We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promising but on balance dissappointing”
Review of Pomeroys Bistro

Pomeroys Bistro
Ranked #4 of 63 Restaurants in Kenilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Coventry
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Promising but on balance dissappointing”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Selected from reviews for lunch. Service was on the slow side. Probably too much on the menu for them to excel at everything - for these prices they need to finesse a bit. The £9 Beef sandwich - beef ok, though not a lot even at this price, but batch like a small wad of cotton wool, tiny side dressing was awash in balsamic, chips above average - very hot, crispy and real potatoes. The crab must have scuttled past the pasta - which was swimming in in a pretty watery and slightly too spicy sauce. Soft drinks pricey for the size. So I notice quite a few people comment on the decor - so they aim to impress - the potential is there - but they need to up the attention to detail.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    90
    24
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place, great staff, great food!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Pomeroys is a breath of fresh air in the already crowded Kenilworth market. We loved the clean modern feel of the restaurant, the welcome from the staff and the great food! Excellent value for money, everything beautifully presented and overall good fun! Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Welshmandownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lucky find!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We chanced upon the restaurant on a Thursday evening in August. From the moment we walked in the door everything was right. We were made to feel very welcome - the staff took time to chat with us and made us feel genuinely cared for.
The food was excellent, not the usual run of the mill but something more special. The only negative was that the size of the portion of duck pate was huge!
We enjoyed the evening so much that we reappeared the next day. We were remembered and welcomed. The food was even better, modern British with well cooked meats.I wish I had left room for a pudding!
A great find, one we hope to come back to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyB1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pomeroys have got it right”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Pomeroys are the third venture to take this historic building, after a failed Turkish restaurant and a sort of Irish bistro with Sinead O'Connor on the big screen. Pomeroys have retained the Turkish chandeliers and the purple seating from the Irish venture. So what's the secret of their success? Well cooked keenly priced food that people actually want to eat. with friendly chatty service. We tend to eat out mostly at lunchtime, and we actually live in Station Road, so Pomeroys is very handy. Another good point: if you get there before 1pm you can eat from the breakfast menu - they do a splendid scrambled egg and smoked salmon, plus full English and lots of other things. Big crusty chips with most things, and the mains are a couple of pounds cheaper than the Kenilworth average. Big comfy sofas if you just want to relax with a drink. I'm hesitant about writing this because they are doing so well without my encouragement - at present it's still possible to walk in without booking.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewdaviesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic night”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I went with my husband sat night. The staff were very friendly. Food was excellent, could not fault anything. The atmosphere was really good. I would recommend Pomeroys for a great place to eat and drink. We will certainly be back again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vivhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomeroys Bistro also viewed

 
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 

Been to Pomeroys Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing