We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice night away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodside Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Romsey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice night away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was a pleasant place to stay with nice grounds. Very much a conference venue for business people. Some areas looked like they needed tarting up a bit. Nice breakfast with plenty of choice. If you need a bed for a night whilst bringing your children back to Uni, then this place is fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write this reveiw following your recent stay we were so pleased to read that you found our facilities satisfactory and an ideal venue for an overnight stay when visiting the local university. We do hope that you will stay again when you are visiting Warwickshire in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    113
    46
    17
    10
See reviews for
71
106
7
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Very welcoming and polite staff. amazing food. very modern and clean. areas need updating but mainly excellent. swimming pool and sauna clean. would definately stay again. rooms modern and clean. presented very nicely.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmynColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for writing this reveiw following your recent stay at Woodside we are so pleased that you enjoyed our facilities,Customer service and standard of food.
We do hope that you can visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annalong, Co Down, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a business trip, found the staff very friendly. The room was basic, but suited my needs, overlooking a field with shetland ponies!
The evening meal in the bar was good, the breakfast was excellent and the lunch also really good with plenty of food to chose from.
The business conference room was excellent and well equipped, with a coffee dock open all day for use.
Would recommend for a country hotel break or a business conference.

Room Tip: Bring your own toiletries as there wasnt many to choose from in the bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BURDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write this reveiw following your recent stay at Woodside We are so pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and level of customer service and do hope you can visit Woodside again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We drove up a gravelled drive with lots of weeds in it. The garden furniture had been left out in all weathers and had moss growing on it and the car park again was unkempt - not a welcoming start. I booked in and then had to come out of the main building , across the car park and into a separate "Block" of bedrooms. The key did not work so I then had to traipse all the way back to the main building to get it "reprogrammed". As I was travellling with my disabled husband and had specifically asked for a downstairs room in order to avoid it, I was not very pleased with all the walking involved.

The room was comfortable and clean but the walls needed painting and the wardrobes and fittings in both the bedroom and bathroom looked tired with dated. The bathroom did, however, have modern fittings. There was very little grout in the tiles surrounding the bath and what was there was discloured/black.

My husband used the small indoor pool but was shocked to find the towel supplied to be thin and have 2 obvious holes in it.

The saving grace was the food in the restaurant which could not be faulted. Although not much choice, and no a la carte available, we were able to make a fair selection. The hotel caters mainly for conferences and so a basic table de hote menu seemed to be the norm in the restaurant although there is a brasserie as well to eat in, which is where we had pre-dinner drinks.

The evening staff were young and seemed to lack direction as evidenced by our waitress merely plonking down our bottle of wine on the table and walking away without either opening it or offering to taste.

Different story at breakfast the following morning where the Maitre'd made everything run like clockwork. Food was excellent and I was able to order some eggs especially poached for my husband.

Looking out of the windows from our bedroom and from the diningroom the place needs a good coat of paint and a spring clean. I appreciate the weather has not been good but this was pure lack of general all year maintenance.

I thought that it was expensive for what we got - the only saving grace was the good food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback following your recent stay at Woodside
I am sorry you found some of our facilities and service dissapointing, but it was excellant to read that you found the food and the service that you received at breakfast faultless.
Your feedback is valuable to us and will use your comments to address the points you have raised i do hope that you will return Woodside again in the future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding here in March 2013 and could not have asked for more. The service from all of the staff was fantastic from our visit right through to the day itself.

The food was amazing on the day itself with a 3 course wedding breakfast, canapés, evening meal and bacon butties before bedtime.

We had snow on our big day which made it even more memorable but even without that Woodside would have made sure we had a fantastic day.

Special mention to Becky, our wedding coordinator, who was helpful throughout and really played a part in the smooth running of our day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammi_JC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to wright this reveiw following your wedding at Woodside. We are so pleased that every thing was perfect for you on such an important day. I do hope you are able to visit us again in the future to celerbrate an other family event or just a leisure stay to enjoy the facilities that we offer at Woodside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was taken there for Sunday Lunch on Mothers Day and had a lovely meal. From the service at the bar to the lovely table settings, the whole experience was lovely. Starters were ordered at the table followed by choosing what you would like at the carvery through to delicious sweets followed by coffee, the whole experience was very well catered for. The icing on the cake was the 'Mothers Day' gift of soaps/moisturiser, a lovely finishing touch. Many thanks for the attentive service from Adam, Nick and Tom. Altogether a very relaxing lunch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write this reveiw following your recent visit to Woodside. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed your Mothers Day Lunch and the service that you received .
We do hope that you will be able to visit again soon whether it be for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel was great value for money. It was very conveniently located for the Race Retro event, great price for B&B. the rooms were a bit basic, but very clean & had everything you would need.
The staff were exceptionally welcoming and accommodating, despite having a wedding on Saturday night and a full restaurant they managed to cook something to order that was not on the menu. A special thank you to Adam, who couldn't of been more welcoming. Will definitely stay again next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JerryToth, General Manager at Woodside Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay with us we were pleased to read that you were delighted with the level of customer service we always aim to offer our guests. We look forward to welcome you back to Woodside the next time you plan to visit the Warwickshire area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
24.9 mi away
Highgate House Hotel
Highgate House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Creaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
7.7 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
6.1 mi away
Mallory Court Hotel
Mallory Court Hotel
#1 of 18 in Leamington Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodside Hotel

Property: Woodside Hotel
Address: Glasshouse Lane, Kenilworth CV8 2AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodside is an Edwardian mansion set within 32 acres of grounds and enjoys a quiet woodland location on the outskirts of Kenilworth in Warwickshire. The 74 en-suite bedrooms which are housed in accommodation buildings adjacent to the main house, are individually decorated and beautifully appointed. Each room is fully equipped with hot drink facilities, an alarm clock-radio with iPod docking station, a television and toiletries from the Gilchrist and Soames 'BeeKind` range. Your stay also includes free Wi-Fi, use of the fitness room and pool, free parking on-site and unlimited tea and coffee. Food is prepared daily by the award-winning team of chefs and is served in two restaurants - The Mulberry Brasserie and The Orchard. The Parson`s Folly bar is the perfect place to enjoy a snack or relax with a drink. There are a range of leisure facilities including an indoor swimming pool, fitness suite, croquet lawn,tennis court and a 9 hole pitch`n`putt golf course which is complimentary to guests. Woodside`s 32 acres also offer an idyllic setting for walking and jogging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Woodside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodside, a Sundial Group Venue Hotel Kenilworth
Woodside Hotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing