We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sabatini

Sabatini
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $62
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

had a seafood risotto very good, good prompt service busy at peak times back ground music a bit loud when busy gets a bit annoying overall ok

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MSG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    215
    73
    34
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

A proper Italian resteraunt, great menu, friendly staff, daily specials and great wines. Why else do visiting celebrities make Sabatini their first choice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“A true Quayside gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

I write this while still eating my food as my I think my enjoyment of such food of the highest quality should not be kept from ANYONE!! Where do I begin? The friendly & welcoming (but never annoying) staff? The warm "more than happy to see you" atmosphere or the food that emerges from a kitchen that I can only describe as "A room of supreme culinary knowledge"? Whichever it is I can't choose, but I will advise anyone to try it!! It'll not disappoint! BRAVO!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ftchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Waste of time and money.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have used this restaurant for many years but these last few years this place has gone right back, cheap happy hour type food seems to be their main aim, actually it's not so cheap considering the food is substandard, I was there last week and ordered what was described as slow cooked lamb with sautéed potatoes, I got what I can only describe as a boneless chop mostly fat and tough and chewy, definitely not slow cooked, sounded great on the menu, very disappointing, their sister restaurant Frattelli's in Ponteland is exactly the same. If your planning a nice Italian meal you need to stay well away from here. Shame the food doesn't match the ambience of the decor.

You have been warned.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stevemac4848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Would chose other Italians..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

A close friend loves Sabatini and raves about the place but after dining here twice (and not being that impressed on either occasion due to the service being slow, even though the place was quiet) I decided to try a third time.
We shared a garlic bread and then the mains were lasagne and linguine frutti di mare. My
Seafood fish was just ok.. Huge prawns..nice clams but a rogue piece of salmon found (?)
Bill wasn't over the top but not a fan I'm afraid and wouldn't return. Shame because the restaurant itself is lovely with a fantastic location.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laidbackf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabatini also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Sabatini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing