We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspection Required”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Inspection Required”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Oh dear Best Western, you need to get someone out to inspect this place, it may be independent, but it carries your name. Apart from an easy book-in, the rest was terrible. A double room the size of a shoe box. Landings which are freezing and a shower, which not only flows with cold water despite being set on the hottest setting, but has a water pressure normally associated to bad dripping tap. Had a meal (well ended up going down the road for fish & chips) which consisted of a burger (cold), bun (frozen) and when it came to fried onions and cheese at an extra £1.70 turned up as a quarter cut raw onion and plastic cheese, which had not melted. Three burger meals all similar, two lasagnes, swimming in grease with half frozen garlic bread and a curry which was just not edible (not due to the spice, just no flavour). I never complain about food, but on this occassion asked to speak to the manager, only to be told that the hotel manager was not available. We did get 50% off, but we should not have paid anything, it was that bad. On booking out another guest also refused to pay for his meal. No draught beer available on the Friday evening, so they had Boddingtons in a can, about 3/4 of a pint (including head), however pint prices were charged. This is most probably one of the worst hotels that I have stayed in and to make matters worse, some of the other establishments close by are owned by the same owner as this hotel. We did find a really good curry house just down the road, excellent food and not owned by the same people as the Peacock Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mak1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    116
    57
    48
    46
See reviews for
38
109
27
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here for a business weekend - never again.

The hotel is very tired and dirty. The shower in my room - sorry , i meant cupboard instead of room, was filthy with a fine collection of hair (!!!!!) which I had to wash away before I could use it.
The food in the restauant was foul. I ordered a burger and chips and paid extra for fried onions and melted cheese on the burger - at a cost of £1.75 extra. The fried onion was half of a raw onion and the melted cheese was a slice of plastic cheese which was not melted because the burger was cold. The burger was still raw in the middle.. I was lucky though - my colleague's bun was still frozen !!!! The only bitter available at the bar was canned Boddingtons at twice the price of the local pub.

This hotel is a stain on the name of Best Western.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kenilworth hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My partner & I booked this hotel via Best Western as our first choice hotel in leamington spa was full. We paid the (non-refundable) fee in advance, having looked at the pictures on the hotel website & thinking it looked a nice place. What a mistake ;
- The outside of the hotel looks nothing like the pictures - I don't know when they were taken but the place looks a lot different now.
- The hallway is now painted a drab brownish colour
- The smell from the toilets permeated into the nearby dining room
- Despite booking a double en-suite room in the hotel, we found ourselves in a tiny room in what appeared to be a block of rooms at the rear of the hotel adjacent the car park. The door didn't fit properly - daylight was visible all around the frame.
- I complained to reception (I had to wait as another couple from Hull were also complaining about their room & were refusing to stay). I was then shown into a room in the main body of the hotel - the carpet was stained, the overall decor was grubby & there was a free-standing radiator in the middle of the floor as the radiators apparently were not working.
I have attempted to secure a full refund (we left immediately) but it seems that once these people have got your money they will not return it.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked in at the last minute to The Peacock Hotel and were absolutely delighted - good, comfortable and clean accommodation, fantastic parking facility - an absolute boon in Kenilworth - and a perfect breakfast. We're early birds and to be offered breakfast from 7am on a Saturday is another plus for us! We regularly visit Kenilworth and will not hesitate to book ourselves in again. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room in the courtyard at the back which was really peaceful, and offered excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 300DJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Friendly staff who are were obviously well aware of on-going issues expessed by previous customers.
I booked for a party of 3....we were all on seperate floors (although they quickly accommadated a friend who struggled with stairs). My single room was tired...furniture looked home made and painted and the carpet was old. However, by far the worst was the mould evident betwwen the grouting in our individual showers.
We choe to eat at Raffles.............GOOD CHOICE WONDERFUL FOOD AND SERVICE.
Booked to return in January (with original booking).....I DON'T THINK SO!!.....on the look out for another hotel1



I had booked for our return visit in Janruary

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here in early Oct for one night from a freebie hotel offer we were given. Whilst in a good location for the castle and Coventry cathedral (the main focus of our stay) the hotel is a bit tired in places and not up to the standard I would expect of a 3* hotel. Our room was in the courtyard at the back and was quiet, comfortable and warm once we got the radiator turned on! The TV did not work and somewhat spoilt the time we spent in our room later in the evening after eating out. There is a great real ale/food pub we used directly opposite the hotel. All in all adequate for a one night freebie but if I had to pay then the hotel needs to focus on cleanliness and repairing broken items more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeeyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have been warmly welcomed and overall service was really good. Heating did not work in the room, but has been solved within an hour, they gave us a small electic heater.
Excellent value for money. Not mentionning award-winning indian restaurant. Taste their gastronomic dinner at 25£/pers. Wonderfull. Hotel has a big parking as well, and his close to Leamington Spa and University of Warwick. We enjoyed...

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the Ground floor, you get the noise of fellow travellers living on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenilworth hotels
1.2 mi away
Chesford Grange - A QHotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Kenilworth - Warwick
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#7 of 7 in Kenilworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Woodside Hotel
Woodside Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.9 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
Loch Fyne Hotel Kenilworth
#4 of 7 in Kenilworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
Ramada Warwick Kenilworth
#6 of 7 in Kenilworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peacock Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peacock Townhouse Hotel

Property: The Peacock Townhouse Hotel
Address: 149 Warwick Road, Kenilworth CV8 1HY, England (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Kenilworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kenilworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peacock Townhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Townhouse Hotel with spacious rooms and nice bathrooms. Raffles Restaurant and Bar with Lounge, situated in Kenilworth Town Centre. Close to Warwick University, Birmingham, Coventry and Leamington Spa. Warwick Castle and Stratford Upon Avon are closeby for a weekend break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Peacock Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kenilworth
Kenilworth Best Western
The Peacock Townhouse Hotel Kenilworth, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing