We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Little Local in Stratford” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Thatch Tavern

Old Thatch Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Thatched, low beamed and flag stone floor tavern. Dates from 1470 and has many original features. Log fires., Lovely leaded windows and a cosy atmosphere.
Port Talbot,South Wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Our Little Local in Stratford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Whenever we stay in Stratford this is the first pub we walk into.Great Oldy Worlde feeling,and a good pint.Have never ate here as it is a bit small,but smells good!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wolfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    209
    57
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely home made food and very friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Although this pub is small, it is so friendly and homely. It's right in the centre of town with parking nearby and easy to find. Had a lovely meal and would definitely go back. As it is so small it's best to book in advance.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank louthemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We attended this pub for the first night of a few days away in stratford upon avon. My parents had visited for a drink earlier in the day and were impressed so reserved a table. We arrived and were greeted by a friendly male member of staff who showed us to a table which had been set up for us. The menu consisted of traditional english pub food. I opted for fish chips and mushy peas with bread and butter. the food was delicious and portions generous. I was too full for a dessert but my partner ordered lemon meringue pie. I had a forkful and it was gorgeous! I also had a glass of port which was lovely and reasonably priced. I would have rated this 5/5 however the waitress took almost 15 minutes to clear the table (clearing half the plates away then coming back 15 minutes later to clear the other half) Also my brother ordered a glass of coke which we had to remind the staff about. Aside from these two minor criticisms highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma8630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

After seeing the reviews on Tripadvisor, my husband, son and myself visited this restaurant during a weekend stay in Stratford. We arrived without booking to be told that that they were fully booked. The waitress could see we were very dissapointed so she spoke to her colleague and between them managed to accommodate us. We were so glad they did, the meal was wonderful and such good value! The restaurant itself is so cosy and with such welcoming staff we will definately return on our next visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LW1467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“just popped in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This looked so inviting from the outside we just had to go in and sample the nectar!! My husband hates shopping so the deal is 3 shops then 1 drink - works a treat!! On entering here it was like a step back in time, very nice, the food aroma was excellent and the choice of drinks was amazing... it was packed with diners, some even being turned away because it was so so busy. Bar staff and people around us were all very polite and will hav a meal here on our next visit....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoviD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Thatch Tavern also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Old Thatch Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing