We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always the best chinese foods in newcastle”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterside Palace - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Waterside Palace
Cuisines: Chinese, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“always the best chinese foods in newcastle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

i help to manage the place for 3 years and i m making sure each customer leaving this place with satisfaction in all aspects........andy

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    2
    4
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great but now closed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Alas Waterside Palace is no more, always a favourite for business lunches, the food was good and came at a reasonable price, the owner also runs Laus 202 Buffet House and didn't have the time to keep both on. Last I heard the new owners of WP are turning it into an Indian Restaurant. The King is Dead, long live the King.....

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank kard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love a Chinese me”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Best Chinese food in Newcastle I'm a regular here and always will be. Recommend the duck for starters and the sweet and sour chicken best I've had

Helpful?
Thank Alistair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service Standards”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I used to manage this restaurant 7 years ago and am sad to hear that the service standards has dropped! Previously this used to be the place to go for good food and service with many regulars from Footballers to Stars who were performing at The Arena.
perhaps the owners should look into retraining their staff!
This was the place to be seen and dine.

Ben
bjminx@rocketmail.com

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bentan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Top quality Chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Amazed this restaurant is not in top 10 of Newcastle's restaurants. Awesome tasting food, Hot & Sour soup, Ribs and Duck before the mains mean its a challenge to finish the Imperial Banquet but we try our best every time!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrConnisSir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterside Palace also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing