We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Eve Party”
Review of The Almanack

The Almanack
Reserve with OpenTable
The Almanack is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 63 Restaurants in Kenilworth
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Almanack is a modern British gastropub in the heart of Kenilworth, between Abbey Fields & the High Street. We serve high quality fresh seasonal food & great beers, wines & spirits all at pub prices. Open all day, seven days a week, serving breakfast, coffee & cake, lunch, drinks & dinner, we aim to be Kenilworth’s favourite “local”.
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New Year Eve Party”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great night enjoyed by all of us. The menu was good and the food served was of high quality. The service was excellent, we have been using the Almanack for around 3 years on and off. I say off as at times the service has been less then good bordering on pretentious without the follow through. However I am glad to say NYE was different back to what we remember well done Alice, we will be back more often now.

Just a tip the relaxed friendly service is in keeping with what you do best.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt36BirminghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    201
    140
    69
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not like the rest of Kenilworth”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A big barn of a place and okay for big groups but not somewhere I would pick for a quiet meal for 2. Food okay but a long menu for a big group caused some issues of getting food on tables at the same time. What we ate was adequate but not outstanding

  • Visited July 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireExile8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Birthday celebrations ruined”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We booked a table for lunch 3 months in advance of birthday party for a table at 2pm for 10 people.

We arrived well within time to find that our table was not ready, after asking staff members what time our table would be ready, we were finally seated at 3.10pm. We were offered 3 bottles of sparking wine as a good will gesture for our wait, which they still put on the bill at the end of the meal, only one person out of a party of 10 enjoyed their meal, which was the fish, everyone else that had meat said that it was chewy and fatty and 2 of he party had to have there meals returned to the chief because of the poor quality. For the money we paid in comparison to the quality of the food, we felt that we had been ripped off and all of us said that we would not go there for a meal again. We appreciate that it is Christmas and they were busy, but this is no excuse, as they had plenty of staff on hand. Earlier on in the day one of the party members went in to see the staff to ensure everything was ok and noticed that there were only a few amount of bookings, so can only assume that they actually crammed in as many people that they could later on to make the money up, to there detriment as they have lost some paying customers. Will not be recommending to anyone. Very poor show!!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DippyDiora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peach_Pubs, on behalf of the Manager at The Almanack, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Dippy Diora,

Merry Christmas – and thanks for letting us know how you felt about your time here, I hope you’ve had an enjoyable Christmas. Firstly I would like to apologise that you felt we let you down on this occasion, we pride ourselves on looking after many special occasions and ensuring everyone has a great time and enjoys themselves here – it’s a shame you didn’t mention any of this to me at the time, as I would very much have liked to respond in person. I’m not sure when you would have looked at our bookings for the day, but it certainly was a busy day for us, and there were a few issues with tables coming in late for their early lunch, we’re sorry that this affected your meal time, and always try to keep this effect to a minimum.
We spend a lot of time and effort on both the quality and value for money of our food – and are proud of our relationship with Aubrey Allen and the quality of all the meat that we use – I know one of the meals was replaced as your guest had wanted the beef from our Christmas menu instead of the roast beef , and a further one wanted her pink roast beef cooking through further. I’m sorry that the rest of you party didn’t say anything a the time, as I say we’re proud of the quality and value of our food and would have liked to be able to do something about this at the time.

I will be I touch with you personally, and hope that you have an enjoyable New Year.

Thanks
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“The place to be”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Almanack occupies a prominent position at the top of town, coming from the castle. You will find the place and atmosphere very different depending what time you go. They are open for breakfast, and you can have free toast with a coffee, and enjoy the free wi-fi. I've had a couple of light lunches there, but wasn't overly impressed. At night the place is always buzzing and very busy. The service is excellent even at busy times. It isn't the place to have a nice quiet drink, as you seem to have shout above the noise. In the Summer it's lovely to sit outside for a drink and people watch. The Almanack is a great meeting place, and most people in Kenilworth absolutely love it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbiedoodle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“XMAS MEAL”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Went for a xmas party nite out on the 15th Dec food was fatty and quantity very poor for the amount that we paid. Have emailed them directly but as yet are still awaiting a response.Quick to take your money but slow to responed to emails. Take my advice eat somewhere else.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank forida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Almanack also viewed

Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Almanack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing