We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Relax whilst enjoying our river views and peaceful surroundings.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax whilst enjoying our river views and peaceful surroundings.
Wonderful romantic riverside location Private River Taxi 10mins into the Centre of Stratford Upon Avon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
Relax whilst enjoying our river views and peaceful surroundings.
Wonderful romantic riverside location
Private River Taxi 10mins into the Centre of Stratford Upon Avon
Riverside Balcony
Waterside views
Picnic, unwind and relax, whilst watching the world go by gently by.
Rowers passing the lodge
Children love exploring
Idyllic and tranquil.
Access to the clubhouse and restaurant
Relax, whilst enjoying the river view
Well appointed kitchen
Relax in the spacious lounge.
Bathroom toilet with shower and bath
Twin beds in bedroom 2
On suite, from Bedroom 1
On suite, from Bedroom 1
Double bed in Bedroom 1
Relaxing lounge and river view
Picturesque views
Visit the world famous RSC Royal Shakespeare Company
A statue of Hamlet in the Town centre
Heritage buildings and wonderful street life of  Stratford Upon Avon.
The canal festival
City Tours
Regular events
Historic places to visit, for lovers of Shakespeare
Local Tourist information
Historic places to visit, for lovers of Shakespeare
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
50sclub
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning place to stay”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The location of this lodge was superb and it was of high standard throughout. The club house was incredible, for its structure, location, food and service. Stratford was beautiful and a delightful place to browse, we did it all on foot!
Only downsides... Boat was not keen to stop to pick us up as it is not a planned stop and also the lodge is on a holiday park which although it was not an issue this is not made clear on the specifications.
We would love to stay here again one day .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views, peace and club house meal
Liked least: Being part of holiday park.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2015
Very, many thanks for writing a Review. Glad that you had a great time in Stratford and that you liked the Location of the Lodge & the new £2m Clubhouse . On a future Booking - Please ask for a Discount for leaving our place so clean and tidy. Thank you. C&J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsaylu...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL HOME-FROM-HOME ESCAPE TO DIE FOR......”
Reviewed February 14, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted to get away over new year and this was a 'get away' we dreamed it would be. From the outset, the couple who were renting it were incredibly accommodating and helpful as we explained our family circumstances. The 'cottage' is RIGHT by the river and the views were incredibly pretty. There was a fabulous of Bucks Fizz for new year and some lovely biscuits and a some lovely Christmassy details that were seasonally most welcoming. The heating made the cottage cosy and warm and it had plenty of room for us both. Even when we welcomed some friends for a walk and lunch, there was space enough so if we HAD been 4, I'm sure it would have been just fine. We found the walk in to Stratford rather cold so used the car to drive into the town. We saw a play at the RSC on New year's day and went to the quaint, local cinema too. There was plenty to keep us occupied even in the cold winter, and we would thoroughly recommend it to all....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The locality and its homeliness
Liked least: We couldn't get the wifi in the end but it was meant to be a break........
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2015
We are pleased to hear you are planning to return for the New Year and hope that you will have another happy stay. We are offering you a 10% Discount on any future Booking to say "Thank you"for leaving our Lodge so clean and tidy.
Thank you,again,for booking
A Midsummer Night's Dream Lodge in Stratford-Upon-Avon ID 161313
We do hope that you will visit our new property in Windermere named after Walter Scott's Poem
The Lady of The Lake (Windermere View) ID 5811916
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martyn H
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What an amazing place.....”
Reviewed December 7, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed here for one night for a Christmas shopping weekend with our friends. The lodge is ideally placed and a short stroll from the centre of Stratford. It was very clean and well furnished, to a far higher standard than we expected. The view from the lodge is excellent with unspoilt views of the river. It was so peaceful but also nice to wake up to the sounds of the geese on the river. The communication from Christine has been excellent and really helpful to make the most of our stay. The only downside was that we only booked one night!!! We look forward to our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, cleanliness and the overall environment
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2014
Thank you for writing a Review which will be useful for other Trip Advisor travellers.So glad that you liked the Lodge and enjoyed a Christmas Shopping Spree in Stratford. We look forward to welcoming you again to A Midsummer Night's Dream Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timeoutqu...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven by the River”
Reviewed November 9, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

OMG....... What a fabulous find. I cannot say enough good things about A Midsummer Nights Dream Lodge on the River Avon and the Owner Chris and James Burn, not forgetting their wonderful Domestic & Friend Briget.

We enjoyed every minute staying at this beautiful Lodge in Rayford Park.
Rooms are all tastefully decorated to an extremely high standard and are very welcoming.
The Lodge was spotlessly clean and was one of the best equipped with everything you need for a relaxing or if you wish active break - there's also a washing machine and dishwasher to minimise household chores during your stay.
(Please remember to Bring your own Towels) Cream carpets so bring slippers or there is some in cupboard at front of the house.
It's a warm cosy Lodge in an idyllic location setting of the riverside setting was superb: quiet, beautiful and romantic.
I could have spent all the time watching the life that passed up and down the river both wildlife ( Ducks and Canadian Geese) and lovely people.

The lodge was spacious, comfortable the perfect place for rest and relaxation and an ideal base for exploring the beautiful villages and towns in the area.
The cottage was full of character, with a large garden,space The property is moments away from the centre of Stratford-Upon-Avon you can at a dining establishment within 5 minutes on foot. A minute more and you can be exploring the shops and a well earned rest in plenty of Tea & Coffee Shops.

Stratford is a lovely place to visit for a weekend break. We had a great time, and our stay was enhanced by the loveliness of our fantastic accommodation.
The perfect place for rest and relaxation and an ideal base for exploring the beautiful villages and towns in the area.

Information for the details of the rental and information about the surrounding area. This one even included a local contact (yes, a real person) that would be available to help us out in an emergency. This is a first!

Really totally surprised by the care received from Chris & James (the owners) both before and during the stay. Emails were returned promptly and the level of attention with quite amazing first class 5*
This is a light and airy sited Lodge home with 5 steps up to the front, so please be minded of this if you are disabled, I was ok, as I could make the steps with help. It`s at the end of a gravel drive concealed from the road, ideal for a couple ( Double Room) and 2 singles (Twin Bedroom).
The Lodge has a full size kitchen with fridge freezer and full size cooker with Fan Assisted Oven.
This setting is ideal for those looking for a countryside setting yet a short drive from civilisation and amazing shopping in Stratford.
We went to the pictures on the Saturday night great cinema, not like the huge ones you get in the city.
I`ll just mention that there is Disabled Parking in Union St if you want to drive into town and also on Waterside Road which is where the RSC Theatre is.
Post Office is in Henley Street as are the various Banks close by.

Our time passed too quickly fantastic and memorable stay and look forward to another visit and we are looking forward to a return trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, Peace and Quite
Liked least: Could do with a couple of Pyrex dishes, small and large one.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2014
Simply the Best Review we have ever received - both for our Lodge in its heavenly location and our good friend Bridget who looks after the Lodge so well. We will pass your kind comments on to her. Many thanks for leaving the place clean and tidy. Please ask for a Loyalty Discount of 10% on a future Booking. Kind Regards, Christine and James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenCunlif...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxation, relaxation, relaxation...”
Reviewed October 31, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had the most amazing time! We were already impressed before our arrival, due to the outstanding level of customer service, but when we arrived ( a day early offered at a reduced rate as the lodge was empty), we were delighted to find that the lodge was beautiful and spotlessly clean, a real home from home! The setting, although autumnal, can only be described as idyllic: the site was very quiet and the view, from the front windows, looking out over the river was lovely. Ideal when reading a good book and sipping a nice glass of wine.

During our stay, we visited Stratford, ate at the rooftop restaurant at the RSC ( very reasonable at £25 for three courses) and watched Loves Labours Lost, which was magnificent.

We also wholeheartedly recommend The Crown in Tiddington, just about a 10 minute walk up the road, which has very friendly staff and lovely food, (Especially the gammon).

All in all, we had a relaxing week, with beautiful food, good wine and amazing customer service, we arrived home just today feeling thoroughly spoilt!

Thank you so much Chris and James, we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views and quiet setting.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2014
Very many thanks for your generous comments and helpful Info for fellow Trip Advisor Travellers.From your Review visitors can gain a clear picture of a holiday in Stratford and all that it has to offer - including the RSC Theatre & Restaurant and your trip to the local, Crown Pub - just a stroll away and handy for village shops.We would like to offer you a 10% Loyalty Discount for leaving our Lodge so beautiful. Kind Regards, Christine & James
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maughan16...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to stay anytime of the year”
Reviewed October 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Just returned for another wonderful stay at Midsummer Nights Dream Lodge. Five day stay in October - the weather was very mixed some rain and strong winds but also some sunny days. The weather does not really matter in fact is some ways it adds to the beauty of the surroundings as you see the river in all its moods. There is always something good to see from the lodge windows or balcony and there are so many places of interest to visit close at hand and of course the fantastic Royal Shakespeare Theatre just a short river taxi ride away. Even when it was stormy weather outside inside the lodge it was warm, cosy, clean and very welcoming. It is fast becoming our home away from home.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2014
Thank you for sending in this delightful Review- a great help to Trip Advisor travellers who will appreciate your honest comments.Stratford Upon Avon has EVERYTHING - the RSC Theatres, Shakespeare's Birthplace, the 800 year old Holy Trinity Church where the Bard is buried, beautiful countryside, super shops and fabulous restaurants.Whatever the weather it is a brilliant place to be.We hope to welcome you back in 2015.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josephine...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not just a midsummer dream but an autumn one too!”
Reviewed October 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful and peaceful setting, easy to get to Stratford by boat, car or on foot, very comfortable accommodation.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2014
Many thanks for your charming comments. Thank you for leaving the Lodge so clean & tidy. Please ask us for a 10% Loyalty Discount when you revisit A Midsummer Nights Dream Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing