We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went in this pub 19th Jan and was 1 of the worst experiences”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We found this pub by chance on a Saturday we walked in to see they had got 4 real ales on. only for 3 of them to be turned round not in use. so we decided to try the admans which was on offer the landlady tried to pour us 2 pints which took nearly 5 mins.we paved the 6.60 which is the going rate we decided to sit down out the way as people where eating chips at the bar bought from the chipshop across the road.
We took a sip out of the drinks both looked at each other in horror. it was flat smelt of sulphur and tasted like dish water.
At this point we took it back spoke to the landlady who qt this point was running the same pump out with water and the landlord was taking the front of the pump.
We explained what the problem was and was met with abuse saying if you don't like it leave it.
We was also told it was a new barrel gone on in the afternoon and other ppl had drunk it with no complaints. We did it was unthinkable and we would like to change it for something else at this point the hill billys sat in the corner started laughing at us and edging the landlady on.
At this point she said we had paid for our beer we could either drink it as it was or leave the pub.
So we decided to thank her for the customer skills and hospitality we had received and left the beer and the pub
...
Avoid at all costs. 1 of the worst pubs I've ever been in for the welcoming and hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happyhippo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 164 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

We unfortunatly visited this pub 12/1/2013 as we sat having a drink six guys aged in their late 30's early 40's came and sat next to us and pollitly asked for a spare stool that was there, before they had a chance to order any drinks the "land lady" stormed over and demanded they left when asked why she said because i can do what i want !.As they left another couple entered the bar only to be given the same treatment. Neither of of the customers had visited before.Why is she in the licensing trade i will never know.
Thankfully there are plenty of welcoming pubs to visit in Stratford so stay clear of The Queens Head

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

5 of us booked 4 rooms B&B. One couple took a look at their room which was very basic and left to find another hotel. No food on offer, no sign of life nor the promised breakfast the following morning. Pub and dining room were locked and had to post keys through door and return to pay the next day. The 'car parking' is a narrow lane with double yellow markings where you are likely to be blocked in. I had to reverse the landlord's land rover and trailer out to access my car. There was no sign of the landlord and the barman could not drive. Limited sleep (England vs some team downstairs). My room was clean but very basic with limited bedding. Think twice -there are much better accomodation options in town

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lenakel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

How mis leading was the website!! Rooms were filthy dirty, leaks in the bathrooms, more mould than I have ever seen in the shower,bedding dirty, A manager without a care in the world that when we complained did not even apologise! or to the matter did not even stand up to speak - just carried on reading his paper. We did not get to sleep until 5am!! due to loud music and locals drinking and singing in the bar which is directly under the rooms. How this can be rated is beyond me! would not recomend to my worst enemy!! I have never seen such a dirty estamblishment in all my life and will be taking it further as I don't believe it should be allowed

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank evertonmilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2008

Our group (3 retired couples + single lady) stayed here for a Saturday night when seeing a play at the RSC theatre in Stratford.
Their website is out of date & misleading.
The rooms are not "luxury" as described but just adequate: I do not believe they justify a ETB 4 Diamond award.
The staff were friendly and the cooked breakfast was OK.
The real problem was noise. In a room over a pub bar I expect noise until closing time. In this pub the loud continuous sports TV was on until 3.30am followed by a noisy & worrying fight in the bar.
We got to sleep at 4am.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bob_LindaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Rummenmot gården är tystare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bodil78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon Waterways Hotel
Premier Inn Stratford Upon Avon ...
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,654 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#20 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,856 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon
#9 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,905 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Falcon Hotel
The Falcon Hotel
#10 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Head Pub & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head Pub & Hotel

Address: 54 Ely Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $101 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Queens Head Pub & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queens Head has 5 basic bedrooms in picturesque Stratford-upon-Avon. All rooms are en-suite and complete with tea/coffee making facilities, bedding and towels. Prices are as follows: Single room - £50.00 per nigh, Double room - £70.00 per night, Twin room - £70.00 per night, Family room - £100.00 per night (includes 1 x double bed and 1 x single). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Queens Head Pub & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon
The Queens Head Pub & Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing