We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Booked this hotel for a business trip to the NEC having read all the positive reviews here on Trip Advisor. As a positive it is a nice hotel, totally dominating Kenilworth in its town centre location.

Arrived late (11pm) on a weekday evening and just managed to squeeze my car into the last available parking space. Was checked in quickly but not recognised as a Platinum Priority Club member and no room upgrade given. Room was on 3rd floor and contained two small doubles. It was clean except for mould in bathroom, there was a view of a roof from the window. Air conditioning kept making noises despite being turned off. There were no bottles of water, and the lighting for working at the desk was terrible. Free wi-fi and biscuits were a nice touch.
Discount voucher for room service was provided on check in but there was no room service menu in room and despite requesting one it never appeared, so went and ate elsewhere.
On checkout was not asked 'how my stay was' and was charged £1.10 for my complimentary newspapers ( a daily mail each day for which the cover price is 50p!)

A nice hotel but staff training and attention to detail very much lacking.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisesheepy, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2010

Thank you for the review. With regards to the late arrival and the car parking situation, we do provide complimentary parking on our own site and on an overflow car park just opposite the hotel. With regards to the room allocation where possible we attempt to upgrade as many Priority Club members as possible that visit the hotel. This is not always possible due to the volume of business at the hotel and is always only offered where possible on the terms and conditions of membership this includes complimentary water in the rooms if that room type is available. All room service menus are available on the information channel on the TV and by hard copy and I can only apologise that this hard copy was not available. All PC members are offered a complimentary Independant newspaper on a daily basis any other publications are unfortunately chargable.The hotel had a full and comprehensive refurbishment throughout with the provision that the remaining 25 bathrooms are refurbished within the next three years and unfortunately the room allocated is such a room. We however do take the points raised on board so that we may improve our service and facilities to all guests staying at the Holiday Inn Kenilworth.
Regards - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 596 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2010

My husband and I stayed in a suite at this hotel. The room was exceptional and spotless. We never heard a thing at night, in fact you could hear a pin drop!! We found all staff to be extremely knowledgeable, very helpful and extremely friendly. We felt that the breakfast was good value for money, and that nothing was too much trouble. The only minor niggles that I had and can easily be sorted out was that the hairdryer was wired in with no mirror above so you could not see what you were doing and the lighting in the sitting room could be a little brighter as reading a paper at times could be quite a challenge!! Cannot fault this hotel, and we will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicensweetEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed in room 5 which was nice and fairly quiete apart from when the staff left at the back of 12.30.The room on first appearance was lovely until you realized there was no where to put your case,no chest of drawers,no wardrobe and no tea/coffee making facilities,and the room was very cramped,Breakfast was fine and in general this was a nice place and staff were fine,I think more room is required for people to put their clothes in and tea/coffee facilities should be in every room and not make the excuse that longlife milk is wrong.The person who does deliver the free tea/coffee to your room hangs around awaiting a tip it would appear.This is not right as the cost of the room should cover this.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icecreamScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisesheepy, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2010

Thank you for the review, however The Holiday Inn Kenilworth does not have a room #5, all of our rooms have tea and coffee facilities, wardrobes and storage for all guests clothing. We have staff available for 24 hours a day seven days a week and we never deliver free tea or coffee in the morning unless requested. I am afraid that this review may not be for this property in Kenilworth.
Regards
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

I love this Holiday Inn. My second trip here and was even better than the first visit. I can't believe some people have said that they recieved poor service here. Every member of staff I came in contact with for the two days I stayed were polite, attentive and knowledgeable. Maybe behaviour breeds behaviour? Say hello with a smile and I always get a smile back!

I stayed in one of the suites on the 7th floor and it is hands down the nicest HI room I have ever stayed in. Amazingly comfortable bed and wonderful views over the Warwickshire countryside.

I eat both nights in the 212 restaurant and had two great quality, great value meals. Didn't have breakfast - I think it is a little pricey for what you get (the only negative i have).

I would highly recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisesheepy, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2010

Thank you for the terrific review, this demonstrates our teams hard work and dedication is affecting guests in a very positive way.

Kind regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

This was our second visit to the Holiday Inn, Kenilworth and the first since the hotel has been rebranded in its new contemporary style.
We again received a warm welcome from the reception team on arrival and quickly checked into our Executive Room on the 4th Floor of the hotel. The room was decorated and furnished to a very good standard and was very welcoming.
There is a Starbucks Coffee Shop located within the hotel which is very handy. Kenilworth Castle is within walking distance of the hotel and well worth a visit.
Hatton Country World makes for an interesting visit and very good if travelling with young children.
This hotel is situated in the centre of Kenilworth and has ample free parking. Although the hotel boasts a bar and brasserie there is a wide variety of restaurants available within the town centre. There is a small local market held opposite the hotel each Thursday morning and one we enjoyed visiting.
We really liked the upgraded image of the hotel and once again enjoyed our stay.
This is one of the locations we enjoy visiting when on a touring break and intend returning next year.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank legend14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisesheepy, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2010

Thank you for your very positive review. It demonstates that the investment in both the building and the team running the building has been worth the effort and that we are striving to exceed guest expectations where possible.

Kind regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting relatives. The hotel was perfect for our needs, as it is in the centre of town and we just had to cross the road. Unlike the last reviewer, we found the girls on the desk to be extremely helpful (we encountered 2 whilst booking in and 2 whilst booking out) and they understood us perfectly. There was a wedding taking place in the hotel and we were worried that it was going to be noisy, but, in fact, we heard very little noise. The room was not the largest we have stayed in, but very adequate and well furnished. The bathroom was good with a proper shower (not attached to the bath taps) and the towels were large and white. We didn't use the restaurant at all, so cannot comment. As mentioned, there is a Starbucks on the ground floor of the hotel and there is also a restaurant directly opposite which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The parking is free, you just go straight in when the barrier has lifted and the girls on reception give you a code to get out.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheffieldPip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisesheepy, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2010

Thank you for your very positive review of our hotel and the facilities on offer. It demostrates that the investment in our product and people is striving to exceed guests expectations.

Kind regards

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as guests for a wedding being held in another town nearby, The hotel has good decor, but the reception staff could do with some listening skills. I found them to be lacking in understanding pure english.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verbier09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisesheepy, General Manager at Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2010

thank you for your review, I was pleased that you liked the hotel and our commitment to improving the product, with regards to the front desk staff we have taken you comments on board and have completed additional customer care training including listening skills. Our front desk staff due to the employment situation are of non UK status and this can sometimes be a problem for our guests in terms of understanding their needs but we will always react to these situations to ensure that guests visiting the hotel are delighted with their stay.

Kind regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenilworth
0.4 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#5 of 7 in Kenilworth
285 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
1.7 mi away
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
#6 of 7 in Kenilworth
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
1.3 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
387 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Warwick - Stratford Upon Avon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick

Address: 212 Abbey End, Kenilworth CV8 1ED, England (Formerly DeMontfort Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range: $84 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Kenilworth set in the heart of Kenilworth easily accessible for all Midlands motorway networks M40, J15, M6, J6 J4 and M69, J21. The Holiday Inn Kenilworth is just a 20 minute drive from The National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and Birmingham International Airport and railway station. The National Agriculture Centre at Stoneleigh home to The Royal Show is 4 miles away. The newly refurbished Holiday Inn Kenilworth has 115 bedrooms and four meeting rooms. The new Holiday Inn Kenilworth offers contemporary style and comfort for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel offers Free High Speed Internet Access throughout. The hotel will have four newly refurbished conference rooms all with natural daylight and air-conditioning the largest accommodating up to 250. Guest can unwind and relax in our modern newly refurbished restaurant 212 Kenilworth Bar and Brasserie, stop off at our Starbucks Coffee shop to sample their renowned coffee or take advantage of the 24 hour room service menu. The hotel has many attractions nearby ideally located within walking distance of Kenilworth Castle and Town and a short drive to Stratford Upon Avon home to The Royal Shakespeare Theatre, Royal Leamington Spa and Warwick. For Families nearby attractions include Hatton Country World, Warwick Castle, Drayton Manor Park and Zoo and Cadburys World. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kenilworth Hotel Kenilworth
Demontfort Hotel Kenilworth
Kenilworth Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing