We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel with excellent staff.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This is not a 5 star hotel, nor does it pretend to be. It is very clean, tidy and in an excellent location in the centre of Kenilworth with parking (which is worth £5 per night). The staff are brilliant. As helpful as you could imagine and very friendly. We stayed in a family room with a double bed, a single bed and camp bed and everything was exactly as we had booked. Breakfast was great and offered excellent choice (including authentic Indian breakfast dishes if you wished). Thanks for a great stay and we will be back again in the future.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    126
    60
    48
    47
See reviews for
44
120
29
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We made a laterooms booking at the Peacock Hotel where the reviews were positive. Our experience was marred by an attempt to charge us (£5) for parking(!) on arrival, with statements like we would be charged £20 in central London . Thankfully our paperwork confirmed that parking was inclusive. The room itself was OK, clean and tidy, although a previous guest had taken one of the batteries from the clock. This was quickly replaced and extra tea and coffee supplies were provided without problem. The room was a little tired decoratively but towels, toiletries and linen of good standard. Breakfast a bit hit and miss, no toast offered but otherwise reasonable selection. We slept well and the bed was comfortable. We would book again if we needed a room last minute, but might be tempted to try one of the B&Bs in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coralisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed 5 nights as a solo business traveller. My room was located in the Stables (not in the main building of the hotel).

While the room was OK, it was only superficially clean - perhaps not even that. For example, the bathroom floor still had talcum powder on it from a previous guest! The cups and glasses on the hospitality tray were not clean. The room was quite dusty in places. However, the wireless internet worked reliably the whole time, which was terrific - I think it's one strong plus point of this hotel.

The bed was two singles made up as a queen, and the single mattresses were not the same - so there was a "ridge" running down the middle of the bed.

A number of items from the room came and went during my stay, which was really odd. First, there was an extra radiator in my room on arrival - the next day it was gone. Second, there was an ironing board and iron in the closet on my first day - taken away halfway through the week. This was really inconvenient.

The entrance to the stables rooms (306 and 307) is via a VERY small antechamber - not big enough for a person plus a suitcase. The lack of space was compounded by the presence of a large potted fig tree (another item that mysteriously went walkabout during my stay). The noise from guests coming and going from the adjacent room (just the door closing) was really loud and woke me up several nights. Also, the external access door did not close properly, which I think is a real security problem - anyone can walk off the street.

However, the location is fine, and the parking arrangements were also fine (for a small car - I wouldn't want to be parking an SUV in their carpark).

Room Tip: Not the stables if you value security and a not being woken up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozetraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kenilworth hotels

nottinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

There are many plus points here. Spacious comfortable room. Extremely friendly, helpful, courteous staff. Competitively priced. The downsides are mostly a product of the site which is near the town centre and completely surrounded by other properties. This results in a car park which tests manoeuvering skills, the smallest reception desk I have ever seen and a rather cramped and narrow staircase. The only 'in-house' problem is a lack of attention to detail on the maintenance side with odd missing/loose bits on bathroom equipment. Overall a place i am happy to return to.

Room Tip: Executive and superior rooms (I think thoise are the names) are significantly better than standard r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evallonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our second visit and we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay, so relaxing and clean. The staff were very friendly and keen to help. We stayed in a superior room and for the price we paid it was a real bargain. Every thing was spotless clean and tidy. Big comfortable King size bed.
We ate at the coconut lagoon restaurant which was a south Indian restaurant which was also a brilliant dining experience. The breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked and was great also. I would definitely recommend this hotel to every one

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed at the Best Western peacock hotel for 2 nights as I was attending a business conference in coventry.
On my arrival the reception staff we friendly and efficient. My room was pleasant and was very clean and quiet.
Breakfast was wonderful, with a wide range of food and drink choices (hot and cold). I felt it was a very relaxed environment to start the day in and the staff were attentive and friendly on both days of my stay.
The hotel is ideally located just 7 minutes from the wonderful Kenilworth Castle and 15 minutes from the beautiful town of Royal Lemmington Spa.
Despite this being a business trip the environment created at the Peacock Hotel was very relaxing and I left feeling refreshed. I hope to return soon for a non-business related stay to experience more of what this wonderful hotel has to offer and explore the local area more

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 2 nights as I was attending a local exhibition. My room was somewhere in the attic having climbed up two floors. The room rate was £81.00/night which did not reflect value for money seeing as the room was compact and the wooden trusses in the roof were too low and I kept hitting my head against them during my stay. The bed was very comfortable, however, I had difficulty closing the blind in the roof window and the incoming light resulted in me waking up 5.00am on both days.Just what I didn't need! The cooked breakfast was farcical, probably the worst in 40 years of staying in 2*+ hotels. The portions were pathetically small and the quality was sub-standard, so much so, that I didn't bother with breakfast on the second morning. Its location is good; lots of restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: The main road is located at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
1.2 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
1.1 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#7 of 7 in Kenilworth
141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
#6 of 7 in Kenilworth
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peacock Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Townhouse Hotel

Property: The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
Address: 149 Warwick Road, Kenilworth CV8 1HY, England (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peacock Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Townhouse Hotel with spacious rooms and nice bathrooms. Raffles Restaurant and Bar with Lounge, situated in Kenilworth Town Centre. Close to Warwick University, Birmingham, Coventry and Leamington Spa. Warwick Castle and Stratford Upon Avon are closeby for a weekend break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Peacock Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kenilworth
Kenilworth Best Western
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing