We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Quality and Poor Value” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barnabys

Barnabys
Price range: $1 - $9
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We Serve Traditional fish and chips. Take away or restaurant plus icecream parlour. A self service restaurant.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Poor Quality and Poor Value”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We visited this restaurant on a very wet and miserable afternoon last week, hoping our spirits would be lifted by some hearty, tasty fish & chips...but clearly we were wrong. Had it not been pouring with rain, and we and our daughter were tired and wet, we would certainly have complained and moved elsewhere.

Having paid £14 for two portions of cod & chips (cash only - beware), we received two plates of lukewarm, rubbery food that was not up to the standard of even the worst fish & chips we have eaten elsewhere. This place clearly thrives on tourist trade, as I don't believe anyone comes back a second time. It is well located and has such potential, yet the owners must know that tourists will be attracted by the novelty of traditional fish & chips, so you'd think they would make more of a positive impression.

A takeaway is similarly overpriced, at £6.50, and it's very easy to overspend here...on drinks, sauces, extras...all are chargeable at quite high prices.

The restaurant is dated, and whilst this in itself is not a major issue it doesn't feel totally clean. The toilets are small, cramped and in need of some investment, to bring them up to modern hygiene standards. The counters and serving areas have seen better days, so the Food Standards Agency award of a 4 out of 5 food hygiene rating seems generous. Having suffered with a dodgy tummy for a few days afterwards I am convinced I caught something nasty from here.

For anyone visiting the UK for the first time, and eating at Barnabys, this is NOT how fish & chips should taste. It should be much better, with fresh, succulent white fish (not grey) in crispy batter, and golden, crispy chips (not dull yellow and soggy). I am sure there are many better restaurants in Stratford, who would be more deserving of your business. Spend your money wisely!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Techexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    78
    63
    40
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't ever visit here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We went to grab a quick bite and ended up paying over £20 for 3plates of chips and fish and chips-the food was dry and then they had the nerve to charge £2.50 for a small squeezy bottle of ketchup! Daylight robbery!
I went to use the toilet and returned still with a full bladder as the toilets we totally disgusting! This place is awful. For such a lovely town a clear dissapoitnment! Please can someone who wants to serve good food please take over this chip shop and save others from a very disappointing experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaskiern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tasty Supper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Following a days walking along the river Avon we decided on a 'fish supper'. I ordered haddock wich was cooked to order. It was well worth the ten minute wait. It was a good size filling half the large plate, the batter was light and crisp, the fish was cooked to perfection and the chips were lovely. It was actually a little more than I could manage. The price was a little above average. The ordering/payment set up is a little odd in that you have to order, take your number chit to the till pay and take it back to the counter to collect your food when it's ready.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not cheap, but decent portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The setting was not very good with tables fixed to chairs - therefore not so comfortable. There are some interesting signed photos of a variety of famous people, loud boring music playing - the atmosphere ends there

The fish and chips were average, not particularly cheap but portions were decent. The food was prepared quickly but nothing very exciting. We were all very hungry and the shops had run out of sandwiches so this suited our needs. Next time though, I would rather take a packed lunch!

There was no restaurant service, you had to collect your food from the serving area once your order was called - even our local Sainsbury's brings the food to the table! They charged 5p for each tiny sachet of ketchup - with expensive prices for the main meal this was unfair.

Overall, OK if you don't have other options.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FFNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish & Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The food was reasonable priced and delicious. The ordering set up is a bit strange when your eating in, You go up to the counter to order and pay, then take a number and take a seat. Your number is then called out and you go up and collect your food. Never had to do that in a chip shop before. The staff are not overly friendly but i'd put up with it for a good fish & chips.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleR85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnabys also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Barnabys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing