We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff and good food”
Review of Cafe Rouge

Cafe Rouge
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Inspired by French cuisine and Parisienne bistro style. Cafe Rouge is your local bistro to enjoy delicious food and gorgeous glass of wine.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly staff and the food was really nice. I had the whitebait and Mussels and they were super tasty. My only issue was, there was no atmosphere. Didn’t notice any music, but if there was, it maybe could have been turned up.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank latifaaycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 867 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely meal with my wife tonight 18th Jan the service was impeccable, I had the French onion soup perfect my wife had the hot camembert delish, I had the duck confit in orange sauce delish, my wife had the chicken breton (not a stew) chicken breast with a garlic mushroom, leek, courgette and herb sauce with mash delish, and a followed by brioche bread & and butter pudding with orange & creme anglaise again delish the only fault was the cleanliness of the toilets.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 987mauriceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

From Booking to the Meal , everything was excellent, Staff, Food. It was a Great Day The Price was really good aswell. Will definately go again on Xmas Day. I will book early to avoid disappointment

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hairdo49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2020 via mobile

Dined here Sunday afternoon. Was disappointed to find that the restaurant looked quite shabby. The entire place needs cleaning thoroughly.
We have eaten here quite a few times and were looking forward to returning, however we were unimpressed.
The staff huddled around the bar chatting at every opportunity as though they couldn’t be bothered to attend to the customers and I had to go up to the bar the order drinks and then later mustard as the staff were simply not waiting on tables effectively.
The toilets (up a flight of stairs) were very poor. Despite having bottles of hand wash and hand cream they were all empty apart for a few dregs in the bottom of one of the hand wash bottles. There is no excuse for this.
I had sirloin steak. This was just okay. It was served with a few thin chips and a touch of lambs lettuce. For £19.95 this was very meagre. I ordered some green beans and broccoli spears (both at £3.95 each) which, again, were very small portions.
My partner had a Breton chicken which was a small chicken stew served with a small portion of mash (£16) very overpriced, underwhelming and insufficient .
We will not be returning

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank wastelllll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2020 via mobile

Lovely staff in a pleasant setting and very well prepared food. They cook a great steak and the puddings are lovey. Even better with meerkat meals dis ount

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank Bassclkristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Cafe Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing