We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Abbey Guest House
Ranked #6 of 11 Kenilworth B&B and Inns
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The English Tourist Board 4 star rating for this guesthouse is misleading. Perhaps we were just unlucky, but I found the experience of staying here really very poor. We paid £65 for a minuscule and not entirely clean room (room 8) with a tiny ensuite. The door of the ensuite didn't shut properly. All of the fittings in the room (and other fittings elsewhere in the house, such as the stairs carpet) would have benefited from a proper clean: lots of things (light switches, doors, shower tiles) were grubby. I didn't want to take a shower in the bathroom - I waited until I got home.
For breakfast, there was lots of choice. The fruit salad and the orange juice were nice. Everything else, unfortunately, was not good at all. Notably, our toast was made from mouldy bread.
I can't recommend this guesthouse at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCDance36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    19
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
19
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have cause to stay near Coventry regularly because of work. Up until yesterday, I hadn't found anywhere that I wanted to really come back to. My single room was small (I booked late and the other, bigger, rooms were full) but comfortable, very clean and extremely quiet. Lots of good restaurants within 5 mins walk. There was a great cooked breakfast included in the price of the room. The host was extremely friendly and helpful and, best of all, the room was only £39 for the night. Brilliant!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I found this B&B on trip advisor a couple of years ago when organizing a surprise week end to Kenilworth for my boyfriend's birthday. He still says that it was his best birthday present so far. Kenilworth is lovely and this B&B is fabulous! Very comfy, very welcoming, the rooms are spacious and clean. The owners are very friendly and gave us plenty of advice on what to see and how to move around. The breakfast was excellent: great choice from full English to pankcakes, yoghurts, sweet muffins...it was just a short walk from Kenilworth castle, which made it great for us. We were so impressed that when we got back to Bournemouth, we booked our next stay!! The second stay was as excellent as the first one and the owners even recognised us! Would strongly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Perfect welcome from the host David, nice clean bedroom, comfy bed, homely lounge room, and the most amazing breakfast ! Having stayed in the area on business for the past 12 years i found that the Abbey Guest House is Better than any hotel in the whole area.
Would definitely book again & recommend

Room Tip: Nice and quiet location yet Central to Kenilworth
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hard2Find
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslingden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Down for a family celebration, excellent host very welcoming and a superb choice for breakfast all cooked to a great standard. Good position in the town easy to get to shops and for visiting nearby family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoTravellers62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed here with 2 friends for one night during the summer.
David was a really nice guy and couldn't have been a better host.
The rooms all had ensuites and were very clean and tidy although the single was on the small side.
The previous reviews weren't wrong about the breakfast, it was fantastic!
All in all extremely good value for money and will definitely stay again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james_etherington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here whilst on a training course as opposed to a corporate hotel and really appreciated the choice by a colleague. Fantastic welcome on a late arrival, brilliant room and a comfortable bed for the stay. As many have already said, a great selection of breakfasts to choose from all of which were wonderful. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeds_Knight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
0.3 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
1.6 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#3 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.1 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#7 of 7 in Kenilworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Guest House

Property: Abbey Guest House
Address: 41 Station Road, Kenilworth CV8 1JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbey Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel
Abbey Guest House Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing