We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ruin. Lots of room for the kids to run around. Great job, English Heritage.”
Review of Kenilworth Castle

Kenilworth Castle
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Kenilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
450 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
“Beautiful ruin. Lots of room for the kids to run around. Great job, English Heritage.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

In its heyday, Kenilworth was more like an estate than a castle. The main building is mostly a ruin now, but there are still many nooks and crannies to explore, and each part of the castle and grounds is stunning and historic.

There is a free audio tour included with the reasonable admission price, and on the Monday we visited we had almost the entire castle to ourselves. The audio tour really enhanced our experience and the whole castle and grounds take a surprisingly long time to explore.

Be sure to explore the outbuildings - the coach house is a good starting point as it has a museum.as well as a tea room.

Given this was early April, the gardens were showing only a small sample of the grandeur they must display when in bloom.

English Heritage always does a great job of preserving sites and making history accessible at an affordable price. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank copperdragon66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    843
    490
    78
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kenilworth Castle............history comes alive.”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

As I drove round the corner and castle remains came into view, I was surprised at the sheer size of these remains. It was a spectacular start to a pleasant afternoon

The castle has much to recommend it. It's a big place, with well preserved and maintained ruins. There is plenty of space to walk round and loads of little nooks and crannies to explore.

The signs are clear and explain the various parts of the ruins well. There is a good exhibition in the Stables to give a history of the place and at the moment a superb exhibition in the Gatehouse about Queen Elizabeth I and her relationship with Robert Dudley, one of the owners.

The recently restored Elizabethan Garden is an amazing recreation of what was probably there in the 1570s.

There is a wide range of ruins to look at and a climb towards the top of them, where possible, gives some amazing views out over the Warwickshire countryside. There is disabled access to some but not all areas.

The staff in the ticket office/shop could not have been more helpful and interested in the place. The guide book is excellent value for the money. Unfortunately, the staff in the cafe in the Stables were only conspicuous by their absence, when I went in........perhaps, if the place had been busier, that would not have been the case.

I had never been to Kenilworth before, but I had heard many good comments about it. It exceeded expectations and I shall certainly be visiting again. It does attract a number of school parties so if you aren't keen on having them around, plan your visit accordingly. I arrived about 2, as the school party there was leaving.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TrevorABishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting castle”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This castle is bigger inside than it first appears. Has a very interesting history and a good tea rooms. Very enjoyable to walk around.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaulineYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlestone-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Medieval Event”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We arrived over the bank holiday weekend to find that the car park was already full. Fortunately they had parking arranged elsewhere with a free park and ride that was very efficient.

We were lucky to find that an event was on with falconry, music, jester, etc all very entertaining. The castle itself is large, and the history relating to Queen Elizabeth and Robert Dudley fascinating.

We belong to English Heritage so a inexpensive good day out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank roslyn105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely historic visit”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent a very pleasant morning at the castle. It was £7 entry for non NH members and we availed ourselves of the audio tour facilities which we would thoroughly recommend. We found the audio tour really interesting and informative and the castle though mainly ruins very interesting to viosit. We also availed ourselves of the tea rooms which were very pleasant with tasty and reasonably priced food and drink, Well worth a visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bernard-j5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kenilworth Castle also viewed

Warwick, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Leamington Spa, Warwickshire
 

Been to Kenilworth Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing