We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Little Gem”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kevin a
Godmanchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed November 3, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife Sandie and I spent the last week in October in this lovely little cottage.
We were met by Simon who is a lovely chap and has a great sense of humour, on arrival. The cottage is very well equiped with all the luxuries you could need, even flowers and chocolates, eggs and bread amongst other things which were very welcome.
Set next to an 18th Century windmill which is also for hire, the cottage just for two was lovely and comfortable and even had Netlflix in the lounge for our enjoyment.
The kitchen although small has everything you could need.
I think the thing I will miss most is the large bed with an integrated pop up telly, also loved playing magic radio via Bluetooth through the ipod/usb/bluetooth dock.
The Hot Tub was great after a long day exploring the Canals just down the road. One word of advice though, keep windows of the cabin slightly open for ventilation as we hadn't done this at first and felt a little dizzy. Fine after we did this though.
All in all a wonderful place and we hope to return soon, maybe to the windmill next time!! Kevin & Sandie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2016
Thank you both for leaving such a fantastic review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Mill Cottage.
We have now set the windows of the cabin as open all the time as you are quite right that ventilation is required at all time.
Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen J
1 review
“Absolute Bliss”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I stayed at the cottage for our 20th wedding anniversary. Sandie had arranged everything you could want for a romantic getaway. Wine, chocolate and even candles around the enormous round bath.
The cottage is beautiful, so cosy and decorated to a high standard with lovely red accessories to give the cottage a warm, romantic feel.
The location is perfect for Warwick castle, Kenilworth castle, shopping in Leamington Spa or a walk along the canal to the pub.
We can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome from Sandie
Liked least: going home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Mill Cottage.
It is always a delight to welcome such lovely guests to Mill Cottage and it is wonderful to read how everything was just right. You may see the review of The Mill for the same weekend which seems to say we are different people than you met.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet S
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from the most fantastic stay at Braunston mill cottage . We were greeted on arrival by sandie and she is the loveliest person you would ever wish to meet .(unfortunately Simon was unable to be with her as he was receiving treatment for cancer ) but she still greeted us warmly and with a lovely smile even though her concerns must have been with Simon . The cottage is a cosy relaxing dream and more than we could have imagined .eggs butter milk biscuits and bread waiting plus flowers wine and chocolate everything you need is provided for your stay .. The cottage is spotlessly clean . comfortable bed and the hot tub is a dream . Everything and more is provided for a relaxing break . We had a slight problem with the television and contacted sandie and Simon for advice but They both came to sort it for us as their guests needs are so important to them . We both thank you so much for a lovely time it was a great pleasure to meet you and we both wish Simon well .

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2015
Thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review. This raised our spirits following an earlier review by a guest who was using TA to try to extort money from us.
We both hope to see you both again and keep ticking off that list.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOROTHY U
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very comfortable clean cottage in a great location for Silverstone race track.”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Beautiful location the cottage was clean and comfortable with some lovely extras thrown in which was appreciated, excellent location for Silverstone racetrack. The gardens are lovely and we were made to feel very welcome would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2015
It was lovely meeting you and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue D
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This tiny cottage is packed full of everything you would ever need. The table was beautifully set up for dinner with flowers chocolates and wine and the kitchen was stocked with eggs milk juice bread and biscuits plus tea coffee etc. Attention to detail is amazing , dressing table had hairdryer and straighteners plus mirrors with great lighting, something sadly lacking in many places plus loads of storage in the bedroom. Some comments about the bathroom being small but it wasn't a problem, more like an en suite shower room , but beautifully done and there is a huge bath upstairs if you want a soak! The hot tub is a must too, so relaxing! We only stayed for 4 nights but felt like we had been away for a couple of weeks .
Great pub restaurant in nearby Ashby St Ledgers which is a picture perfect village, would recommend booking also for the Admiral Nelson which we couldn't get in. Tried the Boathouse but definitely not impressed. Hubby left most of his and he is not a fussy eater. No comments from waitress when we told her, only upside is it was a 2 for 1 deal so didn't pay for his anyway, wouldn't return to eat there. Braunston chippy is great, cooked freshly to order so be prepared for a short wait, but the staff are friendly and chatty so it's not a problem.
Sandie and Simon are lovely and friendly too they have made the cottage a perfect place for a relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2015
It is wonderful to hear that you had a great stay at Mill Cottage and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanH198
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A little haven of tranquility ........”
Reviewed May 22, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Booked for 3 nights to celebrate my birthday, a cosy cottage for two next to the Windmill. Small but more than adequate for our needs, a cosy lounge and a kitchen diner, clean and contemporary, and a small shower room. Our bedroom had a king size bed with a pop up TV and a large circular bath outside the bedroom door - we didn't use the bath as we much preferred the hot tub a few steps from the front door (housed in a nice wooden building). I have to say I had the best night(s) sleep ever in the comfortable bed. We walked down a footpath to the canal and walked one way and then the other, a lovely marina en route and a marvellous pub (The Admiral Nelson) at the end. There is no sound during the night from traffic, people, or anything else, which is exactly what I like.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2015
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Mill Cottage.
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerrieDan...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Exactly What I Wanted!”
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I surprised my mum with a two night stay at Braunston Mill Cottage for her 50th birthday. We often have girly weekends away to a Travelodge or Premier Inn but I wanted something special for her big birthday.

After much research, I decided upon Mill Cottage. What a good decision it was. It is only a 25 minute drive from where we live in Coventry so is very convenient. But it feels like we really 'got away'.

After a pretty stressful time, it was just what both of us needed. The cottage itself was spotless, very cosy and well-equipped. Sandie and Simon greeted us when we arrived with a LOVELY welcome. The dining table was set up ready for a meal, including a bottle of wine and box of chocolates. There was also bread, biscuits, cereal, eggs, milk, juice, tea and coffee. And not cheap stuff either.

The small washroom (with shower cubicle) also included shampoo, conditioner and shower gel.

Everything you needed was supplied, basically. So as soon as you arrive, you're able to just de-stress and relax without worrying about 'getting the essentials in'. This was very much appreciated.

Simon also recommended a fantastic Chinese take away which we made use of twice - The Water Margin - delicious.

My mum LOVED the hot tub. She'd never used one before but I knew it'd be right up her street. It was very nice being able to pop into the little summer house at any time and have a dip. Very minor quibbles here - there isn't much lighting in the hot tub area. We appreciate that this place is mainly for romantic couples who want mood, low lighting but it was just a little too dark, we thought. With the steam off the water, we could hardly see each other on our evening dips. Plus, the candles supplied in the hot tub area (and the cottage) were all mainly burnt down and unusable - to say such attention to detail is adhered to elsewhere, we found it a little strange that fresh candles weren't supplied. BUT this is a very minor quibble and is in no way a complaint. It's no big deal, just pointing it out.

The TV in the lounge has free use of Netflix which we used to continue our Suits marathon ha ha. We stayed in on the Friday night with a glass of wine and takeaway with the intention of trying one of the pubs on the Saturday night. But the cottage was so relaxing (and the lounge sofa so comfy) that we couldn't be bothered to get ready so we did the same on the Saturday night and stayed in with wine and takeaway!

We had the most wonderfully relaxing couple of days at Mill Cottage and it was exactly what I hoped it would be - an extra special treat for my amazing mum on her birthday. We'll definitely be back... I'm planning another weekend with my fiance in the future and we're thinking of looking into hiring the actual Mill (which is next to the cottage) that sleeps 6 people for a getaway with friends at some point too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2015
We are so pleased you both enjoyed your stay at Mill Cottage and we hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes
Braunston Mill
windmill.holiday
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing