We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good ambience and service”

The Cross at Kenilworth
Ranked #2 of 63 Restaurants in Kenilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $58
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Bus Stop on New Street
Description: The Cross, Kenilworth is a pub restaurant serving excellent food, cooked by award winning chefs. The Cross started out as an inn back in the 19th century and was recently refurbished to reveal its original features. Expect a warm welcome, friendly service and stunning dishes, cooked using the very best local ingredients.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“good ambience and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

It had been a number of months since we last visited The Cross. In its heyday of five years ago it had a real buzz about it which seemed to be lost until recently.

Having eaten twice in the last month, once with family and once with friends, I can say it was pleasant with good service, good food and reasonably priced.

Certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    163
    89
    42
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not always great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I eat here on business's now and then. When it's good it's very good and when it's bad it is truly disappointing. If you eat really early evening that's when it's disappointing the busier it gets the better it gets! Strange but true they must run on adrenalin . The decor is fabulous and some of the dishes are very unusual which I like.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank chloeLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Interesting Dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

On our second visit to the Cross we found so many interesting dishes it was hard to choose. Each dish was very well presented with a good choice of intersting flavours and textures. Our only disappointment was that the duck was rather under-cooked and bland. We came in early and felt we were being rushed to make space for later diners. As it was a special occasion, we were not in a hurry!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kenilworth
Level Contributor
121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great place for a party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Went there last month for a large family party in one of their rooms. It worked very well, with the food being very good, as was the service. Hope to use again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our Favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Every time we have a special occasion we come here, we just find it difficult to try anywhere else when it's so good here!
I love the fact the menu changes as the seasons do, there is always something to try and the quirky combinations allows me to try new things.
I just can't for our next visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cross at Kenilworth also viewed

Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Cross at Kenilworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing