We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable and well located”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Shakespeare View

Shakespeare's Birthplace - view from the bedrooms
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shakespeare's Birthplace - view from the bedrooms
beautiful, modern kitchen with quality appliance dining area for up to six people
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Shakespeare's Birthplace - view from the bedrooms
beautiful, modern kitchen with quality appliance
dining area for up to six people
spacious kitchen with doors leading toward the lounge and entrance hall
the kitchen and dining area
cosy patio
spacious entrance hall
the lounge
the lounge
the lounge with doors leading toward the kitchen and dining area
ground floor toilet
bedroom no 1
Bedroom no 1 with a king size bed, comfortable John Lewis mattress and  JL furniture
Bedroom no 1
Bedroom no1 - view towards the bathroom situated across the landing
bathroom no 1 with a shower, situated on the first floor
en suite bathroom no 2 situated on the first floor
Bedroom no 2 - the views of the Shakespeare's Birthplace and gardens can be admired from your bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rnldarl20...
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well located”
Reviewed January 4, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

The Shakespeare View is in a good location; only a 10 minute walk from train station and a couple of blocks from the heart of Stratford.

It is large and ideal for a family or small group. Although it is on a busy street, traffic drops dramatically at night and does not disturb sleepers. The ground floor features a living room, dining area and kitchen with clothes washer. Having a ground floor powder room is a big plus. There is a small outdoor sitting area at the rear which we did not utilize as the weather was quite cold.

Upstairs the bedrooms are of good size with comfortable beds. The 2 upstairs baths are indeed very modern and well maintained; but they are very small and could be an issue for tall or big guests.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tammy U
West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very clean, great location!”
Reviewed May 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at Shakespear. Very clean, and walking distance to all the local shops and restaurants. Margaret was great to work with and even had goodies in the fridge and fresh milk to start us off. I would stay there again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conchfrit...
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What's in a name? That which we call a rose”
Reviewed January 12, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Before we even arrived at Shakespeare View the communication with the owner, Margaret, left us feeling positive and looking much forward to our time in Stratford-upon-Avon.

Located in a very central position in town, Shakespeare view offers the comforts of home for you to return to after your days out and about. Many restaurants are located within walking distance or a short drive, but the kitchen has been done to a high standard should you wish to stay in and cook for yourself. Groceries are easily obtained from the Sainsbury Local within walking distance and from the Food Hall in M&S which is just as close.

Upon arrival, late at night, we were met with pastries in the fridge and coffee and tea in the cupboard ready for the morning.

Two well appointed bedroom with comfortable king beds and cozy bed linens were awaiting us after the long journey and were much appreciated.

If needed, one of the sofas also converted to a bed and there were linens in the under stairs cupboard to make it up.

The property, although nice in photos, is even nicer in person. We have rented properties in and around Stratford for our returns home to visit friends and family and this was our favourite by far.

The parking situation can be a bit stressful, but that is how all parking is in the town and we managed to find a spot each time we returned to the property.

I would not hesitate to recommend this property to friends or family visiting Stratford, and when we return we hope to stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review - really appreciate the time you spent on this. I am so delighted to know you enjoyed your stay in Stratford. It was an absolute pleasure to host for you - perfect guests. Hope to see you again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smnbns
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very central, new furniture and spotless”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The house was exactly as advertised and well placed for all the attractions in Stratford upon Avon. Even though the house is along a busy road the house was very quiet; no doubt due to the double glazing and thick walls. The house is in excellent decorative order and the furnishings are as new. The beds were very comfortable. Parking is free in the adjacent streets provided that you carefully read the plates by the parking bays. For example there is one side of one street where parking is prohibited in the daytime, even to permit holders, and only allowed to permit holders over-night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2017
So glad you enjoyed your time in Stratford and found the house comfortable. Thank you for your lovely review and looking after the cottage so well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crickitcl...
2 reviews
“Great location, great home!”
Reviewed September 20, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The house has a ton of character and is very modern and well decorated. We had no car but the location was so central for plays and to explore the town that we didn't need a car at all. The welcome gift in the fridge was a nice treat, too!

I didn't realise until the day before we were supposed to arrive that I had booked the wrong dates. I contacted Margaret in a panic and she was so kind and generous and let me alter the dates without any hassle or charge.

I heartily recommend this home for your stay. If we come back, this is definitely where we will stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2016
Thank you very much for your lovely review and for looking after the cottage. It's been a pleasure to have you and I look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
400simon
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Cottage and Location”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Stayed 3 nights and cottage was excellent. We were lucky in that everything was brand new and completely clean. Very well appointed with good quality fittings and the location was brilliant overlooking Shakespeare's birthplace and garden. The pedestrian footpath almost opposite meant that you didn't need the car for the Town centre
Scones, jam and cream plus milk were left for us upon arrival, much appreciated and a nice touch.
We would be delighted to return some day!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and everything new
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. I'm so pleased you enjoyed Cotswold View and I look forward to welcoming you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing