We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum yum”
Review of marios

marios
Ranked #186 of 1,267 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Yum yum”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Always beautiful food and service. Real Italian food at very reasonable prices. Forget the big brand names and try here. We would recommend here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    39
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A friendly relaxed atmosphere and very good food at a reasonable price”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We visit this restaurant fairly often as we love the food, ambience and friendly staff. The potato skins are lush and Pollo pasta is delicious. Pizzas good too.
My husband is in a wheelchair and we are welcomed in and helped every visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isobel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mediocre, inexpensive food. Decent service. Poor drinks range.”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Arrived at about 8ish - restaurant just over half full on a Saturday night. Plumped for the all day 2 course special for 8.95 - choice of 5 starters and any pizza or pasta.
Complimentary Italian bread was given out which is a nice touch that many restaurants have regrettably given up on.

Potato skins were fine, but the bowl of garlic dip only had a pitiful amount in it.

I had Anchovies and Olive Pizza which was decent enough. Nice fresh base but not a huge amount of topping. It was tasty though. Unfortunately my other half found a hair in her pizza, which she only told me about after we had got home - she doesn't like to make a fuss!

Poor range of drinks - no draft beers at all and only Peroni Lager in bottles, which are expensive for a 330ml bottle.

Service was fine if a little subdued.

Overall probably not enough positives to tempt me back.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“fab”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Great food, great value and friendly staff. We would recommend it to everyone. If its not on the menu or you want a meal altering slightly just ask, no problem not like some places.
Best bruschetta we've ever had, my pasta arrabiatta was spot on and the pizza polo was lovely. Very reasonable drinks to 10/10

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs, uk
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Having been taken by a Taxi driver and on his recommendation we found Marios absolutely lovely, Here you have great service, wonderful food, we ate a variation of Pizza, Pasta and Risotto , which all dishes were excellent. The service was spot on, allow enough time between courses and the price excellent.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cazash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed marios also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gosforth, Newcastle upon Tyne
 

Been to marios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing