We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a saviour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avon Spice

Avon Spice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“What a saviour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

What a saviour this restaurant ticks the boxes, Avon Spice is a small Indian restaurant in Stratford-upon-Avon. It is on the edge of town but right next to a very nice hotel - The Stratford Victoria.
Staff brisk efficient and were incredibly accommodating, friendly and understanding.
The food is the best and most authentic you will find at a very reasonable price with a number of really good special offers and set dinners, added to which there is a good choice on the menu to suit all discerning tastes.
One surprise for us, was the discovery of an Indian wine range called "Soul Tree" recommended by the staff, Fabulous I had the Rose and my friend had the White. The food was great really fresh, decent size portions.more than enough. The owner & chef are always about, to help you if needed ,with your selections.

In all excellent food, great customer service - the staff, especially the manager, took pride and joy in serving excellent and seeing us enjoy it. We will go back...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Timeoutqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    67
    26
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Ate here last night after reading others reviews. We hadn't booked and it was quite busy when we arrived. However they quickly seated us. Decor is a little tired and we obviously had the worst table in the restaurant as it was right next to the kitchen door. However, staff are really nice and the food is amazing. They offered to let us move tables after we'd had our starters but we didn't bother in the end. Food was fresh, tasty and not greasy. Highly recommend and would go again if we ever return to Stratford.

Helpful?
Thank CupcakeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Late Night Curry which didn't disappoint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My boyfriend and I went to Avon Spice late on a Saturday night after drinking in the pub across the road. We were the only people in there but it was 11pm so that wasn't surprising. The food and service were fantastic. It was excellent value for money and the drinks were also good. The only minor negative is that the toilets are upstairs, through a function room and you feel as if you are going into someone's house before you get there! However don't let that put you off, this is one of the best curries I have ever had.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annabanana2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Consistently efficient & friendly service and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Been visiting Avon Spice three or four times a month for the past three years or so; never been disappointed; always enjoyed our meals. The chefs know their Bengali cuisine and the waiters understand how to interpret their diners' individual tastes. The menu is quite wide, including Indian and Malay dishes - and British chips if the mood takes you. Our favourites are the House-special Jalfrezi and Passanda, and the Dansak dishes. This is where we celebrated our 50th with friends, who also dine here often. We'll be there again before Christmas, and in the new year...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food and service with a smile.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

To add to the many positive comments,this was a superb meal,the best Madras I have had for as long as I can remember.the staff were very friendly, which makes me think the poor comments from a previous customer could only have been put by a rival.
Always best to ignore the extremes of comments left.
Thanks again,we will be back when we come back to Stratford upon Avon

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avon Spice also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Avon Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing