundry. All in all, the Arden is a 4 star hotel that delivers in every way.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuscantraveler9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Another visit to Stratford upon Avon and to one of our favourite hotels, the Arden – on this occasion we were allocated the "Monkey Puzzle" room facing directly onto the theatre and the river behind.

Little has changed since our previous visits:

- Superb location facing the RSC and the river – spacious car park at no additional cost – Wi-Fi at no additional cost
- Pleasant gardens and terrace - undulating corridors, pleasant decor and creaky floorboards throught the hotel
- Comfortable room with large comfortable bed
- Plenty of cupboard space – separate sitting area and tea making facilities
- Large bathroom with plenty of toiletries and fluffy towels and robes - separate bath and walk in power shower
- Very good breakfasts – pleasant terrace to sit and enjoy a drink during the day and into the evening
- Friendly and helpful staff throughout the hotel

This was our last opportunity for a short break before the end of the summer holidays – we really enjoyed our stay and were more than a little sad to be leaving.

This is a hotel we look forward to returning to for many years to come

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sub_three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

After a long train ride from London we finally found this lovely old historic hotel. Be aware it is far more than a 15 min walk from the train station if carrying luggage!!! Find a cab!!!!
Check in was effortless and our room was lovely and very spacious. All of my allergy needs were addressed. I had spoken directly with a hotel a few times and although it was not an issue for us, we should have been alerted that there is a flight of stairs going down to the restaurant, 4 steps up to first level of rooms, another 4 steps to another level and 4 steps down to our room....plus a step going from our room to the bathrooms!! (The last scaring me that in the middle of the night I would miss that step!!) ..the room was huge and nicely decorated. The only thing missing was a clock bedside. It was wonderful having a huge water closet with a sink on one side of the hallway and a tremendously large double sink, double shower and huge tub across the other side of the hallway. Wonderful use of space- especially when 3 are trying to get ready!
Breakfast options were fine and plentiful however the dinners left a lot to be desired. My chicken was underdone (I had ordered it well done) and tasteless. None of us enjoyed our meal and found much better options in town.
Several steps again to go out to the street but great location. A nice easy stroll to town and shops and a 30 second walk across the street to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre! Also a very easy stroll to The Holy Trinity Church where Shakespeare is buried. across from a lovely lake where you can rent boats.
One last comment about the hotel.. I arrived back one evening from dinner a little sore from all our sightseeing and asked at the front desk for an ice bucket...1/2 hr later called and asked again plus for a roll of toilet paper and then a third time before I received either- I think over an hour wait is excessive for anything especially at 8:30 at night when
things were fairly quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trudy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great to have parking in the town centre. Brilliant location for the theatre and for exploring the town. Loved the "turn down" in the evening. Would certainly go again when going to the theatre. Enjoyed the afternoon tea in the lounge - great tea pot! Lovely gardens where I was able to sit and read, sew and watch the world go by. Just the break I was looking for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews