We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Well Kenil-worth it...

Would thoroughly recommend, the entry price is an absolute bargain considering the ethereal... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Edward W
A good old ruin to visit

It is what you expect a well preserved castle ruin. the surroundings were well maintained. Would... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
KenSolihull_England
,
Solihull, United Kingdom
Read all 1,741 reviews
  
Reviews (1,741)
Filter reviews
1,706 results
Traveler rating
1,011
564
89
25
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,011
564
89
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english heritage elizabethan garden robert dudley old stables audio tour queen elizabeth i stable block information boards tea room car park re enactment run around bank holiday ticket office sunny day lots of history great place to visit
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,706 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Would thoroughly recommend, the entry price is an absolute bargain considering the ethereal mystique of the place. The magic didn't stop at the jaw dropping derelict architecture, it was pouring rain and then the sun shone and we were spoiled with a perfect rainbow...followed up by a pint at the pub opposite...beauty!

Top tip would be to talk to the old man at reception at Fred Dibner, might knock a few coins of the entry price, be prepared for some up-selling though.

Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

It is what you expect a well preserved castle ruin. the surroundings were well maintained. Would suggest you visit in the Summer months as it is a bit grim in the Winter

Thank KenSolihull_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

After the scarefest that was last year and the afflicted story lines, we booked again for this year’s fright night expecting a similar experience.
It started off well with little red riding hood taking us around the back of the castle, as the atmosphere built and the ominous shadow of a scarecrow appeared silhouetted against the castle walls the crowd were made jump by a ‘wolf’ appearing from the shadows as their focus was on said shadow, followed by another wolf and the scarecrow chasing the giggling crowd through the darkness, I felt the wolf masks were very joke shop like but the actors did a good job of scaring the group.
From there I expected more of the same mix of jumps and giggles, but (except for the dwarf in the undercroft) we found the stories boring, predictable and the jumps forced.
There were a few actors around the grounds who were more annoying than scary but still got a few jumps, the huntsman was a nice comical touch.
On a plus the castle lighting looked brilliant, the actors did well with dull stories the dwarf was excellent and the scarecrow on the way out worked the punters as they left having his picture taken, stealing peoples hats (Bobble) and chasing them back towards the carpark.
Generally not as good or half as scary as last year with too many ‘filler’ stories, less atmosphere and few scares apart from on the way in and the way out.
Will be returning next year but hope for big improvements all round and only because the year before was so good.

Thank mrjacksanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location even though most of it is in ruins. I saw lots of families with young children running around having a great time. It was good weather on the day and we enjoyed looking around and taking lots of photos and learning about local history.
A great day out with friends whilst supporting a great cause.

Thank LorraineM1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and I spent the bank holiday Monday visiting this stunning 12th century Castle, after switching our national trust membership to English Heritage so that we could see more castles and ruins!

We were lucky enough that the day we were there they had a re-enactment day going on where they played out the Siege of Kenilworth from 1266, believed to be the longest siege in English history.

Lovely day out using our membership for the first time.

Parking was difficult as main car park was full and there is no where close that’s easy to park (it was a bank holiday though)
Castle has a restaurant, toilets and lots of things for the kiddy winkles to do.
If you have time then take a walk around the fields that surround the castle, the views are wonderful and greet for a dog if you have one.

Thank AdventuringHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped here because of its historical significance, but were stunned at not only how beautiful it is, but how extensive the grounds are. Wonderful English Heritage site - since it is not just one single castle, but composes a number of different buildings and ruins, along with the Elizabethan gardens and sprawling grassy lawns.

You begin with a nice long walkway from the carpark and visitor entrance. You can get audio guides that really help as there are quite a number of "stations" to stop and listen to learn even more. The day we were there a wedding was going to take place later, so we went to see the main tower exhibits first. Quite a bit of interesting history in there, especially about Queen Elizabeth I and her visits and Robert Dudley.

The castle ruins are actually quite interesting and sprawling, having been built at various centuries over time. They have put in some quite good stairs, walkways, and viewing areas, so that you can really gain an appreciation for the various rooms and buildings.

The Elizabethan Garden was a highlight as well - and you could almost imagine the 16th century royalty strolling through it.

Thank pasowine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a fab few hours here - the staff were friendly and helpful but did not intrude. Took the free audio guide around which was easy to use and provided on-the-spot information. The castle and Elizabethan gardens are just brilliant. Nice to see kids and dogs alike, rushing around the ruins on a sunny day.

Thank Emza75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A must to visit albeit most of this are now ruins. Steeped in history and learnt so much. Very family friendly and dog friendly. The cafe had lovely food but needed more tables! Fabulous grounds and well maintained. Well worth a visit.

Thank Wanderer247166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really excellent day out & staff were so helpful. We are family of four (8,11 years) plus dog. On arrival at a pay & display car park, we had no change. Mentioned this inside the ticket office & they provided a ticket free of charge. Kids were offered the audio narration (brilliant!) and we were informed that the dog can go EVERYWHERE accept the cafe till due to food on the counter. This included the house where we could use the lift if the stairs were too tricky for the dog! Just amazing!!
Staff on hand throughout the day to answer questions.
The grounds were beautiful & the views stunning.
Definitely recommend & would return!

Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not one castle, but in fact a group of buildings created over hundreds of years. It's fascinating to walk through and learn the history, as well as view the buildings. There's also a wonderful garden with flowers, even in late October.

There's also a restaurant in a beautiful building (see pictures). It's a pleasure to eat in here.

Our daughter discovered this place via internet search of the most interesting places to visit. I had never heard of it before she suggested visiting. So glad she did.

Thank Joe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews