We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic New Year break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Northampton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A fantastic New Year break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had a marvelous time at the Chesford Grange over the New Year; 30th and 31st. The staff were excellent and made us very welcome when we arrived and were very attentive throughout our stay.

The New Year deal was very good value with excellent meals on both nights, with no shortage of wine to drink on New Year's Eve. There was certainly no rush for you to leave the hotel on New Years day.

Well done to all concerned. We will definitely use a Q hotel in the future without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank folkjokeopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear folkjokeopus

Myself and the team are delighted you had an enjoyable New Year with us and thank you for your brilliant feedback.

We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    762
    361
    112
    68
See reviews for
345
779
31
482
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had a marvelous time at this hotel this new year, all the staff had a can do attitude and a customer first approach. Thought the whole new year deal was good value and no rush for you to leave the hotel on the new years day. Well done Chesford would use a Qhotel again without hesitation.

Room Tip: ask for a family room lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorrainem1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear lorrainem1957

Thank you for your review regarding your stay for our New Year's Eve package. I am really pleased you could not fault us and as a result gave us 5 stars. Our packages for the Festive period and New Year are excellent value for money and I hope we will have the pleasure of lookig after you again in 2013.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Arriving Friday evening check in was smooth and informative staff working on reception. Drinks in the bar and a lovely dinner which was a really good price. I paid half board and the 3 courses approximately £23. Again lovely staff in the restraunt.

Breakfast was delicious very fresh and a chef available to cook extras.

Room was fine, perfectly clean.

Check out smooth.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaPDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear LisaPDorset

I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay at Chesford Grange and thank you for your excellent review, I will share your comments with the team. Perhaps the next time you visit it will be for leisure, just go to the QHotels website for some great deals and offers or visit our 'January Sale'.

We hope to welcome you back to Chesford Grange and QHotels in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I use this hotel often when I visit my Dad Excellent friendly helpful staff. Great breakfast and friendly staff to greet you - nothing is too much trouble Rooms are spacious and very quiet, and the bed is very comfortable 5 star luxury
Recomend

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Julie

Thank you for your recent review and I am delighted you could not fault us. We very much look forward to your next visit (thank you for giving us a top score of 5).

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh on Sea - Essex UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I took the first opportunity we have had in 25 years to take a break "away" for Christmas and booked a 24-27 December break at Chesford Grange through Superbreaks.

Got to say it started going wrong even before we got there as we chose to follow the hotel's directions rather than switching on the Satnav but eventually we gave up when we found ourselves in the middle of nowhere driving through flooded roads and the Satnav got us there eventually.

Our room was a complementary upgrade to a Q Star so no complaints whatsoever about that or the housekeeping service (oh yes - apart from having to ask Reception for milk every day to go with our tea and coffee making facility in the room). Beer, wine, peanuts, dunking biscuits but NEVER any milk on the tray.

First evening's meal in the main restaurant was superb, as was the service, but what a meagre wine list! Having gone to try out the bar after our dinner, I have to say that in the main, the bar was pretty average - a cocktail list of maybe half a dozen - and one of them was a gin and tonic so technically possibly not a cocktail! - and then staff that had no idea how to make the ones on the list. Duo was good though!

Next day brought the disastrous Christmas meal mentioned by others on here.
Walking in to the room in which we ate, we were confronted with seating for approximately 200 and an inpromptu game of "find the seats with your name on them" with no greeter or table plan to help.

Having sat down we then commenced the second party game - "find the wine waiter" while our pre-ordered starters were served. Amusement at the lack of service turned to distain as numerous tables around us complained about their main course while we still waited for ours, AND the bottle of wine ordered.

Wine came first - £35 of St Emillion poured without the opportunity to taste and then the main course arrived. Processed, sliced turkey kept warm to the point of the top slices turning yellowy-orange and having the consitency of boot leather, and most of the vegetables (served on the plate with the meal, not separately) overcooked to the consitency of a puree.

During the meal the staff played their own game of "try to avoid looking at the people who are trying to complain". Tables on either side of us had problems with both turkey and beef and people sitting at both had wine poured over their tables and gravy spilt on clothes by waiting staff.

I managed eventually to make a verbal complaint to someone wearing a suit and was only told that he would "talk to the wine waiter personally" with no comment regarding the absolutely awful food and waiter service. The same lack of response subsequently came also from reception and the general manager.

Boxing Day "gala" dinner was quite an improvement but only because I liked what they served. How can you sit 150-200 people all at the same time and serve them all with exactly the same meals without offering choices? Answer - not very well - althought the quality of the cooking and service was a vast improvement over Christmas Dinner. We were actually offered cheese and biscuits as an alternative to the planned dessert but at an extra charge. I was prepared to pay for something my wife was actually happy to eat but have to say the additional charge was waived due to the time the food took to arrive.

Boxing evening entertainment was fairly average and poorly organised - had to get up from dinner table and wander around so tables and chairs could be moved to an ante-room where the duo were set up.

Summing up - a bit of a curate's egg - good in parts but the good parts were far outweighed by inept service and uncaring or untrained staff. I think it says everything when you have spoken with people who had taken the same break on a number of years in the past but were adamant that they would not be returning next year.

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeasiderLeighonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear SeasiderLeighonSea

I was naturally very concerned to read your review and regret that you have left Chesford Grange with a very poor impression.

As we are unable to track your stay through the review under your user name I would be grateful if you would contact the hotel so we can take the appropriate action and try and restore your faith in Chesford Grange and QHotels.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was our first Christmas away and with our parents. The rooms and the staff were excellent but Christmas Day lunch was absolutely awful cold and generally poor. All other meals were very good. Would have liked a little more entertainment especially at the Gala dinner on Boxing night

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliedfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Juliedfb

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at Chesford Grange for the Christmas period and for giving us a score of 4 stars.

However, I am very sorry you were disappointed with lunch on Christmas Day and the entertainment for Boxing Night. This is not typical of our normal high standards and I hope it will not deter you from returning on a future occasion.

May I take this opportunity to wish you a happy and prosperous New Year.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford-upon-avon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Wanting to escape for xmas but without travelling to far from home we chose the xmas package at the Chesford Grange kenilworth. We paid the extra £20 per night for room upgrade which was worth it as the bathroom was lovely and the room spacious with a view over the fields. The package was good, service excellent and food ok. Our only gripe is that the gala meal didnt give any choice of food and if yu didnt like what was on the menu you went hungry and the room was so cold I felt ill and left early. We were asked to be there for 7pm prompt but the first course didnt arrive until 7.30pm and the service was slow.and some staff didnt seem to know what they were doing.However we went for a rest to get away from cooking and washing up and this is what we got. Breakfasts were great and what we did like was the fact we could have special coffee and water with every meal without being charged extra all the time.

Room Tip: go for the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loubie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKFox1, General Manager at Chesford Grange - A QHotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear loubie28

Thank you for your great feedback regarding the Christmas Festivities at Chesford Grange, I am glad you had a break from the cooking and washing up! Your comments regarding the Christmas Eve dinner have been taken on board and we will use them for our planning of this year's events.

Thanks again and Happy New Year.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
8.0 mi away
Stratford Manor Hotel
Stratford Manor Hotel
#11 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#5 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hellidon Lakes Golf & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
1.5 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mallory Court Country House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chesford Grange - A QHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesford Grange - A QHotel

Property: Chesford Grange - A QHotel
Address: Coventry Road | Chesford Bridge, Kenilworth CV8 2LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chesford Grange - A QHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chesford Grange is a unique hotel based in Warwickshire. The historic charm oozes from every corner, from it's red roofed turrets and Tudor style exterior to the majestic splendour that awaits you inside. The hotel is set within 17 acres of countryside which is ideal for team building or indeed a leisurely stroll. Even though you may feel a million miles away, the hotel is near the M40 and M69, and is just 5 miles from Warwick Castle and 13 miles from Birmingham Airport.The hotel is home to state of the art conference facilities. There are 13 conference and meeting rooms with a total capacity of up to 700 delegates. For relaxation on the night the hotel is home to a relaxing leisure and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chesford Grange - A QHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chesford Grange - a q Hotel Kenilworth
Chesford Grange Kenilworth
Chesford Grange Hotel
Hotel Chesford Grange
Chesford Grange - A QHotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing