We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victoria Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenilworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victoria Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed one night after coming out of London. What a welcome relief from the city bustle! There is new ownership since April 2014 but Marilyn is doing a great job! Breakfast was good and filling and the room was very comfortable. Plenty of information available on local restaurants and sights to see. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DocRose42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    33
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
71
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I have stayed at the Victoria lodge on numerous occasions but words cannot do justice to my most recent stay. I had an absolutely fantastic three days ; Marilyn and Rob are both such stars! They made my stay so pleasurable and carefree...I looked forward going back to my room whenever I went out! Everything about Victoria lodge is beautiful and unique! Lovely people! Amazing ambiance! Needless to say the breakfast is exceptional and beautifully presented! I was actually quite sad to have to leave Victoria lodge! The owners are just so helpful and lovely people. The room I stayed in had such a positive aura, it was cosy and provided an excellent refuge after a long busy day. The bathroom was very spacious and spotless. I didn't feel like I was staying in a hotel, it felt like home!! I must admit that it is impossible to get a taste of Kenilworth without staying at Victoria lodge- the hotel is the epitome of the town's hospitable nature and a true reflection of the town's lovely people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

This small hotel is comfortable and clean and guests are well looked after by the friendly and capable owner. Our king size room was spacious with adequate wardrobe space and a clean and well-equipped bathroom. There is reliable and strong free wifi available in the room. Breakfasts are good and include a lovely (presumably home made) muesli.

The location is slightly off-centre but the delightful small town of Kenilworth, with its imposing castle and good range of restaurants, is only a few minutes' walk away. Old Kenilworth is perhaps 20 minutes away but well worth the walk, particularly for a lover of real ales (try The Old Bakery pub).

All in all, we had an enjoyable stay here at a very welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Comfortable, everything you could need. Stayed one night in a big twin room with bath, wardrobe, and a full-length mirror. Friendly, clean, great breakfast, and wonderful service.

Slightly dull location but easy walk to shops, restaurants, bus stop, and Kenilworth is a sweet place

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnickOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Maryln bought the hotel in April 2014 and was charming and very customer focussed. We stayed on a Saturday night and she was very welcoming and attentive.

The hotel itself is clean, and our bathroom was excellent. It had a shower, not a bath, but it was a great shower and that suits us. We heard no evidence of neighbours. It was a little musty on entry, but that was easily cleared by opening the window for a bit, and so wasn't really part of the room. The decor was not my taste, but my girlfriend liked it and she's an artist.

My only downside was that the mattress was very soft, and I prefer a hard mattress. But since Maryln had only been there for 5 weeks, I believed her when she said she'd be fixing things like that, so if you're reading after July 2014, my bet is that this would not apply for you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

A very comfortable, clean and spacious small hotel. Welcoming and very accommodating. The location is hardly picturesque but it is very convenient for Kenilworths facilities and as a base for the area.I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Choose the back for quiet and avoid sloping ceilings if you are tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColchesterItfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whickham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

I have stayed at the Victoria Lodge on many occasions whilst working in Kenilworth. It is very comfortable, quiet, friendly and with an excellent breakfast included...a home from home. The little touches such as free water in the refridgerator and mints in the hall, make the difference from average to special.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 464blackcat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
1.1 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
0.1 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.1 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
#6 of 7 in Kenilworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Lodge

Property: Victoria Lodge
Address: 180 Warwick Road, Kenilworth CV8 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Victoria Lodge Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing