We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be much better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Fyne Fisheries

Loch Fyne Fisheries
Ranked #702 of 1,243 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: $0 - $59
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Could be much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This restaurant is a converted chuch with high ceilings and stained glass windows. A very echoey and atmospheric room. The food was OK, but what lets this place down is the service. The place seems to be under the control of a team of adolescents who have no idea about quality standards of service. I am pretty laid back but the service was slow and inattentive even by my relaxed standards, to the point that I had to get out of my seat to go looking for someone to give me the bill so that I could pay up and leave. With a bit of investment in some quality staff this place could be so much better.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    38
    45
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The old church building is beautiful. However don't order the fish soup because it is flavourless. Fish pie for main very little fish in it. Would never go back. Very overpriced for low quality food.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mwgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lacking in sea food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went here for evening meal. Mussels to start- very good. However, my advice - do not order the seafood taglioline with scallops, clams and squid. My order came with:

1 scallop
4 clams
1 squid

Definitely not worth £13 for basically a bowl full of pasta!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LindseyY378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Enjoyable first experience - nice plaice!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Visited Loch Fyne for a late Sunday lunch / birthday celebration today. Although not packed out, it had a lovely atmosphere and we were more than happy with the choice of food and dishes selected. Our waiter was friendly, helpful and efficient. He told us about the various menus and offers at other times and we will definitely be back to try them out!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shades100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We visited at lunchtime and had the specials menu, our meal plus drinks was 48 which wasn't bad but expensive just for lunch. I was full all day and needed no dinner in the evening. The food was delicious and the place had a very romantic feel to it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank roxanne111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne Fisheries also viewed

Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Loch Fyne Fisheries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing