We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lacking in sea food”

Loch Fyne Fisheries
Ranked #719 of 1,253 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: $0 - $59
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lacking in sea food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went here for evening meal. Mussels to start- very good. However, my advice - do not order the seafood taglioline with scallops, clams and squid. My order came with:

1 scallop
4 clams
1 squid

Definitely not worth £13 for basically a bowl full of pasta!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LindseyY378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    38
    45
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Enjoyable first experience - nice plaice!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Visited Loch Fyne for a late Sunday lunch / birthday celebration today. Although not packed out, it had a lovely atmosphere and we were more than happy with the choice of food and dishes selected. Our waiter was friendly, helpful and efficient. He told us about the various menus and offers at other times and we will definitely be back to try them out!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shades100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We visited at lunchtime and had the specials menu, our meal plus drinks was 48 which wasn't bad but expensive just for lunch. I was full all day and needed no dinner in the evening. The food was delicious and the place had a very romantic feel to it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roxanne111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“2nd Time I've used this chain - different location - and again - wasn't disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I wasn't into fish under my forties and still can't stand the 'smell' of the oilier fish being cooked - nor the idea of eating cold oil fish :(


That not withstanding - I had tried the Winchester early evening deals back in March 2012 and it was suggested we use this location as a meeting place in Gosforth.

It's in a Church - which has HIGH ceilings - but extra heaters are provided - as there's nothing worse than eating out in a cold environment.

Our waiter was from N.Ireland and charming.. HE suggested food and all was brilliant !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsMoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“roomy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

housed in an ex-church in gosforth the building means its always going to struggle for atmosphere but the food is good if not exciting

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank offquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loch Fyne Fisheries also viewed

Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Loch Fyne Fisheries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing