We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - needs a decent manager to bring back the standards”

Loch Fyne Kenilworth
Ranked #10 of 63 Restaurants in Kenilworth
Price range: $43 - $78
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, Soups, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food - needs a decent manager to bring back the standards”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Massive fan of Loch Fyne, however this particular branch is going down hill. Duty manager was simply going through the motions, lacked enthusiasm and control. Consequently, we were served by 3 diiferent staff, although it was not busy; our appetisers arrived after our starters but on a plus they failed to charge us for the appetisers. Despite only being open a few years, the decor and tables are already grubby and the place needs a thorough clean. Come on Loch Fyne, don't let your usual high standards slip!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Katefs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    199
    107
    80
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average but nice atmosphere and good service”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Hadn't booked so had to wait one hour for a table for two despite not seeming full. Shame the IPA was off at the bar and the mussels were off the menu in the restaurant. Food was okay and very friendly service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobyandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food could be better, so could the service”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I'm not sure if I have become more discerning with seafood, or Loch Fyne have slipped a bit - I think it's the latter. Had the crab platter - which used to be bigger and cheaper. The crevettes were dry, not juicy and the langoustines had seen better days. Excellent oysters, passable crab.

I don't often spend £40 on lunch for two, but when I do I expect decent service. Loch Fyne disappoints here - despite the restaurant being about 20% full, it took 10 mins to get a drinks order, same again to take a food order. Our empty plates sat around for another 10 mins when we'd finished whilst the staff drifted around.

It's a lovely building, and some of the ingredients are top quality. Just needs better management and a bit of attention to the food. I'll not be hurrying back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank peterb92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“incredibly enjoyable meal”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

wonderful atmosphere, unhurried meal, fantastic food ......... tend to be a bit 'cod and chips' to be honest, and we were both 'oyster virgins' which is a bit sad given our ages ....... however, gave them a try on the recommendation of our fabulous waitress and are now proper converts !! all in all, we enjoyed the dining experience here, looking at the reviews, i think this place must be a marmite experience - love it or hate it ....... i cant remember seeing a place with such differing opinions. our opinion is of the 'love it' - must mention our 'english rose' Ali (she will understand) who was a delight, she took the time to answer our questions, service was perfect, and even came to say goodbye at the end of her shift - nomination for waitress of the year, a credit to the hotel and restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Val_steve_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for the kids but service still slow..”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We took advantage of the kids eat free in the summer holidays offer. They got spoilt, and had a good choice. They got coloring to do, crayons and balloons. They also got ice cream. Our main course took a while to come and my fish and chips was ok but not great. The mash and smoked haddock was nice though. Desert ok. So overall great for the kids, not so good for adults. Service needs to be a little quicker..

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katrinabull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne Kenilworth also viewed

Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 

Been to Loch Fyne Kenilworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing