We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, well located, cheap but cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value, well located, cheap but cheerful”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was worried about staying here following the other reviews but I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were basic but clean and it was well located for getting into town.

The downside was that depending on which side of your hotel is on the rooms can get unbearably hot. I was lucky but the other people in my party had problems with this.

The staff were very accommodating and friendly.

Having stayed in a few Travelodge hotels this is by far the best one. Don't expect 5* luxury for a 2* price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dm342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    269
    145
    72
    66
See reviews for
182
373
33
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with 2 other couples for 1 night and chose this based on price for a base to get ready and sleep. As others say nothing exciting hotel on industrial estate type location but done the job. Clean hotel with pleasant staff. The room we had was huge on the second floor (219) compared to the other couples but there's was adequate for their needs. There is one thing I would say and that was the heat, the hotel was roasting but we were offered fans if needed. Location wise was about 15mins walk into the centre and 5 mins by taxi/car so not too bad. We used taxis and averaged £6-£8 so nothing between 6 of us. I would
recommend for a cheap, clean no frills base and sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmaduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
179 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night and were impressed by the hotel. As its a budget chain there are no frills (so bring your own toiletries and hairdryer), however, its a spotlessly clean hotel, friendly staff, onsite parking and a short walk outside of Stratford. Our room was large and clean, we had a great nights sleep, no noise at all. Breakfast was ok, there is a small range of cooked items and the usual cereal and yoghurts and fruit. There is an Aldi, Pizza Chain, Tesco all within paces of the hotel for buying snacks / food / drinks to sustain you throughout the day, if needed! We paid less than £60 for the hotel, which included parking. We walked into and out of Stratford and had a fab couple of days. I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is good - only a 15 minute walk into the town. The free and ample parking is a bonus. However there the positives end. In summer, this hotel is unbearable - and it was a typically rainy August day when we checked in! It feels like a room in Spain or Italy without air con due to the lack of ventilation anywhere in the building and windows you can barely open. The manager was very helpful and gave us a fan but admitted the building was poorly designed and if we thought it was bad on the first floor, we should try the third floor! I can't see why Travelodge can't make some changes to the building to get the air circulating. My friends were so hot they left at 9am despite having been at a wedding the night before. The rooms are very basic (no bath mat, shower gel, limited TV channels etc) and the lady working at the bar was nothing short of disastrous; spilling, dropping, breaking and forgetting. I really wouldn't recommend this hotel I'm afraid.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinky82_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Pinky82_10, we are sorry to learn that you were unable to get a good night sleep due to the temperature in your room. Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning in all of our hotels; however as you are aware we do have a number of fans available from reception. As standard we do not provide toiletries in any of our hotels although we do offer the option to purchase extra toiletries from our vending machines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

A travelodge pretty much identical to all travelodges, you could be anywhere in the UK! Which is a shame as Stratford upon Avon is so charming. You get none of that atmosphere at the travelodge. However if you just want somewhere good value, clean and comfy to stay, with good breakfast and free parking, then this is your place! More like a 20 minute walk into town though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojito75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Lovely travelodge, ideally situated for all attractions and the town centre can be reached by foot in 15 minutes, free car parking at the travelodge. The only downside was that the room was hot as no air conditioning but we asked for a fan and one was supplied and did the job.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stratford is an absolute tourist trap which charges £4 for 2 hours' parking. This large property on the edge of the town cost £38 for a large room with a king-sized and 2 single beds, free parking plus an excellent breakfast for four (kids eat free with paying adults). The kids thought the breakfast was amazing - full English followed by croissants with chocolate spread, but there was also fruit, cereal and a multitude of coffees and teas. The eating area looked new and was immaculate. As usual, check-in and out was a breeze. Well done once again, Travelodge! (Though you should have a loyalty programme by now).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#6 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Central Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#9 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#8 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#18 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
1.8 mi away
Stratford Limes Hotel
Stratford Limes Hotel
#1 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon

Property: Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon
Address: 261 Birmingham Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 0BF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
Stratford Upon Avon Travelodge
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing