We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great riverside position.”
Review of The Bridge

The Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $46
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
382 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great riverside position.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just by the bridge in the centre of the village with a good view of the river with sundry ducks etc. Parking at the restaurant is very limited but there are some spaces on the street outside.
On the way up we listened to the Kitchen Cabinet (highly recommended - can be downloaded from BBC). They were talking about a technique for crispy duck which involved putting it on a wire coat hanger and drying it with a hair dryer. I don't know if that is what they do here but the duck was excellent - I believe they are famous for it. The other diners were happy with their choices too.
My sister is a regular there and we shall certainly return when we move back to the area in a few months.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnotherEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    95
    27
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Watching the slops”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked a week in advance, when we arrived we were told our table upstairs was in a room that was too hot and we were led to a table by the kitchen door. During the 2 courses we watched a succession of waiting staff and kitchen staff empty the remains of other dinners meals in to a large dustbin 8 feet in front of our table. We assumed we were given such a poor table because of the heat upstairs but it transpired that many of the other tables were not booked and they remained empty during our meal. While we were considering dessert the kitchen porter started cutting the frayed and dirty hairs from a broom into the same bin in front of us. We decided to have coffee and ice cream at home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoretonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing this time”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We have used this restaurant numerous times and have been delighted with it every time. The night started well, sitting on the decking over looking the river when you are choosing from the menu would take some beating.

Atmosphere and service was excellent however the main difference this time was the quantity of food for a meal course and the price! I have eaten in a number of 'fine dining' establishments so i dont expect an over flowing plate however when my salmon course arrived it consisted of salmon ( which was very good), 3 asparagus spears and new potatoes served separately !!

Choice of beers, wines and lager was excellent.

No problem with desserts or starters however when you spend the money we did and some of our party complained of being hungry later in the evening there is something not quite right.

As it was me who recommended it I felt let down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OK food”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Service, what service? The food was OK but way too pricey. We wondered if we were supposed to go inside to pay it took so long for the wait staff to get to us.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DLDandJED1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
118 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Ideal spot on the Banks of the River.”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great location on the River with nice outdoor sitting area for pre dinner drinks or eating. It was cool the night we went so had dinner inside. Extensive menu including fresh seafood and daily specials. The mussels and scallops were excellent. Highly recommend this restaurant for its excellent food, service and fun atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coughton54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bridge also viewed

Bidford-on-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Bidford-on-Avon, Warwickshire
Welford on Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon
 

Been to The Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing