We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peacock Hotel Kenilworth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Reviewed November 18, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank S I
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 386 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Yet again, some customers seem to be very hard to please when they review accommodation.
This is by no means a luxury establishment, but is perfectly suited to travellers looking for somewhere clean and comfortable to spend a night or two. Our room was spacious, with a modern bathroom and power shower. Plenty of towels, toiletries,tea, biscuits etc. Creaky floorboards and quirky corridors must be expected in an old building, but all add to the character.
Breakfast very ample with excellent, locally produced sausages! Service was friendly throughout our four night stay, so no complaints.
A lot of the criticism seems to be based on car park charges,which seem to cause disproportional
annoyance. It suited us to be sure of a place to park on a dreary night rather than searching around for a car park in Kenilworth, a busy place. We were satisfied with the overall experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonzorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Peacock Best Western in Kenilworth should be called Worst Western. Check in at 5pm and the room wasn't ready. Floor boeards creeked so much you could hear every step anyone iin any room was taking. Bathroom was no bigger than an aeroplane toilet with a shower on the side than was so small you didn't have room to turn around.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Cormac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Nice hotel with unusual slant of having an Indian restaurant as its main restaurant, Bathroom tight but all the right elements. Corridors could do with some updating, steep stairs and steps along the corridors could be a bit of a hazard.
Despite being asked to give a time we would be down for breakfast, because the hotel was full, our cooked breakfast took 25mins to come,when it did to was of good quality but the wait was a bit too long. Also had tiny cups and kept having to ask for refills please let us have a cafetiere at the table!
The car park was a challenge very tight spaces, glad I dont have a very big car

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skellys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I arrived just after 6pm on Saturday evening and had to wait 10 mins in my car before a car park space became available. When booking in to the hotel I was told it was £5 for overnight parking. There was hardly any light in the car park and no security or car park attendant and so I refused to pay. I was told they had to charge me because it was company policy and they couldn't over-ride it. However, I explained that I would find somewhere else to stay for the evening and amazingly was told I wouldn't be charged on this occasion! I stayed in room 205, a single room which was adequate for me however, it was obvious the carpet hadn't been vacuumed as there were black bits all over. The sheets were clean although bed and pillows very hard. Shower cubicle was very small but OK as long as you are size 12 or under. The whole place looks very tired, the carpets up stairs and landings are pretty disgusting and the whole place, including my room is in desperate need of a lick of paint. The hotel is well placed and even at 6:30pm the high street was buzzing with people and restaurants filling up quickly, but no-one eating at the Best Western. A friend recommended I ate across the road at the Greene Man pub and I was not disappointed - excellent food, excellent service, a great atmosphere, I will certainly eat there again. I travel to Kenilworth frequently and certainly won't be staying at the Best Western and wouldn't recommend it. You're better off staying at some of the beautifully clean local B & B's - there are plenty of them and they don't charge for parking!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbugs915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

What a lovely hotel!The staff are lovely,they were very friendly on arrival.The room was lovely & clean.Breakfast was amazing,my husband had the full English on both mornings.He said 5stars only thing he suggested was maybe some beans! I had an Indian breakfast which was AMAZING!! I can't remember the name of it!So much so we ate at the restaurant (The Coconut Lagoon) that night because it was so good!
The hotel is central for everything & we will be defientley be returning!
The only negatives would be paying for the car park & drinks too expensive, but it won't stop us going back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisacourse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great character being old former monastery. Good pool, elevated position with fine views, sunny terraces, excellent food and service. Quite good large grounds with olive trees. Well above town but convenient access via safe footpath with some steps to Sorrento.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Wendy,mrs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#7 of 7 in Kenilworth
142 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
#6 of 7 in Kenilworth
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#5 of 7 in Kenilworth
282 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
1.1 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peacock Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Townhouse Hotel

Address: 149 Warwick Road, Kenilworth CV8 1HY, England (Formerly Best Western)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range: $75 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peacock Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Townhouse Hotel with spacious rooms and nice bathrooms. Raffles Restaurant and Bar with Lounge, situated in Kenilworth Town Centre. Close to Warwick University, Birmingham, Coventry and Leamington Spa. Warwick Castle and Stratford Upon Avon are closeby for a weekend break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Peacock Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kenilworth
Kenilworth Best Western
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing