We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chutzpah oomph and oojahcumspiff as Bertie Wooster opined !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kenilworth Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Kenilworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

finding ourselves legging it from a rather staid restaurant which had been highly recommended by my ageing Aunt Agatha.. we dived into this speakeasy gasping for a cocktail like hunted Harts heated in the Chase !
Masquerading on the outside as an ancient English Cottage (to throw off the Prohibition lobby no doubt) you stumble in surprise through its tiny portal into a jolly lively little whizbang with lashings of style and are served by a film star lookalke waitress straight out of one one Busby Berkeley's best offerings.It's all easy on the eye and the Cocktails are an investment ,trust me !
Why have we never been before we asked ourselves and ,not bothering to answer,simply ordered another drink..after all remorse is wasted when there is a huge cocktail Menu to work through !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 268 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

I've visited The Kenilworth for pre-dinner cocktails on several occasions. It is stylish and cosy, with subdued lighting. The cocktail menu is vast and it's very hard to pick just one. The staff are friendly and helpful. Two adults can stay at the hotel, have unlimited cocktails that night and breakfast in the morning for £199 (£155 on Sundays). I think this would be great for a special occasion or treat, and would be so nice to try lots of different cocktails. It's possibly unlike anywhere you'll have been before in a good way.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbiedoodle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is an interesting/odd boutique hotel. It's really a wine bar with rooms and a Continental breakfast service. We stayed in a standard room which is more of a "motel" room in the back yard. The bar area is fine, low ceilings, dark with padded walls, table service for the drinks is nice, prices are sensible and the service is fine and we were able to drink quite late as we were guests. The dark and padded wall theme from the bar continues to the bedrooms. Ours was small (beyond cosy) but clean with a "wet room" bath bathroom. The bathroom has been fitted to high standard, the rest of the bedroom has a feel of being done on a budget. There was the tiniest wardrobe area and no possibility of squeezing a chair in. The problem with the wet-room is that you constantly walk wet feet onto the bedroom carpet and with such a small bedroom the place just fills with steam from the shower. Most people expect a kettle and tea/coffee in their room these days. Not here, the staff made us a pot of tea, but it would have been nice to find facilities in the room. The other rooms may be better, I would avoid rooms 4 and 5, if nothing else the (padded) wall between between the rooms was so thin it felt like we were sleeping with the couple next door. Overall... bar fine, hotel dissapointing.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Kenilworth hotel on a recent Friday night. The cocktails we were served were simply superb and reasonably priced. The bar staff was well-trained, attentive and very polite.

When we got to the hotel, the hotel owner welcomed us and took our luggage and showed us to the room. When we asked if the bar was still open (we arrived at midnight), he politely offered to keep the bar open until we went down for our drink.

The room was decorated to very high standards and extremely clean. The bed was comfortable too, only the pillows were a little thick for our taste. The walk in shower was brilliant too.

As for the breakfast, the variety offered was higher than expected given the size of the hotel, while its quality was particularly high, everything was very fresh.

We will definitely be coming again!

Room Tip: Three rooms are on the floor above the bar. If you sleep early, ask for a different one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Not sure what you would expect from a hotel in Kenilworth called the Kenilworth Hotel but not sure if it would be this. There is a slight sense of unreality about this place that you will either love or not love. It feels a bit like a vanity project but the fact that the bar - more later - is full in the evening and the staff are young, well trained and attentive does indicate that there is a well run operation underneath all the facade, that understand the actual business of running a succesful operation.

Coming in through the back the first thing that strikes you is the full fledged Tiki Hut with a bar and an extremely well tended and laid out garden. Walking through the slightly convoluted passageway the next and most significant piece of weirdness is the bar. A quilted and studded black leather walled tribute to the cocktail bars of the last century you are suddenly dumped in an intimate and quite decadent series of rooms and a bar so ludicrously over stocked its quite difficult to take in.

Rooms are pleasant and well furnished in the kind of brown and beige style that is popular amongst boutique hotels. The annex is a bit impersonal and feels a bit like being in a smart bed sit but the bathrooms with walk in showers are stylish and memory foam pillows a nice touch.

We ironically booked a table in the bar to have an early evening cocktail and went down before our meal elsewhere - the hotel does not do formal evening dining so you have to get your dinner elsewhere - we were glad we did becuase even at 7pm the "the joint was jumping". Great cocktails at a prices that jaded Londoner will be more than happy with. The place filled up and by the time we left an hour later was going flat out.

No idea who this would appeal to but for a weekend away with an unusual twist or taking a bunch of mates for a night of retro inspired Tom Cruise in Cocktail style fun then this would be talked about for many years to come.

We are almost undoubtedly going back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will_wiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had heard a mixture of things about this place before we went for a few drinks, on a busy thursday night. Lovely decor inside, nice and cosy and comfy. Took a while for someone to get our order (took us a while to decide what to have as well - what a long cocktail menu!) and then took just as long to get them, but we didnt mind as they were delicious when they arrived, stayed for another as well, so cant be bad. Will be back to sample some more !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank TomBooth39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Although it isn't really a hotel as such....more a cocktail lounge with some rooms.....this place was great.....Cocktails are superb and the staff helpful and friendly.....decor was unusual but perfect for cocktails.
We stayed in one of the suites in a house separated from the main bar.....VERY RETRO!....if this is not your thing then you won't like it...We thought it was great right down to the 70's/80's bang and olufsen telephone. The room was very large and bed comfortable , very quiet, slept great.
We will definately be returning very shortly. Beware, however there is no restaurant, but there is a great Curry house next door!
Breakfast is served in the cocktail bar and no hot food is readily available.....suited us cause we are really only tea and toast people. but something to consider. We loved this place and will return!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beadyeyeonyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
1.4 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
0.7 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#7 of 7 in Kenilworth
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kenilworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kenilworth Hotel

Address: 61 Warwick Road, Kenilworth CV8 1HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kenilworth
Price Range: $124 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Kenilworth Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kenilworth is an 11 bedroom boutique Hotel & Cocktail lounge in Kenilworth, Warwickshire. Contemporary features and fittings in a 16th Century Building. Award winning cocktail lounge and voted as one of the top 50 destinations in the UK by 'The Independent'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Kenilworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kenilworth Hotel Kenilworth
The Hotel Kenilworth
The Kenilworth Hotel Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing