We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slooowww...”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
wisconsin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Slooowww...”
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for lunch. Although the food was fine, it took over an hour for our order to come to the table (just soup & sandwiches.)The server never checked on us between then & delivering our first round of drinks. By the time we got our food, our drinks were long gone, so we had to eat while we waited another extraoridinary amount of time for new drinks to be delivered. All in all, not a tremendously relaxing & enjoyable lunch in Stratford upon Avon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank c4ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    186
    90
    39
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dad experience”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My Daughter dicided to take me out for fathers day Lunch she chose this restaurant as we had been before and enjoyed the past experience but on this occassion it was a total mess their was 5 of us altogther me and my daughter ordered the sunday roast beef but it came out cold the roast potatoes had been cooked in the deep fat fryer and that was more than 30minutes after they had cleared our starter plates away I complained about that in which they offered to heat up the food but I do not like microwave food my grandson had Pizza but it was that tough he need a steak knife to cut it up my grandaughter had the chicken bacon cheese the bacon was tough as was the chicken the salad had some dressing on it in which she did not like and was not asked if she wanted any dressing on my daughters partner had the mixed grill but found this just tepid it was not as if they were excepually busy the whole experience was a total disaster in which I would not like to experience again it will sometime before we return and then it will only be after we hear that things have improved so be warned.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennisbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GREAT BEER GARDEN”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Called in on our walk around stratford sat in the beer garden for a couple of drinks soaking up the sun. Although we did not eat here the food looked very nice and the service was good.
We called later in the evening and enjoyed more drinks

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice.”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Having arrived in Stratford in the early evening after a 5 hour drive we spotted this Table Table pub sort and thought we would try it. It was packed out but we were found a table within a few minutes but were warned that there may be a 45 min wait for food. We said ok and sat and pondered the menu. Our food was good for this type of place and we enjoyed it. The staff were very busy but weren't that attentive. Maybe not enough table staff for a place this size. Had to go to find a member of staff in order to get the bill and we weren't asked out desserts. Never mind we were filled up. One word of warning. There was a £2 charge for parking which is refundable if you remember to tell them when you pay your bill.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scottfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not just a pub, comes with lots of tlc too!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I are locals, just living up the road from this pub, and use it several times a month. Last night we needed to recover from a particularly sad funeral and decided the Red Lion was the place to go.

How right we were! Alastair, who is always really efficient and attentive, bent over backwards to help us have the evening we needed. We came away feeling "put together" again after enjoying delicious, tasty, well cooked food served by a dear waitress called Izzy.

So thank you everyone! We'll see you again very soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamlet25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing