We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem.”
Review of The Gauntlet

The Gauntlet
Ranked #28 of 63 Restaurants in Kenilworth
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Post Code CV* 1DP
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hidden gem.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

This pub is tucked away behind the graveyard and on a housing scheme, but do not let this put you off. The beer is first class, Timothy Taylors no less, very well looked after and served. Welcoming, modern and with a safe garden for children.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thamesdittonish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    7
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, Warks
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise , very good food and ale”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Visited here as part of an early doors birthday celebration. I've known the pub for years but hadn't been in since its been done out. Our group had a mix of food from burgers, lasagne and sausage and mash etc. all the food was really good, the burger I had was excellent. Much better than other pubs in the town. The Tim Taylor's (a fave of mine) was well kept and well poured, excellent. Staff were friendly and they've done a nice job with the decor. Three adults, two kids all ate well and had drinks for under £45 .....! Will def return Dan I certainly recommend making a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AALowndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“brilliant!”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Garry & Eva are fantastic hosts, they are so welcoming and will always try and accommodate everyones needs. The food is fab, a little more expensive than other pubs in the town but well worth it. We always feel that the extra cost always outweighs the quality of the food. We have never had a bad meal and never felt that there is an excessive wait for food, the freshness and taste is well worth any wait anyway. The home made coleslaw is lush and I highly recommend. We have visited the establishment on a number of occasions for different reasons and have always been very pleased as have the people we have been with. Keep up the good work Garry & Eva, absolutely fab! x

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We went recently to the Gaunlet for Sunday Lunch and although we had booked we were told upon arrival that there would be a wait for the meals - there was no offer of complimentary drinks - it just felt like take it or leave it

The meals arrived after an hours wait - at this stage we were so hungry we would have eaten anything.

Even after such a long wait the chicken on one of the dishes was not cooked -we were given this free of charge after complaining -

We did not feel that we were made to feel welcome at the pub but were more of an inconvenience

Maybe just wrong place at the wrong time - but we will not be rushing back

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry F, Owner at The Gauntlet, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are sorry your experience was not as pleasant as you had hoped.
We did go to great lengths to apologise, we were very busy, and we get busier because our food is fresh and always except on the rare occasion of excellent quality,. You were made aware there was a wait and yes you had booked, but so had everyone else, booking in advance guarantees a table and somewhere to sit, but we are unable to serve food at the booked time because we had not taken an order until arrival. Again we apologise and will make every endeavour to ensure the quality of our service is enhanced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A reasonably priced venue in Kenilworth”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I recently discovered the Gauntlet when they initiated a pub quiz evening. The venue was not straightforward to find, but after the first time it gets better! The interior and staff are lovely. It is fairly modern, despite being in a very average building. The neighbourhood is very residential making it seemingly quiet.

The biggest asset of the pub is the set of prices for drinks and food. But don't let that fool you, the quality of the food is not excellent. My friends had some cheesecake slices that were pretty much frozen. My sticky toffee pudding was quite plain, but I was hungry and I ate it all :-). Overall the menu is comparable in size and choice to the major chains. Parking is not difficult as the pub is near a couple of corner stores which have ample parking (on Caesar road).

I would personally go back for quiz nights, but not just for the food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry F, Owner at The Gauntlet, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for comments, but to clarify we do not have a cheesecake on our menu, we think you were referring to the Lemon Meringue freezer cake, which is a frozen dessert designed to go straight from freezer to table.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gauntlet also viewed

Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Gauntlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing