We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Laurels

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenilworth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castle Laurels
Ranked #9 of 11 Kenilworth B&B and Inns
Wickford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

After reading many reviews before our visit I was very apprehensive! However we received a warm welcome and checking in was easy although I thought the owner was a little rude taking a phone call from her son whilst checking us in and showing us to our rooms. The lounge and breakfast room were lovely, nicely decorated. The bedrooms do need redecoration but were clean to an extent but the lampshades, mirror and picture frames were really dusty. The extras of toiletries, biscuits etc were a nice touch but I would of preferred them to spend this expense on doing up the bedrooms. We had a good night's sleep, our bedroom overlooked the road which was quiet during the night so this didn't bother us. The shower wasn't the best but it was only for 1 night. Breakfast was great, plenty of choice and the owner (male) was very polite and chatty. We were spending the day in Kenilworth and upon checking out the owners said we could leave our cars in the car park for as long as we needed. They also suggested a pub for lunch, Clarendon Arms which we visited and can highly recommend. But the best place to dine is Harringtons on the Hill (next to the Clarendon Arms) we had a great evening meal and is in walking distance from the B&B. We would visit Kenilworth again and if the bedrooms were updated we would definitely stay at Castle Laurels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyBob13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    11
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
8
17
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The BnB is in a nice location and a very short walk to Kenilworth castle, although the views are of the road alongside, rather than the castle itself. We occupied rooms 1 and 5, both twin rooms, for two nights- the rooms were clean and the beds comfy but the ensuite bathroom is tiny and there seems to be low water pressure as the flow of water from both the taps and the shower was weak. The breakfast was average to poor.

What is most striking about this BnB is the begrudging and, towards the end of our stay, openly rude attitude of the lady who runs it. As we entered the BnB for the first time, she watched us silently as we struggled in with our luggage without so much as a 'Hello'. As we checked out, in response to whether our stay was alright, one of our party mentioned that breakfast was cleared away at exactly 8.30am even though we were still finishing our food; the lady started to argue with us, saying that this didn't happen and on saying that we were unable to write her a good review she laughed, said 'I don't care' and walked off, leaving us alone in the hallway. This was a quite surreal end to our stay and we were all shocked by such behaviour.

Avoid this place; there seem to be much nicer places to stay in the town. It is certainly not worth the prices that are charged.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kenilworth hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Well located near historic sites and restaurants. Please be aware that the staircase to Rooms 5 & 6 is very steep and narrow which I considered to be dangerous when also carrying luggage.
Bedroom was in dire need of complete re-decoration and refurbishment, but did not see the condition of other bedrooms. Average breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle under Lyme
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The building is lovely. The car park was empty, wonderful we thought. The reason for the empty car park became obvious. The lady who showed us to our room was not very happy(maybe she has a reason for that). Room number 4 was right on the main road, we asked if we could have a back room she told us they were all full. The room had a strange smell and was very small with small en-suite, it appeared to be clean. We had to open the windows as the room was so hot and realised they would have to be closed, to be able to sleep, because of the road noise. We had very little sleep because of the heat and stuffiness. In the morning we realised why the room was so hot it has 2 cupboards in it 1 houses the hot water cylinder, the other houses the central heating /hot water boiler. At breakfast only 3 other guests. We will not be back!

Room Tip: There are none according to the lady who showed us to our room and took our money from us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleetwood
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed here when visiting relatives. Its in a lovely position and the parking is good but my room was very small and although clean the place did have a strange smell about it. The dining room and the lounge were lovely and with new carpets and ditching the woodchip wallpaper the place would be transformed. The owners were a bit grumpy but the husband was quite chatty and nice when questioned about the property. Would not stay again unless I knew it had been revamped. Please note that 'ringarounds' review made me laugh... I think they meant someones old comb had been left on the radiator hahaha (or maybe not!)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jes40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Contrary to some of the other views here my husband and I have just returned from a great weekend in Kenilworth and surrounding areas and found this guest house to be exactly what we needed for a short stay in the area. We found the owners to be extremely friendly and helpful and although the room was not huge it was certainly big enough for a weekend stay. The room was clean, had adequate tea/coffee making facilities and fresh fruit. There was a great choice of freshly cooked breakfast and we couldn't have asked for more really. We would certainly return to this guest house if we are ever visiting the area again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Dismal b&b, unfriendly owners, a double room which had 12 inches around the bed literally, a 2ft by 6th bathroom. Smallest shower I've ever been in, Fruit in room was about 4 weeks out of date. Place smelled like an old peoples home. Gives b&b's a bad name - worst room I've ever stayed in in my life ! But breakfast was good and room was clean

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIchaelBUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
0.8 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
0.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#3 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#7 of 7 in Kenilworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.6 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Laurels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Laurels

Property: Castle Laurels
Address: 22 Castle Road, Kenilworth CV8 1NG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Laurels 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wayne and Sally are here to welcome you to Castle Laurel which isset in the heart of the old town, opposite Kenilworth Castle, the guest house is within a few minutes walk of a number of pubs and restaurants. We have 9 en-suite non-smoking rooms and secure parking. Each of our rooms are warm, spotlessly clean and comfortable, and equipped with TV and refreshments. Our Wi-Fi system allows guests FREE broadband internet access.Check in times are from 3.30pm to 10.00pm ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castle Laurels Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing